blogging gobbledygook and such

Last weekend, I spent the whole day playing tourist in my hometown. And since most of you (my readers) have not been to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, I’m sure you’ll love to relive my tour with me. Hopefully my trip will make you feel like visiting my country too! πŸ™‚

My day started very early, eight in the morning. It was raining too, so it didn’t feel like a good day to be out and visiting KL. But for us – Angel, Sesat and myself – it was quite good actually because the whole day was quite cool. If it were a sunny day, it would’ve been sweltering hot and humid. (I was sweating at some points of the tour despite the coolness of the day because of my hyperhidrosis, so imagined if it didn’t rain…)

We got a ride to the LRT station from Sesat’s dad, and within half an hour we reached the KLCC station, which is right at Suria KLCC, the shopping mall under the KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Centre), otherwise known as the Petronas Twin Towers. Most shops only open at 10, but we had to be there early because tickets to the skybridge is free but limited. So even though we got to the counter around 9 something, our slot to visit the skybridge was at half past twelve. So while we waited until then, we had breakfast at Delifrance, which is a local cafe despite the Franco connotations. Then, we walked around the mall for a bit while waiting for the rain to stop. When it finally did, we went to KLCC Park for pictures.

KLCC Park

img_1873.jpg
View of the towers from the top floor of the mall. See the skybridge? That’s where we were going later!

img_1876.jpg
View of the towers from outside the mall, at KLCC Park

img_1878.jpg
Partial view of KLCC Park. The building in between the greenery is the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, and where the Aquaria is (housing lots of underwater species but is terribly pricey and not worth it, or so my friends tell me).

img_1881.jpg
A drinking fountain at the park

img_1882.jpg
The children’s playground at the park. It’s the hugest I’ve ever seen… I’m not a kid and even I want to play on them.

img_1888.jpg
And near the children’s playground is the wading pool… I want to jump in there!

If you ever come to Kuala Lumpur you must visit KLCC and KLCC Park. I haven’t been to many parks, so this was the most amazing one to me. And since it was a cool morning, it really felt like I was in a different country altogether. I’d love to walk in this park one day, at seven in the morning, while it’s still cool and the sun just rising, hand-in-hand with a cute guy… πŸ˜‰

The Petronas Twin Towers Skybridge Tour

img_1890.jpg
View of the skybridge from the entrance

img_1894.jpg
Aerial view of KLCC Park from the skybridge

img_1895.jpg
View of Eye on Malaysia from the skybridge. See the Ferris wheel-like thing? That’s where we were going next.

The before and after of the visit to the skybridge was longer than the visit itself. We were only allowed up at the skybridge for 10 minutes! Still, it wasn’t as if there were much to do there besides enjoying the view and taking pictures. That said, it’s a wonderful experience, and since it’s free, all the more you should take advantage and make a visit up here. Before the visit, we had to wait for a bit, watch a presentation before getting our bags scanned and go up the super-quick elevator (1 floor per second – took us only 41 seconds to reach the 41st floor!). After the visit, there were some interactive games in a room, like brain teasers and stuff related to our visit to the skybridge. There was one where it measure your height when you step on the platform, then calculates how many times your height it takes to equate the height of the towers. I am apparently 1.52 metres, and it takes 295 times my height to equate the towers’ height! It also measures your height and equate it with other famous towers, like the Sears Tower and Eiffel Tower.

Eye On Malaysia

img_1902.jpg
View of the Ferris wheel

img_1905.jpg
View of the Ferris wheel from inside one of the cabins – ours was number 25

img_1907.jpg
View of the Twin Towers, KL Tower and the blue-roofed National Theatre from inside the Ferris Wheel

The Eye of Malaysia was a disappointing experience because the view was lousy, especially after having just been on the skybridge with its comparably better views. And for RM15 for a 15-minute ride on the Ferris wheel, it was definitely not worth it since the skybridge was free. Well, we only went for the experience, since it will be dismantled after 31st August this year. The wheel was built for the Visit Malaysia Year 2007 campaign, and it was a better experience then since there were laser shows and stuff going at night daily last year.

Central Market

img_1916.jpg
View of the building from the parking lot

img_1914.jpg
Batik everywhere – see those colourful cloths? Every other stall was selling batik clothes

img_1912.jpg
This is an angklung performance – my first time seeing this Kelantanese instrument. It was beautiful.

img_1909.jpg img_1910.jpg
These pictures have more information about the angklung

This was my first time to Central Market and it was better than I expected. Most of the stalls sold the same type of handicrafts – if it wasn’t batik, it’s hand-painted keychains or mugs (you can customise it then and there, put your name or a friend’s on the item) or t-shirts. The angklung performance made up for it though.

