blogging gobbledygook and such

Counting My Blessings

I’ve been whining rather a lot lately. I do think it’s justified, but it’s still not very nice all the same. :P While life is not the best right now, there are some things I’m very grateful for:

1. Life at home is largely peaceful. Maybe because I’m hardly home that I hardly have an opportunity to pick a fight :D but anyway it’s a good thing that home is my sanctuary, especially since this is where I…

2. Meet friends I can’t see in person. I am, of course, referring to my blog buddies, particularly those who have been vocal and showing their concern during my difficult time at present. You guys remind me that I’m not a total failure. :)

3. Friends who take time to see me every now and then. They too remind me that the person that I am is liked by them. Angel, Sushi, 9… I don’t see them often now but when I do, it’s like I’ve just seen them yesterday. Special mention goes to 9 for being my text message buddy during every single work day… in a month we exchange about nearly a thousand text messages! Thankfully it only costs a cent to send one so the bill comes up to less than RM10. :D

4. My books, they are my inanimate saviours; when there’s no one I can count on at that moment in time, my books will always be there, waiting.

5. My hug counter. I wish I can see who ‘hugs’ me there… but I guess who does it doesn’t really matter. Whenever I see the increase in the number of hugs, I feel the lurve. :)

6. The place where my office is located. Even though I have to endure traffic jam twice a day to get to where I work, parking is easy (but it costs RM100 a month :( ) and there is a variety of food, so I’ve been having healthier lunches compared to when I was in the previous company. I used to pack my own lunches because the place where I worked was in an industrial area and you had to drive to get to the nearest shoplots for food.

7. I have a good boss, despite the odious colleagues. Although they told me bad stuff about him, I’ve yet to see that side of him (in time, perhaps?). So far, he’s been patient and gives me quite a lot of free hand. I need a lot of guidance, actually, but because he doesn’t micromanage me, I don’t feel as scared to do things at the office, trusting my common sense and observing courtesy. I may be making mistakes, but I believe mistakes have a way of telling me I made one later on, through repercussion or someone having to point it out, in which case I will learn as I go along on my own.

8. I will have a new room to move into soon! We cleared out one of the rooms in the house and had it painted turquoise, one of my favourite colours. All I need to do is buy my own bedroom set, and I can move in anytime I want; I’m aiming to move in by the coming Chinese New Year. It’s bigger than my current room and there’s an air conditioner. :D I’m waiting for the year-end sales so I can get furniture at a cheaper price, hopefully, since I’ll be buying using my own money.

9. I’m earning my own money now, so whatever I choose to buy, it’ll be my own money that I spend. This way, I feel less guilty about shopping because it’s my hard-earned money. I notice, though, now that it’s my own money that I’m spending, I don’t buy as easily and I’m quite a stinge, especially when buying lunch at work! :lol:

10. Lastly, I’m so grateful I can blog. It’s my everything. I express myself here, I make friends here, I learn about myself here, I gain wisdom here, I try to make myself a better person here. I feel happy here, I feel loved here, I feel I can do anything I set my heart to here.

Comments on: "Counting My Blessings" (11)

  1. Something my mum keeps telling me….to count my blessings. She says I would be surprised how much I have to be thankful for! :) nice post :D

    sulz: i’d say your mom is right! :P thanks.

  2. So u implemented my comment in one of your previous posts. Good!
    The feeling of independence that one’s own hard earned money gives is incomparable! I cant think of life without job now!

    sulz: well, i can’t stay negative forever, one of you will smack me on the hear i’m sure! :P yeah, this is one of the reasons why i wanted to do my masters before working… i knew it would be tough to feel the loss of income by going back to studying full-time.

  3. I like this post. Counting blessings is something that’s worth doing, but people don’t do it all that often.

    It’s nice to have a home where you can feel peaceful and safe.

    Maybe your boss isn’t so bad, if it was your “odious colleagues” who told you bad things about him. Maybe he just isn’t someone that they can get along with. ;)

    sulz: yeah, i just wanted to remind myself not everything is down. just the major ones! :P

    yup, home is where the heart is, as they say. :) i get homesick quite easily.

    well, so far my colleagues always show some degree of dislike towards their bosses. maybe i haven’t worked long enough to see that side, but i’ve never had problems with bosses. i can’t say for them about me, though. ;)

  4. First thing, I’m back on the blogroll. YAY!

    Second thing, this is a great idea. Stuck between all our problems, we fail to acknowledge all that we have which others don’t. As they say, people always remember God in the hard times. It’s only when you think about all you have that you feel happy and you get the strength to carry on. I hope you get all that you ever wanted in life.

    Third, I’m moving into a new room too! But it isn’t turquoise. It’s black, silver and green.

    Earning your own money and spending it on yourself must be a nice feeling, no?

    sulz: nobody gets all they ever want in life! but if i can get more than most i’ll be happy enough. :D wow, nice slytherin-ish colours. ;) oh yes, but the earning process is not very fun yet. :(

  5. This is a great post sulz.. counting on what are the good things happening around us.. And I am also going to count it :)

    sulz: hey, nice to see you here! :) thank you. i’d love to read what you count as blessings in your life!

  6. OMG sulz. I think you just made me realize that life is not that bad!

    sulz: hey, i didn’t know you read my blog still! yeah, life isn’t all bad if we choose to sit down and look at the nice things we have. sometimes the bad things have a way of obscuring nice things because they demand so much of our attention!

  7. I like this post. It’s brimming with…positivity!! XD

    sulz: far cry from my usual moaning standards, huh? :lol:

  8. Its said that if you really want to understand how lucky you are, look at the people worst off than you.
    And when you are low, see the movie – “Its a wonderful life”. That will surely cheer you up!

    sulz: and the other part saying if you really want to understand how little you’ve accomplished, look at people more successful than you. ;)

    i haven’t watched that movie before, but i hope to!

  9. Oh I read all your posts. I just lurk most of the time instead of commenting.

    sulz: you do? i didn’t know that! thanks for reading. :) don’t be shy to leave a comment.

  10. Jose Palomino said:

    sulz: I am a new comer, and my intentions are to learn the most i can.
    Dreams can only come true with correct actions.

    sulz: hi, welcome. :) that’s true, but in this post i was showing appreciation for what i have and not so much about my dreams. are you referring to another post?

  11. […] 69 – the rant 20 12 2008 I only remembered this morning that sulz had done a very similar post not all that long ago.  So everyone will think I ripped it off.  Sorry sulz!  (Read her post, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

