blogging gobbledygook and such

We all have our pet peeves. Things that we don’t like, don’t excuse. It’s perfectly normal to have dislikes and complain about the existence of our dislikes in people we encounter in our lives. Crazy drivers on the road. Cheaters in games and sports. People who are never punctual in their lives ever; probably came out late from their mothers’ tummies or something. People who refuse to listen and rationalise. Whatever does not float your boat, it’s okay. You’re human, and you’re entitled to your likes and dislikes, to rave or rant about them when the feeling strikes you.

Sometimes when I rant about a certain something people do that I hate, I think it gives the impression that I never do it for the reasons of why I hate it. I don’t believe in doing this, therefore I never do it. I would hate it if a person does it to me, so I will never do this to anyone else.

While I like to think that I practise what I preach, and indeed I do consciously try to, I think it’s also important to know that I cannot keep to my standards every single time. If I ever seem contradictory to you, it may be because I forgot of my standards, or I did not see it from that perspective.

Also, you should know that general standards of behaviour can only be applied in textbook situations. In real life, there are so many factors and elements in a situation that sometimes we cannot apply such standards. While that should not be a mere excuse for the deviation of my personal standards, I think that that is a fair reason to justify my not practising of my own personal standards. Well, that’s of course subject to the exact situation and perspectives can be totally subjective.

So, you’re free to point out my mistakes, just as I am free to accept it. I do want you to know that I do try not to be a conscious hypocrite, because that is one of my biggest pet peeves.

That said, I don’t believe I have not ever been a hypocrite at some point of my life. πŸ˜‰

*

This is to record that today was my closest to ever having a guy trying to pick me up in KFC. Granted, I don’t know exactly who he was trying to pick up seeing as there were 4 of us girls having lunch together. πŸ˜›

(I don’t think this has anything to do with it, but my friend pointed out that my t-shirt was probably very provocative – it says absofuckinglutely single.)

Comments on: "Of Personal Standards & Their Practice" (4)

  1. Obviously Sulz, you can’t expect anybody to be perfect and hence it’s obvious that you can’t stick to your own standards all the time. If that was the case, life would get so simple and monotonous even but it’s not like that is it? As you say yourself, there are situations that compel you to do things you normally wouldn’t and that somehow happens to be the spice of life and the whole unpredictable thing about it. Just imagine getting up in the morning and knowing you’ll not swear at anyone driving wrongly or will not shout at anybody because you’ve made the rules for yourself. That’s impossible, and we know that and therefore we also know you’re not a hypocrite. We do point your mistakes out when we find them, and you accept them, and we know that. End of discussion.

    Sorry for not having replied on the last post, I’ve been busy with studies.

    sulz: okay, i’m glad you understand what i’m trying to say! πŸ˜€ and hey, no worries, i’ve been pretty mia around here lately, unless you haven’t noticed! πŸ˜›

  2. Nobody is perfect buddy, and just as you accept us with all of our faults and misgivings, we do the same with you as well. After all, we’re only human….born to make mistakes (sorry, those lyrics from the 80’s were in my head the whole time I read your post).

    I seem to do that alot…..associate your posts with music or film references. It’s a fascinating look into the workings of my brain now that I ponder it….at least for me. πŸ™‚

    sulz: i know we’re not perfect, but it seems sometimes people expect me to be. πŸ˜‰ haha, i never knew my writing can be musically-inspiring! πŸ˜› who knows, maybe some day someone will write a song based on my post. :mrgreen:

  3. […] of hypocrisy? I’m human, of course there will be a time or two when I’m guilty of not practising what I preach. But do I hate it so much because I do it myself, however rarely or commonly that […]

  4. I somehow missed this post! It seems we practice what we preach most of the time, but when we see others with a trait we don’t like, it can be a reminder we still have a little work to do there ourselves. πŸ˜‰

    sulz: but most of the time i’d be too caught up with judging the person to be thinking hmm, do i do that too? πŸ˜› guess i should change that, huh?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

