blogging gobbledygook and such

April Fools Day is not one of self’s more enjoyable days. It’s juvenile, it’s predictable, it’s cheesy, it’s potentially hurtful, it’s potentially humiliating…

untitled1.jpg
Like this one. LOL!

Anyway back to the topic at hand…

So that’s why have come up with an idea of starting self’s own bloggerdygook Readers Appreciation Day on April 1st. While everybody else out there is recounting tales of silly pranks, she shall be sincere, unjoking and appreciative of all her regular readers who never fail to please her with every comment.

I want to say a big thank you to all my blog readers, especially the regular commenters in this blog, for reading bloggerdygook. It amazes me that what I write reaches out to you and make you respond to what I thought, said or felt. Till now, I’m not quite sure why you keep coming back! πŸ˜› I think my readers can gauge and judge my character based on my writings, and I have not been particularly discreet about my rather low self-esteem and feelings of inadequacies. I feel like my daily happiness depends, to an extent, on my interaction with people on a rather intimate basis; intimate meaning both thoughtful and menial things that I cannot share with classmates and casual friends. In college, I do not have a select group of friends that I hang out with; I’m basically alone most of the time. My thoughts and anger before had been pent up unhealthily with no outlet for expression. Until blogging, and until you.

Blogging has become an integral part of my life, and thus you too, for all the interaction we have made and our friendship forged here.

sulz

The bloggerdygook Loyal Reader Award goes to:

lovelyloey
nelsonnium

The bloggerdygook Merit Award goes to:

mj
jannette
schizo
thescoundrel
john

The bloggerdygook Special Award goes to:

Mark for the absolutely fabulous gift of CSS customisation.
DrMike for a lot of appreciated blogging support received.
Regulars at the WordPress forums because you’re all colourful, wonderful people

The bloggerdygook Extra Special Award goes to:

You! Am treating you to…

samp6a10aca17f974a0b.jpg
a cuppa

nasi_lemak2_s.jpg
a famous Malaysian delicacy, nasi lemak

wpbbq.jpg
& WordPress’s signature BBQ sauce, which you may take home, or pour over your nasi lemak if you find the sambal too hot!

Pray tell how much you enjoyed, or did not enjoy, the meal.

Comments on: "Do you know you’re appreciated?" (18)

  1. sounds like both of us need to make some new close frineds. my close, special ones who i love to death all moved away. it’s hard to find new ones, and tiakes time.

    sulz: it’s not difficult, it’s practically impossible! well, at least for someone like self who has major trust issues.

  2. Nice move… Fight stupid prank day by showing some feelings… πŸ™‚

    sulz: hehe, that was the idea, yeap. πŸ™‚

  3. I know exactly how you feel, especially about the low-self esteem and trust issues. And like you, blogging has led me to interact with people in a way I never could with “real world” friends; except for best friend, but it took long time to get there and I count my self as luckiest person in the world to have her as a best friend. and thanks for the merit award!!! πŸ˜€ I love reading your blog as I find we have so much in common. so happy to be part of your bloggosphere. πŸ™‚

    sulz: you’re most welcome, and hope we’ll continue to be referrers in each other’s blog stats for years to come!

  4. I think you have a great blog. I find what you write about is interesting. I find many people just do not realize just how similar everyday life is around the world despite the many different cultures. You talk about things in life we all experience while mixing in some fun things along the way. You often mix in posts with little bit of humor for a laugh or a feel good moment. It helps keep the drama of everyday life and everything more serious in perspective. And if you feel a lack of friends around you maybe you are looking in the wrong places. I think most people, even the ones who seem surrounded by friends, feel alone at times. Heck, start your own college blogging club and post for members from your school and the surrounding area. Teach them the fun of interacting with people from all around the world. And while you look, those of us on the net are always here for support, though in some of our cases it may be long distance support. And if you make a mistake, admit it and grow from it. But do not let people make you feel inadequate. I have found that most people who try and make others feel like they do not belong are more insecure than the ones they are trying to push down. They try to control you by controlling your very thoughts. Your freedom of thought is the only thing in life that cannot be taken away by others; it must be surrendered. Never surrender that freedom.

    sulz: thank you for sharing those very kind words. love how you’d comment lengthily, so much so that sometimes at a loss of words on how to reply! your description about self’s writing is very meaningful to self. it’s not so much people are making self feel inadequate than self itself, though there are those in the family who are bent of destroying self’s spirit…

    am actually thinking of starting a blog equivalent of a highschool yearbook for the final year of college next year. will discuss with classmates, am very excited about the idea and hopefully classmates will be too.