A post about Central MarketΒ 

Phew, there you go! My tiring day as a tourist in my hometown. After Central Market, we went to Chinatown for a bit, but nothing to talk about because I didn’t take any pictures and it rained when we were there so it was a miserable affair. We took the train back home but stopped by the mall for dinner first.

We took taxis to the Eye On Malaysia and Central Market, and we were very lucky to find taxi drivers willing to use the meter. When we wanted to get to Eye on Malaysia from KLCC, the drivers who refused to use the meter quoted a fare of RM15, citing the traffic jam as a reason for the high fare. When we found one who was willing to use the meter, he estimated the fare to be around RM8 (almost less than half of those bloody touts!), but when we reached there, the meter only showed RM5.50 (so it’s really one-third of the fare the touts quoted, and even then there was a short jam on the way there!!). He was most friendly and chatted with us all the way there too. The taxi from Eye On Malaysia to Central Market was a bit more but that was according to the meter, so it was very fair. So remember, when you come down here, always insist on the drivers to use the meter before you sit in the taxi!

Writing this post, I know I’m not cut out to be a travel writer, but I hope the pictures are enough to make you want to visit my lovely country. This is just the city; the islands are like paradise on earth… Hopefully I will visit them one day soon and tell you about it. πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Pelancong Sehari (Tourist For A Day)" (22)

  1. Wow, the pictures are amazing. They just make me wanna get on a plane and just go to the Petronas towers right away. They look beautiful.

    I’ve had a lot of people telling me that Kuala Lumpur is a really beautiful city now, must make sure I visit it before I die. I wonder if I’ll ever have that kind of money though. Maybe you can sponsor me or something? πŸ˜›

    And to top it all, India won the under-19 cricket World Cup. And it was in Kuala Lumpur. Did you hear about it at all?

    And taxi drivers are the same in all the asian countries. They aren’t willing to use meters here either. Last time, when I had gone to Delhi, I managed to sit in two most amazing autorickshaws. They are fairly common in India. One of the autorickshaws had complete white curtains, white seats and even white padding. It was amazingly neat and clean. And the driver was wearing white clothes as well and was a really happy kind of a guy. He said that his original business was something else but he drove an autorickshaw so he could meet people and drive around the city and marvel about it. When we tried to pay him a little more for the joyride that he made us have, he refused. He said that it was a pleasure that he got to drive for us and have a ride around the city with us. I was really happy. When you meet such people, it always brings a smile on your face.

    The second autorickshaw was red from the inside and was adorned with pictures of Ferrari’s. Too bad I didn’t have a camera with me, it was really worth seeing. Actually, I did have a cameraphone but I didn’t figure it out then. I was drunk. πŸ˜›

    sulz: haha, i need a sponsor to get out of my country myself! πŸ˜› i think it’s pretty cheap to travel here, compared to the other major asian cities like singapore, hong kong and tokyo. i’m sure we’d both have opportunities to visit each other’s countries one day, cross fingers!

    err, i don’t follow cricket so i didn’t anything about that. πŸ˜› i don’t know how cricket works!

    are autorickshaw like tuk-tuks in thailand? they sound interesting! haha, what were you doing in the autorickshaw drunk? πŸ˜‰ and yes, i felt the same way with the taxi drivers we were lucky to catch.

  2. Wonderful pictures, Sulz. The Petronas towers are freakin’ modern wonders. I simply must get to Asia someday, and I don’t just mean one part of it. I want to see all of it.

    Mental note: be sure to have taxis turn on meters. Got it. I’d never have known that.

    I wonder if the folks in that skywalk photo have any idea they are sharing space with a world famous blogger? πŸ™‚

    sulz: thanks! yes you must, and you know where your first stop has to be. πŸ˜‰ hehe, travel tip of the day for you there now!

    haha, i don’t know if i’m world famous! wordpress forums famous maybe. πŸ˜›

  3. Your pictures make me want to go back to KL – the Petronas tower was still being built when we were there. My wife and I enjoyed what little we saw of the city. We stayed at the Istana – is it still there? I ask because the hotel in Hong Kong where we first spent the night together has since been torn down for redevelopment.

    sulz: do come back if you can! πŸ™‚ hotel istana? i’m pretty sure it’s around… one of the top hotels here!

