blogging gobbledygook and such

You’ve read plenty of blogs. Surely you recognise this kind: a blog filled with sexist / racist / ageist / sizist / whatever issue it discriminates against or is contemptful of, and it is praised by the blogger’s friends as being ‘funny’ or ‘so true’. You’re probably aware by now that it’s a rather personal blog meant for reading by the people who know the blogger intimately and outside of the net.

Your likely response to these kind of blogs would be to secretly agree with some of the observations made and leave the post immediately after reading. Or you don’t approve of what the blogger has claimed, but you understand where the blogger’s coming from nonetheless. Or your defensive instincts kicked in and you have this urge of reeducating this blogger’s misinformed opinion of an issue that’s close to your heart.

What do you do?

Do you keep in mind that the blog is a rather personal one, made in mind to share with personal friends and not random visitors like you, and so you won’t comment because you want to give the benefit of the doubt to the blogger? Because in life there are politically incorrect things we’d say only to friends, and if we were addressing a more public audience we would edit our thoughts as such.

Or do you ‘gatecrash’ this private blog party to stand up for the issue the blogger’s mocking about in the post? After all, there are people who have never thought of looking an issue from another perspective and may just need yours to see it in a different light.

However, in doing so, you’re risking being private blog enemy no. 1 and incurring the wrath of the blogger, and the blog’s supporters. In this case not only would your intention of reeducating is not achieved, you would be made to look like a commenter who has no sense of humour, or is too uptight, or a troublemaker who wants to start a flame war.

The best case scenario would be that the blogger, realising that the net is made up of people with diverse backgrounds and opinions, is open-minded enough to accept your opposing point of view with grace. However, most of the time this does not happen, and is unlikely to.

Obviously, there isn’t a right or wrong answer to this. Standing up for what you believe in is great. But if you chose not to speak up it does not mean you aren’t standing up to what you believe in. Sometimes we have to choose our battles.

So, would you choose to do battle in this situation? Yes or no, why?

Comments on: "Would you ‘gatecrash’ a blog party to stand up for your beliefs?" (18)

  1. It would depend on the comments.

    There are plenty of opportunities to establish private blogs (ones that require registration) on the web, so there’s really no excuse for spreading lies or hatred to the public at large. Probably the best response would be to report the offensive blog to the server administrator, and then make sure your own blog stays above the fray.

    That’s my opinion!

    sulz: perhaps you’ve a different picture of what am trying to describe. it’s not exactly posts that spread lies as such, but rather the subject matter is something that is politically incorrect and that is against your beliefs as such.

    you do have a point about making the blog private, so technically they’re making their blog public and therefore is fair play for visitors to comment, even if it goes against the blogger’s opinion.

  2. lovelyloey said:

    I usually will gatecrash if the writer sounds like a mildly intellectual person (i.e. if the post is written “lyk dat wif errant speling n short forms”, then forget it).
    Then I’ll explain that I randomly saw the blog post through surfing etc.
    Then I’ll post my comment.
    The writer can diss it, accept it, challenge it. But once my comment is up there, it’s gonna take on a life of its own to help me point my beliefes across.

    sulz: that sounds good, except that your comment could be deleted by the unappreciative blogger. it would be worth the chance, though, if the blogger is indeed as you thought he could be (ie mildly intellectual), and a friendship over blogging could be formed! or at least he gracefully accepts your point of view.

  3. december said:

    I don’t think my comments would do any good to the blogger. But then, if a blogger’s putting up a discrimintaing blog in the puiblic domain, it shows that the primary objectve is not to share the ideas with insiders, but to spread them outside.

    As for what I’ll do, I think I’ll probably post my comment if it’s too disagreeable a topic.

    sulz: that was what self was thinking too. though don’t think they mean to spread their politically incorrect ideas as such, but making their blog public makes it easier for their friends to access their blog. making a blog private makes it inaccessible to friends who are not invited to view the blog. they might also think that their blog is so niche that nobody would be interested in it unless they’re friends.

  4. Yes, I would.
    a blog if opened up for comments,
    implies an invitation for arguments and criticisms.

    I have had the same dilemma not soon after I started blogging.

    Hi, I am little indian.
    I have backtracked here from flowerchild’s blog.
    It seems you may have to suffer my company on her blogroll.

    sulz: you have a point, but repeating self’s theory about leaving the blog public for easy accessibility to friends, that may also be the blogger’s intention. but your point still stands, and that’s why we see flame wars, for the most part.

    am not suffering… yet! πŸ˜›

  5. People have different views on different things.If I feel the need to make the person look at the issue from another perspective, I would.But that would totally depend on the tone of the post. If i think there’s just no point in tryin.. I wouldnt bother…

    sulz: you make an important point about tone, that could be an indication of the blogger’s character.

  6. *THANK YOU!* for your blogroll/widget help! I’m not there yet, but I’m working on it!

