blogging gobbledygook and such

If you’ve been reading this blog long enough, you’d realise that this isn’t a new skin. I really love this Bus Full of Hippies skin, so I just felt like putting it back again. It’s like a full circle really; since my CSS upgrade will expire in March, I’m using this again until then. *sob* I’ll miss dressing up my blog then.

Review of last year’s resolutions.

1. Can say this has been accomplished quite well from the blogging front. Definitely more posts, and definitely more thought-provoking kind, therefore I was as articulate as would like to be. Okay, that doesn’t quite make sense, but hell it’s my damn blog, who says logic has to apply all the time! :mrgreen:

2. Err… if eating more variety of foods is counted as eating healthier, then maybe lah… okay, so I totally tanked this resolution because I haven’t really adopted many healthy eating habits, except to not eat the same kind of food more than twice a week.

3. Err… also not quite accomplished. From an emotional aspect, perhaps I have experienced more – I’ve opened up to people more, I’ve learnt to accept my flaws, I’ve learnt to let go of people’s mistakes. From a physical, non-emotional aspect, pretty much nothing done.

*

Okay, so if it isn’t obvious to you by now, I’ve started the new year afresh by making some very significant changes to the way I blog, first being using the first person pronoun. The reason I try not to use first person pronouns in my first two years of blogging is because of my low self-esteem – I saw myself as a non-entity. So now, I’m going to affirm myself, and call me, myself and I the way I ought to refer to myself, like a proper person and entity! It also makes reading much easier to my readers, I believe. ;)

The next change is that I’ve stopped making blog post titles in question form. That’s another characteristic of my lousy self-esteem; it’s symbolic of the way I always doubt myself, question myself. While these two blogging idiosyncrasies set me apart from other bloggers, I don’t want to continue the practice anymore due to the significance behind them.

However, that doesn’t mean I won’t revert to the first-person-pronoun-avoidant ways and questioning title posts; I may do that when I feel like it. It will be a total reversal from my old blogging days when I use to blockquote posts when I want to refer to myself using first person pronouns. Instead, I will blockquote posts when I don’t want to refer to myself with first person pronouns. :)

*

This year’s resolution:

1. Have better self-esteem. As opposed to gaining more confidence, which if not controlled can lead to bigheadedness, which is totally not something I’d want to be! So yes, better self-esteem, in the sense that I’m going to have faith in my abilities, and I’m not going to keep comparing myself to other people… too much.

2. Get a tattoo. Seriously. It’s about time I did something in that list (no. 43)! It’s a start lah, being the cheapest and easiest among the list. Remind me that when I’m moaning in pain at the tattoo parlour.

3. Accomplish something. Whatever it is, just as long as it’s personally meaningful. It can be writing a book, or getting a boyfriend, or kiss Dee, whatever. Something that you can list as among your top accomplishments in life.

*

Happy 2nd Birthday,
bloggerdygook
!

Some freaking amazing blog stats:

1. Received 1044 virtual hugs. (That’s like 10 times more hugs received than in the first year!!!)
2. Blogged 397 posts. (Twice the amount of posts made in first year. Not that much, but I’m sure the quality is better!)
3. Received 2,109 comments. (That’s like almost 10 times more comments received than in first year. Runaway success! bloggerdygook‘s readers are just freaking awesome!!!)

Comments on: "Resolutions I will try my damn best to fulfill" (25)

  1. Sulz,

    I don’t see the Bus full of Hippies theme! I have started reading your blog only since yesterday, so I can’t comment on your previous blogging style. But I really like the way you use the word “self” and place so much of emphasis on improving and finding yourself. :) Here’s wishing that you reach greater heights in 2008.

    And don’t worry about the CSS Upgrade. I’m sure they’ll renew it for you, for all the wonderful volunteering you do at the forum. :)

    sulz: heh, i forgot that i wrote that bit before changing the skin. :P i do love that self bit, it’s part of my insecurity and part of me wanting to stand out, but as i said above, it’s time to use less of that idiosyncrasy. i’ll still use it sometime for sure! :)

    i really, really hope that would be so! *crossing fingers very tight*

  2. timethief said:

    Happy New Year! You can find my New Year’s Resolutions on my other blog. ;)

    sulz: happy new year to you too! :)

  3. Awesome, I love the bus full of Hippies ever since I first saw it on your blog ages ago. Although I’m sure it looked slightly different then.

    Shame that you’re dropping the ‘self’ as I like the style of it, but I can fully understand yoru reasons for it.

    Have a wonderful 2008. :)

    sulz: haha, i don’t know if it’s any different, ‘cept for the admin bar. ;)

    you know, i’ve always thought it was weird to have written like that and that people probably had a hard time reading it! well, as i said, i won’t totally ditch it. ;)

    i hope to, and you have a great new year! :D

  4. Ah, by deciding to stop using the “self” word, you’re made one of the major upsets in blogging history. Haha just kidding but now I’m gonna have to change my hover text for your link in my blogroll. It used to say “She’s selfless..no wait..she’s self full!” :P Gonna have to think up a new one now. And I don’t think it was tough reading you before. It was just different.

