blogging gobbledygook and such

Valentine Wishes For You

I wrote the post below last year for Valentine’s Day, before I got inspired and wrote this silly piece instead. :) How things have changed since then. Some people I mention below I pretty much no longer keep in touch with. Some others, though, are still as steadfast as ever in our friendships and I’m really happy for that.

You can’t make someone love you. All you can do is be someone who can be loved. The rest is up to the person to realise your worth.

I think this is a very apt quote for today. Right now, I do not have a special someone in my life. It’s been a long time since I had one, if I could ever consider my previous relationships that. I would be lying if I say I don’t want one.

That said, I will not be seeking for a guy to love. Technically, I don’t need a man to make me feel complete. I don’t want to find love for the sake of feeling romantic love. As much as I want to be hugged and kissed, and be surprised with gifts, I know that wanting that is just akin to wanting to be loved. What (I think) I want is to grow in love with someone that I care deeply about, and who feels the same way about me.

And that is why I am dedicating this post to:

Lovelyloey, who may not be a sentimental person by nature, but I can feel her affection for me as her friend and I am very happy for that. I wish that she will experience romantic love not because she needs to be loved like that, but because it’s good to have at least experienced once one of life’s best experiences!

Ish, who is such a wonderful friend to me and just about the most awesome guy. I wish too that he will experience romantic love because I know he wants to, and why not? He deserves to be loved by a girl worthy of his love!

Museditions, my virtual sibling who is so sweet and encouraging to me. I wish that her love for everything in life will continue to grow and be shared with people who could learn more about love.

Kstafford, my virtual big brother who looks out for me and I’m grateful for that. I wish that he and his family will grow in love. Maybe a sibiling for his son? ;) (Edit: He has since gained another son in the family.)

Crazyasuka, my introspective blog buddy who never fails to support me in my blogging projects, which I totally appreciate. I wish she will love herself more – not that she doesn’t love herself now, just that she needs more love to have the strength to fight the black dog.

Virgilius Sade, my somewhat eccentric fellow Malaysian whose picture I’d like to see some day! I wish him all the love he can get to deal with the black dog too, and maybe some left over for a nice girl (or guy, I don’t know your preference!). ;)

CjWriter, whose autographed best-selling book I am still waiting to read. :P I wish him all the love he wants, because I’m sure he has all the love he needs.

Alabaster Crippens, whose rambling but endearing comments always provide me with a refreshing perspective. I wish him all the best in love and the most favourable conditions for whatever romantic prospects he encounters.

Thescoundrel, someone I like to think of as my virtual favourite uncle. :P I wish him love, love, love. That is, love for food, love for animals, and love for life!

I have only made wishes for people who comment frequently here. Please do not be offended if your name isn’t mentioned! Leave me a comment and I will make a wish for you. It’s Valentine’s Day, so I’d love to spread some love to you! :D

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Comments on: "Valentine Wishes For You" (12)

  1. I comment on almost 95% of your posts!!! :(
    Anyway Happy Valentine’s Day.

    sulz: i think i didn’t know you back then? :P

    anyway, i’ll make you one right now:

    Reema, whose comments I always welcome and enjoy, I hope she grows more in love with her students – even the naughty ones – because as a teacher that love will help her make a real difference in her students’ live. Of course, I hope she will find love too, in whatever form it may choose to come in – a friend or a boyfriend, they should all come in love!

    :)

  2. Thank you so much Sulz! *hug*

    sulz: *hugs back* :)

  3. Aw, thanks!
    Happy Valentine’s day to you.
    About romantic love – too much to write, might blog about it instead. LOL.

    sulz: haha, too much to rant more like? ;)

  4. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Just like you, I have moved away from a few friends, and some are still forever going to be there!

    sulz: happy v day to you too! yeah, i hope to have some friends for a long, long time. i’m a hoarder. ;)

  5. Happy Valentine’s day..

    and for being such a good person to wish for everyone.. i wish u have all the happiness you deserve..
    may u find a man not to complete you but to discover more about yourself…. :-)

    sulz: happy v day to you too! thank you, i think i could use someone like that! :P

  6. that was such a touchy and sweet post
    may your string of friends never come to an end :P
    and since you are wishing for so many people so we all too wish a great life for you :P

    sulz: thank you for the wish, arpit! :D i hope you have a good one yourself.