  5. lovelyloey said:

    Aww. Tanks-cute (well, in a typical Singaporean Singlish accent) so much!
    Your nasi lemak looks so different from the sort over here. Our egg is beaten an fried into a thin sheet (omelette?) and we don’t have whole onion and ikan bilis thingy on top. Ours is always ikan bilis and chilli separate. Well. At least for the pre-packed ones that go for SGD1.50. The places where you can buy your dishes ala carte it’s a different story.

    sulz: you’re so welcome. it varies la, we get the kind you described too; that was just some photo got off the net. in self’s opinion, the boiled eggs are better than omelette, ‘cos it feels like there’s more egg.

    finally somebody commented on the food! but nobody likes the bumhug coffee?

  6. I don’t mind a bumhug, provided Trent Reznor or Alan Rickman bring it to me.

    Thanks, it’s a great way to break my diet!

    sulz: finally, somebody who enjoys a good, hearty meal! thank you.

  7. Hi there!

    Funnily enough I was just dropping by to let you know that you were appreciated! I just wanted to say thank you for leaving a comment on my blog. I’m quite new to this blog malarky, so it was really nice to get a comment – especially when I don’t know you personally so haven’t begged you to leave one.

    Thank you. I will try and drop by your blog every now and then.

    Keep reading the chick-lit!

    sulz: no problem. like to read posts about reading, as evident by self’s book blog. πŸ™‚

  8. Oh by the way I forgot to thank you for the honor of be including on your merit award list. It is not often one gets an award of any kind so they are all to be appreciated. Thank You for the tribute. I think for most of us blogging is a both a self-awareness and a cultural growth. Keep on blogging and growing!

    sulz: it brings self as much pleasure handing an award as you receiving it. πŸ˜€ yeap, let’s keep blogging! (and improving english and writing skills at the same time for self.)

  9. Appreciated, me? A few times, but unfortunately not much or too late, in terms of it 😦 Blogging is a way to explore oneself.

    sulz: hey, it’s the thought that counts, clichΓ©d as it is. πŸ™‚ blogging also helps to meet other people, like you and self.

  10. @sulz: me too! πŸ™‚

  11. Thank you! πŸ™‚ Like the sauce & coffee

    sulz: you’re welcome! not together, self hope? πŸ˜›

  12. Together inside the stomach, all jumbled up. Together out also πŸ˜‰ HAHAHAHA

    sulz: … tmi! (too much information)

  13. thank you! sniff sniff… you’re the best!

    sulz: you too, you too! πŸ™‚

  14. Thanks Sulz πŸ™‚

    sulz: thank you too for all the blogging help, seriously. and daria.be rocks!

  15. Hey.. you have a super idea. For the most part, I also hate April fool’s jokes. I banned them in my home some years back when my oldest (now 20) was about 12.

    So… you get the reader’s appreciation award (as in, this reader appreciates you) from me!

    sulz: thank you! am so honoured! *hugs*

  16. You want to know what really gets my goat though? It’s someone who drops in a penny into your tipjar. Yup, a single penny. Are they trying to be insulting? Are they just trying to test the system? Or what?

    Makes me really wonder if everything that you do is worth it.

    sulz: you have a tipjar? well, if everybody drops a penny you’ll get a pretty good amount soon enough. but yeah, it doesn’t look very good on the penny-tipper really. sometimes people don’t think if what they’re really doing is truly nice enough a deed; case in point is forwarding e-mails with loads of garbage facts they think is true!

  17. […] April First time in a bar Blog commenting etiquette bloggerdygook Readers Appreciation Day […]

  18. Good night, Happy April Fool’s Day!

    A couple goes out to dinner to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. On the way home, she notices a tear in his eye and asks if he’s getting sentimental because they’re celebrating 50 wonderful years together.
    He replies, “No, I was thinking about the time before we got married. Your father threatened me with a shotgun and said he’d have me thrown in jail for 50 years if I didn’t marry you. Tomorrow I would’ve been a free man!”

    Happy April Fool’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

