blogging gobbledygook and such

Blogging reveals many things about the blogger to the readers. Blogging can reveal the most innermost thoughts of a person, things you wouldn’t even know of even as a friend of the blogger in real life.

The most personal thing you may not know is if the blogger dies.

Have been thinking about this issue for some time already, and even commented about it on a blog (in which the blogger experienced what is yet another near-death accident for him).

The blogging world is quite fickle. There are times when blogs are left un-updated for days and months, simply because the bloggers have suffered a blogging burnout, or they’ve just lost the interest shortly after joining the blogging bandwagon.

Maybe that one blog you keep visiting hoping for an update will never be updated because the blogger can’t blog anymore… ?

Can you imagine, a blog you’ve been reading since forever, knowing all the things about the blogger that his family probably doesn’t even realise, only to have the blogger mysteriously disappear without a trace, and you don’t know if it’s because he got plain bored with recording his life on the Internet or if he’s dead and couldn’t inform familiar strangers like you because, well, nobody familiar to him knows about the blog (much less the password obviously), so who could confirm if the blogger’s dead?

Death can come pretty unexpectedly. Have you considered leaving your blog in a will? Or how would you plan informing your blog readers of your death?

A Bloggers Prayer
Now I lay me down to sleep
All my passwords at my feet.
If I should die before I wake,
Blog for me, for heaven’s sake.
– ptvguy

Related & interesting thread discussed in the WordPress.com forums

Comments on: "How would you know the death of a blogger?" (24)

  1. “i hereby bequeath this blog to nobody and so if it’s dead, it’s dead/deleted/whatever. so goodbye world.”

    that would be my epitaph for the blog.

    sulz: but how am self and other blog readers to know if you’re really really gone? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ you could have just gone off blogging but still very much alive, but you wouldn’t exactly want people to think you’re dead

  2. I wondered how would I know if my online friend had died too. He was considering suicide. He actually gave me his wife’s email in case I didn’t hear from him. Maybe he wanted me to ask his wife, “Did he really die?”

    sulz: wah liow, so extreme… so have you heard from him? maybe send him an e-card show him some support or something… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ am so clueless what to do around such people. what do you do?

  3. lovelyloey said:

    I remember there was a paid web service, as Post Expressions (or something like that) that will help you store an email to be mass sent to people after you expire.
    But the fact remains, we might never know if a blogger dies, unless he/she has made prior arrangements for someone to post the news on his/her behalf.

    sulz: heh, isn’t there a flaw in the system? like how to truly confirm the death of the person?

    yeap, so guess we must make preparations for that…

  4. Had a fallout with him, no contact after that. We had another mutual online friend and she didn’t hear from him too.

    sulz: well, let’s hope he didn’t succumb to his suicidal tendencies…

  5. I think the only way out of this is to have somebody who knows you in real life as well as your life as a blogger. I’d make a post saying I’m dead and thank everybody I need to and then save it as a draft. Then the friend shall log into my account and just publish that post and maybe leave me some glowing tributes.

    But the question is, can you trust anybody that much? What’s the guarantee that he won’t just log in and publish the post when I’m very much alive but not able to blog because of some other reasons?

    Gah, it’s tough. Wish we were some popular people and our deaths would be reported in newspapers and Google or something. And comeon, it wasn’t that close a death experience. I’ve had 3 of those in like 5 months and since I’ve survived all, I’d probably be a medical miracle.

    sulz: exactly, exactly. does this means we may have to consider a proper will?

    well, what can be a minor accident can very well turn out really major later. and it obviously doesn’t help that you’re riding a motorbike and stats aren’t exactly optimistic… ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. one of my classmates passed away recently. it was a lung infection that became fatal in no time. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    but in his orkut scrapbook, someone had written something like “hey, where are you? too busy?”