  7. How sweet.

    Wow, we’re gazing back in time here, aren’t we?

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Best wishes!

    sulz: yup, i wrote that a year ago and didn’t change a thing, except to add the edit bit.

    happy valentine’s day to you too! :)

  8. And what about me? :(
    Happy Valentine’s day!!! :)

    sulz: oh, you! well, i wish you will find lots of love in manchester, because i know when you are far from home it can feel a little sad sometimes. somehow, i think you will get love easily there – just make sure you support the right manchester team in certain companies! ;) happy valentine’s day to you too, amit!

  9. Ah, sulz, this is lovely. I’m sorry I haven’t been around for a while; my computer decided it didn’t want to talk to the Internet for a couple of days. I finally hunted down the malware that was causing it.
    I feel bittersweet reading this. I’m honored to still be around from your list last year! {{{HUGS}}} I’m a little sad about those who aren’t, though {sigh}
    Happy belated V’day, sweetie! I wish for you all the love I know is in your heart.

    sulz: it’s alright, your computer must have been feeling quite poorly that it doesn’t want to play online! glad to hear the bug’s fixed. i’m happy and amazed (in a good way) that some friendships i made online can be kept this long, as you can see how easily the others broke due to circumstances and life happenings…

    yes, bittersweet, isn’t it? :) thank you, dear muse. *hugs* i hope you had a good, peaceful valentine’s day!

  10. [...] and still considering me worthy enough to be your friend. You’re great! Sulz also published her Valentines Day post which she had written last year but not published. I was one of the friends she dedicated the post [...]

  11. [[You can’t make someone love you. All you can do is be someone who can be loved. The rest is up to the person to realise your worth.]]

    A very fine and true quote Sulz. The Internet makes it all too easy for us Introverts and Ambiverts to avoid direct social contacts. Still whether you are online or in real life all you can do is make the gestures of friendship and love and hope it is reciprocated. For we can never see all that is inside another’s heart. Always remember quality beats quantity everyday!

    Sorry I have not been around much lately but I am not good company as the current winter is taking a toll on my amiability. I think this winter is turning me into Mr. Wilson from the “Dennis the Menace” cartoon. I have been just plain bad company online and in real life. I am pretty sure that friends, family and neighbors are planning a lynching party to rid them of my current state of being a curmudgeon. ;-)

    Hope you have been having a wonderful time and thanks for the mention. It is nice and an honor to be thought of as an uncle. I wish that you find all the love and happiness that your soul yearns for. Just keep looking and assessing – but don’t look past the moment when it happens. The old saying is true sometimes we often cannot see the forest for the trees. I can remember missing forests more than once in my life because I was too busy trying to find the forest among the trees.

    sulz: word! :) *hugs*

    oh, don’t worry about it, i’ve seen you drop by here every now and then. :) are you having something what they call seasonal depression or something like that? a blog buddy mentioned in her blog about how some people feel blue during winter, sounds like what you’re going through now. i hope it clears now that spring is approaching!

    well, the new part-time job helps a bit, but these days i hardly get enough rest. :( today i was sneezing the entire afternoon in the office. oh well, it’ll pass!

    i must confess, i’ve never truly understood that saying. :oops: is it something like me focusing too much on the bad side of my life that i fail to see the good side sometimes?

  12. Not the way I have heard it explained. ;-) It is more like a stop and smell the roses thing. Generally it means that you are so busy looking for the forest you miss the fact that the trees that you are looking at are the forest. Life is like that. We are often so busy looking for something we want so bad -that we look right past it when we stumble across it, because we do not allow ourselves to recognize the answer we are seeking. I cannot count the times when I sat back and evaluated moments in my life where when I looked at certain events I said – oops I looked right past the thing I was looking for. I have always been one of those people rushing ahead and missing events or objects I was looking for. I have been told by several people that I know – when they want to hide something from me they lay it right out in the open as I look right past things that are obvious. It is easy to do.

    sulz: right, i understand better now, thank you… and will you tell me if i’m rushing by the thing i’m looking for? :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