    Good luck with all the resolutions you’ve made. I hope you fulfill all of them, especially the tattoo one and put a pic up here after doing that. Where are you planning to get the tattoo actually? That’s the more important decision, y’ know.

    bloggerdygook’s readers are just freaking awesome!!!)
    Yep, we are teh shit. I wish a happy new year to all other bloggerdygook readers too. Have fun, people!

    sulz: haha, but i think i’m still just as self-absorbed as ever! :mrgreen:

    of course i’ll put a picture of the tattoo up, you’ll love it. i know you will. ;) my friend’s going to help set me up with a tattooist she know – he’s done it for her brother.

  5. Hey, the question as a title thing isn’t about self-doubt (from the way I see it), it’s more about throwing thought-provoking questions to us readers.

    and YOU ARE GETTING A TATTOO!!! Where (on your body, not the palour)? What? Exciting. How I wished I can do that. Am not allowed to mark my body that way, and anywhere that’s hidden well from view = high risk of infection. LOL.

    sulz: well, it was that and also the self-doubt bit, and also something different from the usual post titles. meh, everybody doesn’t seem to like the new changes! :? haha.

    why are you not allowed??

  6. And I just saw your response to the above commenter:

    of course i’ll put a picture of the tattoo up, you’ll love it

    That means it’s not somewhere -ahem- private? I would love to get a killer whale on my boob. :P

    sulz: i’m going to put it at the back of my left shoulder. that way, i can hide it for work, and can show it off when play. :P

    hoho, would the killer whale ‘jump’ out of the valley of your bosom? :mrgreen:

  7. “bloggerdygook’s readers are just freaking awesome!!!”

    And bloggerdygook’s author is freaking awesome too!

    Happy New Year!!

    sulz: haha, oh why thank you so much! :D happy new year to you too!

  8. Killer whale on the boob is the most exciting tattoo I’ve heard about after one girl who said she was gonna have a snake going around her navel and pointing towards the ahem ahem you know what. :P

    I’ll be waiting for the pic btw Sulz, you’ve gotten me really excited about it now! :D

    sulz: pervvvvvvvv. :mrgreen:

    sorry you’ll have to wait a while! i have to save up, and i have to arrange the little details, bleh. i plan to get it before april, if that’s possible.

  9. Happy new year.

    It’s cool that you’re using the first person pronoun now. I must say, I was wondering what that was about.

    I like the new blog skin, by the way!

    sulz: happy new year to you too! :) haha, well now you know! and thanks!

  10. Rock on – happy new year and congrads on the “self” thing. I never thought we’d see that. I had always wanted to ask you what that was from. My theory was that it had to do with the fact that the most commonly used words to initiate sentences in the English language are I, me, and my. Which suggests a rather selfish perspective we seem to have subconsciously. I’m not sure if that’s even true – I’m too hungover to look it up, but it sounds true.

    LOL @ tattoo. I hear that word and so help me, all I think of is the midget from Fantasy Island.

    sulz: happy new year to you too, and thanks! :D haha, i bet many were like you, and some must have hated it because it was kinda weird when you first read it, right? ;)

    you’re far too obsessed with midgets! :mrgreen:

  11. Good to see some resolutions apart from the usual weight loss/dieting stuff =D God everyone I know has that as their resolution every year :S The self-esteem one is pretty thoughtful =D

    Happy new year! :]

    sulz: thanks! i wanted something i could achieve, you know? i stand to lose some weight but i know my love for food will take over eventually! :P

    and yes, happy new year to you too. :)

  12. I’m going to miss the sulz-speak. I found it distinctive and thought it was easy to read, in a strange way. As KS said, “me, myself, I” can seem more selfish and sometimes that can give the wrong impression… with “self” you kind of distanced yourself from the posts, so I always knew what you meant. But it’s good to see you using your own voice too. ;)

    You know what would be fun? If you go back to it for a post, you could create a “Speak Like Sulz Day” meme and tag people to do it on their blogs for a day too. Watch as sulz-speak spreads across the blogosphere! :D

    Nice to to see a familiar theme back too, btw. I think this is how I remember your blog best. And Happy New Year! Hope you have a great 2008.

    sulz: don’t worry, she’ll come back! she admits though that it’s far easier to write posts without thinking about avoiding first person pronouns. :P now, that’s an idea to keep for blogging block days, hmm… ;) it isn’t something she thought up by herself though; she took it from bridget jones but somehow couldn’t quite write her prose the way bridget does in her diary.

    gosh, were you reading her blog that long? she thought you were friends with her for a shorter time than that. time flies she guesses!

