blogging gobbledygook and such

Off the top of self’s head:

1. A baby’s smell
2. One’s significant other’s smell
3. Chocolate
4. Freshly baked cookies
5. Freshly cut fruits like lemon and orange
6. Freshly shampooed hair
7. Freshly laundered clothes
8. Freshly minted money :P
9. One’s own smelly pillow :mrgreen:
10. Old books (some old books smell pretty nasty, though)

What smells do you love?

*

Ate some pretty greasy fried rice at the college canteen that must have some special ingredient, because am now having the most sexeh voice ever! Sore throat always make self sound good! :mrgreen:

Comments on: "What are the best smells in the world?" (31)

  1. Freshly baked bread is one of my favourites.

    As well as how fantastic one’s skin and hair smells after spending a day out in the sun and fresh air.

    And the smell of my cats when I nuzzle them … why don’t they smell like cat spit?

    And possibly my most favourite smell of all – the scent of orange blossom in the springtime. It makes all the streets here in Sevilla smell like heaven.

    That’s my favourite flower – orange blossom. Or ‘azahar’ in Spanish.

    sulz: oh yes, bakeries usually smell very irresistible! a day out in the sun usually makes self sweaty and stinky, what’s your secret? :(

    curious – are you a malay living in spain? your username sounds like a malay name… :)

  2. I love new stuff smells. Like: new book smell, new shoe smell, new car smell, and so on. I love the scent of chocolate, and the ocean.

    sulz: oh yes, new stuff smells great! haven’t actually smelled the ocean before – it wouldn’t smell like so-called ocean scents would it?

  3. lavender, heliotrope (almost chocolate), roses, lilies

    sulz: ah, a big fan of aromatherapy? ;)

  4. Nothing beats the smell of Dettol (or similarly antiseptic smells) for me :P

    sulz: ooh, love dettol smell too! they just smell so clean and germ-free.

  5. In no particular order:
    Lilacs!
    Baking Bread!
    Made from scratch –>Spaghetti and Meatballs, Lasagna and Pizza (all heavy with garlic)!
    The Spring Rain and The Winter Snow!
    Freshly cut grass! (even better when someone else had to cut it!)
    Nightime and very early morning outside in the country!
    Fresh Brewed Coffee (love the smell – hate the taste)!
    Rose gardens!
    Apples-Oranges-Bananas-Persimmons-Mangoes!(most fruit really.)
    Burning wood piles!
    Sassafras tea!
    Fried Onion!
    Fried Bell Pepper!
    Roasting Pork!
    Cooking Bacon & Ham!
    Fresh baled Hay or Straw!
    Fresh Latex Paint!
    Cinnamon!
    Melted Chocolate and Chocolate Chip Cookies!

    sulz: burning wood piles? latex paint?? you’re weird!! :P

    totally agree re coffee though.

    • Omg! my favorite smell is the smell of the original pine-sol! and the smell after it rains! oh and freshly cut grass (doesn’t even have to be cut! XD), and fresh dirt. XD i love it!!

  6. Okay, my favorite smell is the smell of rain falling on ground. Some people call it the earth’s smell and to me, it just seems divine.

    After that, it’s a good old pizza!

    And the smell of somebody who I need to talk to. :|

    sulz: have never really smelled what it’s like after rain! oohhh yes the cheese on pizza smells scrumptious!

    you still haven’t spoke to her but you smelled her?? 8O

  7. :-) Oh No! It looks like the Internet Wolf has gobbled my Post!

    sulz: found it. it did look quite like spam, to be honest! :P

  8. Frying steak and bacon. Best smells ever apart from Jasmines off the vine.

    sulz: am not crazy about steak, but bacon! *slurps* :mrgreen:

  9. :lol: Burning wood piles are basically the same smell you get from a night spent next to a crackling fireplace, a similar smell to what you would have at a campfire roasting hotdogs-marshmallows-smores and pretty much the same smell as walking in to a restaurant where they slow roast and barbecue meat. And the latex paint actually has a raspberry aroma added to make it more acceptable to the sense of smell. :lol:
    Of course each to their own! (Though I will not argue the weird suggestion, I personally know many friends and family that would agree with you!) ;-)

    sulz: in malaysia we don’t deal much with fire unless it’s open burning, and that’s not a very pleasant smell! maybe burning wood smells better overseas, heh.

    am personally fond of the smell of liquid paper! :mrgreen:

  10. Yea, I don’t need her permission to smell her do I? Imagine somebody asking you, “Hey!, can I smell you?” :P

    sulz: but it means you’ve been that close to her… just talk to her already! she’s probably waiting for you to anyway… :)

  11. Yes I practice aromatherapy. And we heat our home with an airtight woodstove.

    I love the smell of cedar tress. I love the smell of wet grass. And I love the smell of my lover … that’s enough of that … lol :)

    sulz: trees probably smell nicer in the countryside than the city like where am living now.

    and yes, if you had started describing the smell of him, would have to censor it! haha. :P

  12. @sulz: nah, nothing smells like the real thing. I especially love the “early in the morning, world at peace, ocean smell”. That’s the best I can describe.

    @ish: I love the smell of rain! and if you’re close enough to smell her, it’s time to talk to her. :)

    sulz: am sure nothing beats the real thing for most things in life, especially smells! :)

  13. Netty Gritty said:

    i like the smell of wet earth, just after it has raned!

    also sandalwood is one of my faves.

    sulz: wet earth! hmm, interesting. ;)

  14. @sulz: of course. :D

  15. Ah well, smelling is easier than talking you know. The person doesn’t even come to know you’re smelling them. And being close is not an issue, she doesn’t even realize we’re close..or does she?

    sulz: if you were close enough to smell her more than once would think she’d recognise your face at least. try to work your nerve up and say hi to her, or a smile at least. :) wonder if she has a blog….

  16. I bet she doesn’t. She’s too studious. I doubt if she even knows how to operate a computer. But then, I could be underestimating her too.

  17. i totally think tht dettol has like the most amazing smell ever! i just love it so much…..i love the smell of varnish and like paint too…..n I agree…the smell of someone significant…..also like citrusy smells like lemon and raspberries n stuff…..yum….~

    sulz: i like the smell of dettol too – so clean and comforting. :P

  18. samdick said:

    i love the smell of fresh tennis balls right out of the can.
    and vanilla.
    and cinnamon.
    and marijuana.

    sulz: um, interesting! :)

  19. taylor h said:

    i like the smell of warm brownies out the oven that my mommy makes
    ;P

    sulz: brownies smells nice, whoever makes it! unless the person is not a good baker, that is. hehe.

  20. Smell lover said:

    Freshly cut grass
    The smell after you spent the day at the beach
    vanilla
    freshly baked brownies
    New smells (cars, shoes, books, etc.)
    Hollister or aborcrombie Colone
    I know this sounds wierd, but i love the smell of underground parking lots
    Mcdonalds :)

  21. I have a few smells that I really like. And you know people that just have a thing for stuff or something? Well for me, my thing is smells. But did you know that smell brings back moe memory then any other sense?
    Everyday before I leave my house I put on deoderant, and some japanese cherry blossom scented spray.
    My favorite smells are:
    Vanilla ( YUM! I like the taste too)
    Lilac( ahhhhhh)
    Pumpkin pie ( my fave type of pie)
    After it rains
    Smore’s
    Baby shampoo
    bakes bread ( Yummy)

  22. my favorite smells are :

    bread(freshly baked)
    cheeze
    choclate
    wet grass
    when it rains
    latex paint
    wet dog
    my cousin
    curve purfume
    baby shampoo
    baby phat perfume
    bacon or preaty much any meat
    freshly brewd coffe
    freshly picked fruit
    fresh nail polish
    sharpie
    new things like shoes clothes cars ect.
    freshly cracked open walnuts
    brownies fresh baked
    warm choclate chip cookies
    my cat
    freshly washed hair
    just washed clothes
    fresh air
    the smell of the beach

  23. i think pancakes are the best semll in the world because they are ozzy and luller you to sleep.

  24. Spi Ndle said:

    the best smells on the planet or human smells, i love picking my belly button and sniffin the crust that comes out… also scraping my butt crack and sniffing that… fiddling down in my ass and sniffing that, rubbing behind my ears, smells like nacho cheese doritos, underarms, body odour… all these are mad smells

  25. i am smell less

  26. The best smell ever has for to be rain on asphalt. c’mon we all know that smell when it just starts to rain. So good…

  27. asteier4 said:

    You could always just make your own custom cologne/perfume at thegreatestsmellever.com and smell however you like!

  28. Habanero chicken, woodsmoke, chlorine, book pages… bliss!

  29. Dog

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

