blogging gobbledygook and such

Dong Dong Dong Chiang!

zodiacwheel.jpg

That, to me, is the sound of Chinese New Year. I’m usually not very excited about CNY, but this year I feel especially so. I guess it’s because most of the blog’s readers are not Chinese and I have the perfect opportunity to share what little I know of my culture. Yes, I do mean very little, because I’m terribly Westernised. You know you’re not that Chinese (but that doesn’t mean we’re not Chinese, we ARE) when you’re sitting at the only table in the restaurant having your reunion dinner using forks and spoons. (I resisted and used my chopsticks. This is the girl who didn’t know how to use them until she was well into her teenage years!)

Anyway, I just want to share with you some Chinese New Year songs. Personally, I prefer Xmas carols to CNY songs. I really dislike the tacky remixes on classic CNY songs. Unfortunately, those are the only ones I can find. 😐 Never mind, just listen to the melody and you should have an idea.

A classic CNY song with the remix treatment
Another remix version of the classic
A typical lion dance tune
Source: this site which tells you how to prepare a CNY party too

Speaking of lion dance, I went to Ikea with my parents on chor yat (first day of CNY) and there was a lion dance. If there’s one thing I love about CNY, it’s the lion dance. The lion’s head is so magical, so… majestic and terrifying at the same time. Every strut, shimmy and shake of the lion dance is just enthralling. It really feels as if the mythical creature is alive, that it’s hard to believe that two people are underneath the costume. The deafening sounds of the drums and cymbals, so loud that you feel it in your bones and it becomes your heartbeat instead…

If you haven’t seen a lion dance live, make it your mission next year to go to the nearest Chinatown. It’s an amazing experience, trust me.

I ripped this CNY quiz off museditions. What’s your results? Did you learn anything? I got two wrong, so I learnt a couple of things. 🙂

Comments on: "Dong Dong Dong Chiang!" (8)

  1. These are my results:
    Total score: 8 right, 2 wrong (80%)

    I’m surprised I got 2 wrong!

    sulz: it’s your lucky day? 😉

    haven’t seen you here in a while!

  2. busy busy… but will again… so often that you’d wish I left 😉

    sulz: i think i can handle whatever you dish out. 😉

  3. lovelyloey said:

    Ha, I got 2 wrong! Oh well, never mind that.
    I don’t like lion dances. Prefer the long dragon ones. Those are more majestic. Heh.

    sulz: really? i haven’t seen a dragon dance before, that’s why. i want to, though!

  4. I’ve been using chopsticks since I was four! And I only got one more wrong on the quiz than you did! Maybe I’m almost as Chinese as you are! I went back to read your referenced post from last year about how Chinese you are. There are loooooong comments there. Very interesting discussion, particularly about being a “banana”. My friends’ parents would call them bananas when they eschewed culture. Coincidently, I took a fruit quiz over at raincoaster’s today (3 times), which told me I was a banana! http://raincoaster.com/2008/02/08/quiz-what-fruit-are-you/
    Thanks for the songs. I hadn’t heard this music in a long time. That’s a beautiful wheel you posted, too. I have downloaded it. I miss the large parade in San Francisco, but we do have some things going on here.

    sulz: maybe you are chinese… 😉 especially with your quiz result!

    i wanted to look for more songs but unforunately i couldn’t find the nice, classic ones. maybe next year! 🙂

  5. Happy Chinese New Year to you Sulz! I wasn’t supposed to do the CNY quiz, was I? 😛

    sulz: thank you! 🙂 hey, why not? you can learn from my culture… and perhaps your future girlfriend’s. 😉 (you never know!)

  6. My mother always says I’ll have a chinese girlfriend because they tend not to be very tall and since I’m not very tall myself so there’s high probability of me having a chinese/japanese/malaysian girlfriend. Blondes I can’t even think about because a) they’re naturally tall and b) they love wearing those scary heely shoes. 😛

    I got only four correct btw. But hey, that’s not bad for starters.

    sulz: well, whoever the girl, i hope you both will be happy and in love. 🙂 and hey, so what if she’s taller? as long as you both are fine with that. 😉

    good, the more wrong you got, the more you learn. 😛

  7. Ooh, so close! I got one wrong. Who knew that “charming” was a trait of the rat? That’s not the Western view of rats at all! o_0; I admit I guessed a couple of the others, but they were educated guesses, based on what I know of China.

    There is no Chinatown in my area,since I live in the English countryside, and there aren’t many Chinese people in the area. I’ve seen lion dances live at folk festivals – I found them very spectacular – but I’ve never seen a dragon dance. And I’m absolutely hopeless with chopsticks!

    I’d not heard those new year songs before. Cool, if the arrangements were a little cheesy! 🙂

    sulz: haha, well, i’m sure a love rat was charming before he became one. 😉 i myself have not seen a dragon dance too – lion dances are more common here for some reason. i’m pretty hopeless with chopsticks too considering i’m chinese, but i’ve stopped being embarrassed a long time ago, haha.

    i know! that’s why i prefer xmas carols, the arrangements are much better.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