  13. I want to address the profound reasons you gave for changing your personal pronouns, and questions as post titles. I am aware that the first sentence I typed, and now this one, too, started with “I’. But that’s what blogging is, really. Blogs are all about “Me, Me, Me”. Or in your case “You, You, You”. ;) It’s a very personal, journalistic way of writing. Although some blogs concentrate on reporting events, or news, or celebrities, what would their appeal be if the author did not include her/his perspective?
    So, the fact that you initially embraced blogging with low self-esteem (kind of ironic, when lack of SELF esteem, resulted in SELF-describing as SELF), shows, in my opinion, tremendous courage and willingness to explore that Self!
    Your “questioning” post titles, too, struck me as dipping your toe in the water, so to speak, and being curious about how readers would respond to you. Again, very courageous.
    And now, for the new year, to say that you are willing to step forward as “Me”, and not just “Self” actually moves me to tears. I read your post yesterday, but was too emotional to respond ’til now, so I’m probably coming off as overly serious. :(
    I’ll just end by saying I’m so pleased for you, and with others I will enjoy visiting with “Self” when she decides to appear. I like cj’s idea of a “Speak Like Sulz Day”. How fun!!! :)
    Love all the flowers of your Hippie theme, too. Happy New Year, “YOU”.

    sulz: wow, don’t know what to say to that, really, i’m speechless! *HUGS* :D thank you, what an awesome way to wake up and read words like yours! (and no, you’re never too serious to me.)

    you know, that’s how i dress too in person. lots of flowery prints and bits! happy new year to you too. :)

  14. Awesome! When I first started to read your blog it had this skin on. :) Good times.

    Congrats for changing. I like your blog one way or the other…. but hey! changing is good!

    sulz: yeah, i love looking at my blog now. :P well, change is good but so far i think people prefer the old ways. ;)

  15. Hey interesting to see you post on yr past resolutions & this year’s one. Your blog’s cool – so a good feather on your cap for last year’s achievement! :)

    Have a great 2008!

    sulz: hello, and thank you for the compliment. :) hope your 2008 will be good too!

  16. I’ll wait for that tattoo, no issues so take your time.

    Btw, even I’m if anyone’s planning to do the “Speak like Sulz Day”.

    sulz: haha, that’s 3 already! awesome, let’s wait for a blogging block period for that. ;)

  17. Does resolution no 2 has anything to do with no 1?

    sulz: haha, of course not. i don’t see how having a tattoo would make my self-esteem any better in the long run. i want my tattoo for personal reasons that reflects what i love and who i am and what it does to me. :)

  18. buchstaeblich said:

    Oh, Dear! I started just yesterday with blogging and the title is – of course! – a question.

    Do I need psychiatric help now? ;-)

    (sorry, if my english is lousy, I ‘m german …)

    sulz: haha, of course not! it’s only in my case. anyway, i’m just joking there, really. ;)

    good luck with your blog! (oh, your english is fine to me!)

  19. buchstaeblich said:

    sulz,

    I wish my jokes about a whole “Island full of Hippies” (Gomera) were translatable.

    sulz: well, i wish i know the language of those jokes too. :) do you have a blog? i’d like to visit it.

  20. buchstaeblich said:

    buchstaeblich.wordpress.com is my blog, but as I told you, I just started several days ago. So you won’t find much to read, and it’s not all about Hippie-Island.
    Even worse, it’s german, but have a try, if you like!

    In the following times, I will tell more about Didgeri-Do-something-else-but-not-that-loud-Players.

    sulz: thanks for the link. but alas, only the hardest language in the world to learn! :P you may want to put your blog url in your profile (top left corner of dashboard) so that people can visit your blog when you leave comments anywhere in wp.com in the future. :)

  21. Thanks for the advice!
    I tried to add the url, but I’m not sure if I really managed – I’m a pc-blondie.

    My “hardest language in the world”-german is often enough not understood by native germans, because I juggle with with words and letters, until everybody feels dizzy.

    sulz: you did it, don’t worry. :) well, considering it’s the hardest language to learn (in my opinion) it’s no wonder you have to do acrobatic tricks with it, haha!

  22. I managed? Pooh!

    The german language is as nearly complicated than Asian languages, I think. But, in fact, there are so many words missing in the dictionary. That’s why I sometimes have to create new words to tell my thoughts precisely.

    sulz: haha, perhaps your soul belongs in the future century where all the words you coined now are added into the dictionary. ;) imagine, you, a visionary!

  23. [...] in order for me to get over this falling out, and do something along the lines of my New Year’s resolution (I don’t think I’d be able to afford my tattoo with this now), I’ve decided to [...]

  24. [...] Right, back to resolutions. But first, a review of last year’s resolutions: [...]

  25. [...] extremely interesting to see some of the changes she’s gone through in that time, for example the way she sees herself and every post of hers has a lot of commenters, something most other bloggers can only dream of! [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