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    sulz: that really blows… (sorry to hear about your friend.) and see, it’s exactly self’s point made. on one hand you could think that person was being an idiot for not knowing the death of his own friend. on the other you may think, “whoever expects to die so soon, especially in our age?”

    how did he get lung infection? doesn’t sound like something one catches easily…

  7. yeah, we were all shocked. it took place so fast that nobody knows what exactly happened. but it was seemingly a rare one.

    as for how we can know if a fellow blogger has died, there isn’t much of a way out, i’m afraid. the only thing that can be done would be to encourage bloggers to inform readers about their absence (due to busy schedules and stuff), or to delete their blogs if they don’t wish to post anymore.

    then atleast people won’t think they’re dead.

    sulz: yea, that’s a good alternative.

    so you better keep self informed, alright! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I am assuming that you are excluding the possibility that blogger1 could have intentionally eliminated blogger2 over releasing personal embarrassing information about each other over the Internet. ๐Ÿ™‚
    But if one truly wants complete anonymity then the question is moot. And perhaps by that same anonymity the blogger can sustain and maybe even increase whatever legendary blogging status they have attained. It could possibly become one of the great literary deliberations such as the Francis Bacon ร  William Shakespeare identity debates. Or it could just leave everybody scratching his or her head and leaving a never to be answered blog message; Wassup homie, where ya been?

    sulz: haha, that would be really gruesome though… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ not so much the question of anonymity here but rather how to inform online friends who frequent the blog (like you and self) about the blogger’s death, if he doesn’t reveal his blog to people he know for privacy purposes.

    so, do your loved ones know about your scoundrel activities in the blogosphere? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. oh dear ๐Ÿ˜ฆ something to think about, really. i have no doubts though that if i really did kick the bucket it’d be on the blogs of my close friends…or the blogs of the people linked to my sidebar that really do know me in real life.

    i take comfort in that, in a strange way.

    sunshine, sorry to hear about your friend ๐Ÿ˜ฆ life really is fragile.

    btw sulz, i owe you heaps if my ticket gets confirmed, all ๐Ÿ™‚ thank you again. xoxo

    sulz: you wouldn’t have a problem in this case since you don’t blog anonymously and all your friends know about your blog.

    no problem. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Well most of my family know I post on blogs. That one is a real nobrainer for them as they know my fondness of irritating others. My late mother once told me that I would start an argument with a brick wall just for the shock value it would create with onlookers. And if i was in the right mood, she was probably correct. On the other hand, though some family members may have guessed I have my own blog, none would know for sure. I suppose if some of my old teachers read it they might guess because my blogging style is as verbose, sometimes pompous for irritational effect and always lacking of syntax skills as my first excursions into writing junior high school papers. But if I kick off no one in the blog world will ever know unless I start haunting computers.

    sulz: your last line probably rings true for many bloggers. let’s just hope death isn’t too near for bloggers whose blogs we frequent at the moment – it’s just too sad if you think about it…

  11. leaving your blog in a will is a good idea….that way you can instruct whoever you leave it to to inform you readers of your death.

    sulz: it’s probably the surefire proof of informing your readers, but do you really think someone would go all the way to get a will written just right at this moment? ๐Ÿ˜‰ we young people always think death is so far away from us and yet, history tells us this is not the case every time…

  12. dianabobar said:

    never really thought about this… hm. interesting!

    sulz: well, maybe you want to think some more about it in relation to your own blog… ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. jaja.. really interesting.. i have been reading a special blog since.. as you have been saying.. since forever!! n.. i think i’ll know if he dead.. he loves his compurer, his blog.. hi writes everyday.. all the stupid and interesting things of his day.. i think i’ll know… but who knows..??! jaja
    So nice post…!!

    sulz: well, you never know if someone just decides to quit blogging. people more in love can split with their partners just like that *snaps fingers*. so… let’s hope death is far away from us bloggers! for now, at least. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the compliment.

  14. “knock on wood”.