    As to your Q, I’m sometimes compelled to at least say HI!, but that’s about it. I keep the rest to myself. However, I kinda like a good, RESPECTFUL debate, so I’m not bothered by opposing (sp?) views being expressed on my own blog when kindly shared.

    I really like your blog! No intentions to cras this party! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    sulz: hey, you’re welcome. most of us helping in the forums are volunteers, so we do it because we want to. good point about respect! many people are so defensive that they forget to respect the blogger. sometimes, though, respect is subjective. what sounds respectful enough to the commenter may not be taken so by the blogger, though generally the tone of respect is universal, perhaps?

    thanks. πŸ™‚ this blog is quite gatecrasher-friendly; this post alone received 3 new commenters!

    ps. you might be confusing blogroll and links. the links widget is actually your blogroll. do try the faq if you have blogging questions you want to find answers by yourself. otherwise, do come back to the forums; we’re waiting for you. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m relatively new to blogging. Am I supposed to ask permission to add someone to my blogroll? This blog seems great, so I’d love to add you.

    sulz: ah, got bitten by the blogging bug yet? wrote a post about blog linking etiquette, but for the most part, there are no rules and you can link to whoever you please.

    please do add, and will return the favour to you too. πŸ™‚

  8. The mere fact that a blog is open means that comments are invited. Sometimes when I come across a blog that has a topic where I feel I have something to contribute I’ll add a comment. Other times I won’t bother. It really depends on the conversation. I recently commented on a blog about noisy kids in restaurants (friend sent me the link to the blog) and my polite comment was deleted – as were those of my readers because it was an alternative view. It was really funny because all my readers went over and posted their comments on my blog..lol. And readers from that blog came and read mine…too funny. In the end the blogger undeleted their comments because her comment thread stopped making sense. Mine remained deleted though :).

    To me, it’s their blog, not for me to dictate what they can and cannot say on it. I’m only responsible for what goes on on my blog. But to me comments are the currency of blogging, blogging is about dialogue.

    Oh, and I will delete certain comments from my blog.. my disclaimer tells commentators upfront which ones.

    Doesn’t happen often though.

    sulz: know about that incident, read your blog; that was what inspired this post actually! πŸ˜› that’s a nice of way of describing the importance of comments – comments are the currency of blogging.

  9. Totally agree with you Britgirl.

    I will allow all comments, even if they are offensive.
    For in a way,
    even the most offensive comment
    carries a latent message to the readers.

    I am guilty of deleting one comment.
    I had a few of my comments deleted by a blogger.
    When the same blogger made a comment on my site
    I just couldn’t resist
    the urge to ‘teach a lesson’;
    hit the delete button without hesitation.

    Now I regret having done so,
    for it contradicts my own beliefs.
    I passionately believe in our right
    to freedom of thoughts & expression and the Article 19.

    sulz: feel the same way about deleting comments; that’s why would never do it unless it’s spam, even if self hate having it in the blog. britgirl should remember a feisty debate between self and someone else about a rather controversial post in the past. πŸ˜‰

  10. If it’s really personal, it should be private. Then nobody can post comments :p

    The way I see it, even if I disagree with something the blogger wrote, I have the freedom as speech as long as there’s a POST A COMMENT.

    sulz: that’s the logic for most of us who choose to reply in this scenario, but the problem is bloggers who don’t follow proper blogging etiquette or use the available facilities to prevent such comments, and then they become outraged when they receive comments they consider unwelcomed!

  11. akhilareddy said:

    I agree with MJ…

    If it’s really personal, it must be private!

    I’ve posted comments many times..Till now I didn’t come across such a blogger who would mind if I gatecrash…may be I will, very soon, because it has not been very long since I started blogging.

    akhila

    sulz: well, it isn’t personal like private kind of personal, but it’s written with a readership of personal friends in mind and not random visitors like us.

    if you blog, why didn’t you leave your url? πŸ™‚

  12. akhilareddy said:

    well, it is ‘akhilareddy.wordpress.com’

    sulz: ah, thanks for replying. because even though you’re logged into wordpress when you left the comment, you didn’t include your blog url in your profile, so that’s why didn’t know where your blog is. you could add your blog url in your profile by clicking the ‘my profile’ link at the top right of dashboard, just right next to sign oug. πŸ™‚

  13. Hmm… well I know you’re not talking about my blog, because my personal friends don’t leave comments on it.

    If you truly feel strongly about it, leave the comment. Otherwise let it slide and save that energy for something else.

    sulz: nope, wasn’t talking about your blog for sure. yes, that’s what normally do, the latter more than the former.

    nice to hear from a forum regular! πŸ™‚

  14. To delete or not to delete… that is the question πŸ™‚ Sulz you are a reader so I assume you know your Shakespeare… anyway, I deleted a comment recently because it was off topic.