    I have few personal friends who reads my blog, leave comments, send emails and meet during the weekends. In any case, i’f I’d die (knock 3 times on the wood again), they’d probably tell those who don’t know what really happened by leaving comments on your blog. So comment box and “leaving it open” for comments is such a unique addition to blogging.

    *goosebumps* for this post.

    sulz: hey, you won’t drop dead just talking about it! ๐Ÿ˜› yes, that’s the easiest and most practical way to do it if someone doesn’t quite trust enough to leave their blog’s password lying around. there’s the possibility of people spreading rumours that way though, if they knew you quit blogging but are very much alive.

    but who’s going to be as mean as that?

  15. Blogs are literary objects and can be bequeathed to a literary executor like a book or copyrights or anything else.

    I actually blogged about this last year, when a famous blogger died and was found because she hadn’t updated her blog in three days.

    sulz: can anyone be a literary executor? hmm, that’s the first have heard. thanks for the link, certainly adds an element of realism to the discussion. will her blog ever be unfreezed?

  16. I’ve been thinking about it for a while.

    It especially hit me when one of my fellow bloggers who posted everyday suddenly stopped. I don’t even know his real name because he’s anonymous, and he thinks too much… so I thought he had done something.

    Even knowing this I left a message with a “uuhh long time no posting” or something stupid like that.

    And he replied.

    The thing is… I guess there’s no way to know.

    I’m not an anonymous blogger really, but since my real life people don’t speak english or go online too much, it’s almost like I were anonymous. So nobody would know if something happens to me.

    I guess tha’ts part of the blogger’s life.

    sulz: at least he replied. ๐Ÿ™‚

    no certain way to know; to be able to announce your coming but not your going… that sounds sad to self, for some reason.

  17. timethief said:

    sulz,
    I can see that you have 16 comments here. But when I look at them I can see no words only a black background with the smilies is visible. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  18. Now suddenly I can see the comments – weird – very weird.

  19. timethief said:

    And no sooner did I scroll to the top but the comments disappeared, again.

    sulz: eh? can see them fine though from here… the words are in white. can you see them now?

    thanks for the tip. this is the first have heard. maybe it’s time to try’s sunburntkamel’s new skin for sandbox… ๐Ÿ˜›

  20. I blog I used to read “religiously” simply died. . . . the irony. . . it was Jesus’ blog.

    http://whatwouldjb.blogspot.com/

    I think someone should write a “DNR” for blogs, like a permission to pull the plug. If after a period of time there is no real activity – its fair to call the blog “legally brain dead” – and then they can simply be removed to RIP.

    Of course it solves the issue of abandoned blogs on a whole, but doesn’t change the fact you’d never really know what came to be of the author.

    I bet there are some hardcore bloggers that have written into their real wills how to handle their blog upon death. . . .

    sulz: is it supposed to mimic what happened to jesus? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    there’s already that option to delete one’s blog. most people probably end up regretting doing that because you just can’t retrieve all those thoughts you invested (assuming it’s a considerable emotional investment). would agree to delete a blog after a period of time, since that suggests the blogger isn’t interested in blogging anymore – but that passion can be reignited years later, too.

    well, if am aware that am going to die soon, would definitely leave the blog to be handled by somebody. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. sulz: is it supposed to mimic what happened to jesus? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    If the blog suddenly resurrects, I’ll let you know. . . .

    Joey ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: ๐Ÿ˜†

  22. Joey, I was reading The Pope Blog: Pope Benedict XVI and it was funny! Till no more updates ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  23. Well, I’d leave the closest in the family (Sis, Dad) to get it published into a book on my lifestory, or something like that, you’ll never know who might be interested in people like myself, considered mundane by the rest of the world. That is so morose of me to say. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    sulz: that’s right, you never know. have read a book called the diary of a nobody and actually enjoyed it. ๐Ÿ˜›

  24. […] in this part of the blogosphere.. that how would the readers know if a blogger died.. courtesy sulz. But a blogger is also a person and has some real life relationships and friends. Have you ever […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