    Actually it was a long verse from the Bible, put into a thread about the Virginia school shootings. Why did I delete it? Not because I’m against Bible verses, if they are in context. But posting a comment which clearly had nothing to do with the post, just an opportunity to quote scripture at me and other readers. Couldn’t let it stay. it was so out of place it made no sense – like a wrong music note… For one thing, I’m clear in my disclaimer about off-topic remarks – I say I will delete them, along with abusive, racist comments and spam like comments etc. I don’t want to encourage religious evangelizing on my blog… if I let it stay then I shouldn’t be surprised if another showed up, and another. But I did tell the commentator why I deleted it… don’t think they were too impressed, they haven’t been back.

    But that’s fine… I have to consider my other readers too… who do try to stay on topic. I allow practically all comments and I’ve hardly deleted anything else – so far… oh, except a troll comment some months back πŸ™‚

    And yes, I do remember that conversation, Sulz…

    sulz: that’s just spam then, from the sound of it; instead of promoting a product it’s promoting a religion. that phrase is too famous even for a non-reader not to recognise it!

    since you’ve established the kind of comments allowed in your blog, you’re perfectly entitled to delete them if they’re against the rules.

  15. One other thing I wanted to mention (now I can’t shut up!) Comments are interesting things. I had a comment from a visitor the other week which made a lot of assumptions. Replying to it was impossible without either belittling the writer’s experience, which I didn’t want to do, completely negating my own experience, which I also refused to do, offending others (ditto), or going down a path that could lead to flaming…

    I generally respond to all comments, except if someone has said the same thing I would have done, but this one I couldn’t. I thought about it for days, and in the end I picked one line from the comment (that could cause no harm) and responded briefly to it. And when the commentor replied, I mentioned that I found it difficult to respond to his comment because of the potential outcome…Oh well, they like my blog still so I must have done something right. Comments can be dynamite sometimes πŸ™‚

    Lastly, I think bloggers should make an effort to comment on other blogs frequently… I believe if you want comments on your blog you should give them first.

    OK. Enough already from me!

    sulz: haven’t encountered a problem like that yet, though do occasionally have that ‘how to respond to this comment’ moments, because feel like there’s nothing substantial to reply. so instead, like you, just pick something off what they’ve said and respond vaguely to it. at least self tried!

    so agree with your last comment. and you’re welcome to ramble on – it’s been a while since heard from you! πŸ™‚

  16. My only reservation when I blog is I ask myself would I say what I am saying face to face. I post on several blogs that hold different views that myself. And I have visitors to my blog that I know see life from a different point of view than I do. I post links to blogs and sites on the consideration that I think my visitors may find the links interesting to be exposed to the content not whether I personally agree with the site or blog owner’s views. I hold myself to the same standards I hold visitors that post on my blog. Keep it reasonably family friendly and no personal attacks on the visitors. Politicians, Celebrity Seekers and Hollyweird/os are fair game as long as the language is clean. Sometimes my personal posts make it past moderation and sometimes they do not. But more often those that do not, are because I have entered a location where the administrator does not wish to hear views that clash with their beliefs. πŸ™‚ I was thrashed and beaten on a blog the other day for agreeing with the blog owner’s post which was drawing a lot of criticism from her readers. It is all part of the entertainment and I take no offense from it. The readers turned from bashing the blog owner to bashing me. πŸ™‚ that’s life in the blogging game.

    sulz: that’s a very open-minded view to have of blogging and comments! if only many of us feel that way, we’ll have so much less flame wars.

  17. I pretty much never try to crash the party. The internet is a really big place and if I get caught up in the little fights along the way it’s keeping me from doing something more.

    Getting a complete stranger to see your point of view is a pointless activity. They have no trust for you. If they have some respect for you going in then you have a chance at getting them to see your side of things. But complete strangers? Waste of time.

    sulz: that’s an interesting point of view. sometimes feel that way too, when have decided not to leave a comment. but sometimes, when have decide to leave a comment in spite of self’s scepticism, the blogger surprises self with the way he accepted the view, or in other cases, explained how that is how he intended to be interpreted and that he did not meant to offend. just the luck of the draw. πŸ™‚

  18. I have faith and conviction in my beliefs.
    I will always stand up for them,
    till something or someone makes me change them.

    If I find
    an opinion damaging
    in my belief, by its difference and disagreement
    I will not hesitate to put forward my points of view.

    How can I say
    its a wastage of time,
    without knowing what effects
    my opinion has had or may have
    on the original authors or their readers.

    Too many wrongs are being done
    too many wrong opinions go unchallanged
    just because the sensible voices choose to remain silent.

    Are we all not ‘complete strangers’ here.
    Then why even bother to open our blogs for comments?

    I do not look it as ‘fights’; I am
    exercising my right to freely express myself.
    Flame wars, are a two way thing, easily stopped.

    I believe, I will be an escapist, if I simply walk away.

    sulz: thanks for sharing your thoughts. nice way to read it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