  4. I was just about to write that you would make a great travel writer, when I got the end of your post and read your disclaimer about that. Oh well, I still think so! You talk about your daytrip in a very personal way that I much enjoyed. KL is indeed a beautiful city, and you showed it off to the rest of the world very well in your photos and writing. Thanks for taking pictures of the angklung. I had heard other kinds of gamelan but had not seen anything like this! I want to come over there and walk on the skybridge and see the view!

    sulz: haha! i think it sounds like letter-writing more than travel-writing; i don’t quite know how to capture the emotions i felt when i experienced those places. when i saw the angklung i thought of you. πŸ˜‰ hmm, now i wished i remembered to ask my friend record the video of the man playing! yes, do come, it’s wonderful! although a bit short. but hey, it’s free. πŸ˜›

  5. Thank you for sharing your city with us. Were you showing friends around from overseas or the country or just enjoying the beauty? While shopping and walking around Sydney I often have to remember not to stop and gawk as there are so many beautiful buildings and sights.We have to be especially careful not to gawk at the monorail as it goes over our heads while crossing the road when we are shopping in the city.

    Sulz dear I am of a certain age where hyperhydrosis or as I prefer to call it…sweating like a stuck pig….is a rite of passage and even though we have hot humid summers so much of our clothing industry is using man made fibres. So I have gone back to sewing a lot of my clothes, so if you see any nice cotton batiks or silks I could run you up a few things. Are clothes very expensive over there…natural fibre ones I mean?You could post your measurements here I am sure Ish and the like wouldn’t mind at all!

    sulz: you’re most welcome! πŸ™‚ nope, just locals who haven’t seen the local sights! haha, you’re exaggerating about being a hillbilly!

    hahaha, sweating like a stuck pig – that describes me exactly sometimes! wow, you can sew clothes? amazing! oh, materials are quite cheap here if you know the right place to buy them from. i’d post my measurements, except i’m not too sure what it is, and it’s not something to be proud of! πŸ˜›

  6. Fingers crossed, totally.

    I know Cricket isn’t huge in Malaysia. But I just asked you since it was a big match so I thought you might have heard about it on TV or from somebody. It’s almost a religion back here in India.

    Yep, autorickshaw’s are tuk tuk’s. What was I doing drunk in an autorickshaw is a good question. Actually I’d gone to one of these restaurants with my mum’s sister who lives in Delhi. So we drank, and we drank and we drank till the time we couldn’t think straight. We didn’t have any conveyance so we had to go home by an autorickshaw. Hence, the being drunk. πŸ˜›

    sulz: ah, i know cricket’s very huge in india and australia, i think. your mum’s sister, couldn’t you just said your aunt? πŸ˜‰

  7. Alternately you could email them to me!

    sulz: haha, will keep that in mind. πŸ˜‰

  8. Hi Sulz,
    I was actually planning to go there last weekend but the weather didn’t agree with us. I live in Singapore and have been itching to go do some short holiday to Malaysia since it is so near…just a couple of hours drive…

    Taxi drivers in asia are not very unique ha,think tey went to the same school. They always use traffic jam excuse charging way too much….they are like that in Manila as well.
    Anyway, i hope the weather behaves soon. Thanks for sharing tips…have you been to Melaka? I am thinking of going there as well and maybe combine it with KL.

    Cheers!

    sulz: oh you must make time to come then! you won’t regret it. there’s also the petrosains (interactive science discovery centre that is very interesting for all ages) and kl tower, which we didn’t visit.

    oh, i’ve just been to malacca a few weeks ago and the food is freaking awesome! you must make room for a trip there too because you will not regret it. must-try dishes are satay celup, chicken rice balls and nyonya cuisine. πŸ˜€

  9. I could have said aunt but that sounds too general and impersonal. We have a specific term for every religion in India and I like it that way. I mean, Aunt could be anybody. We call all the elderly ladies Aunts. Hence I prefer mentioning the exact relation.

    sulz: oh yeah, we call non-related elders uncle and auntie here too. an asian thing, perhaps? πŸ™‚

  10. Those are great pictures! I would really like to visit Malaysia one day and go to those places you mentioned.

    Very impressive.

    sulz: one day, hopefully! πŸ™‚ thank you.

  11. After I read your post, I was curious what the angklung sounds like. So, I found this YouTube of the Angklung orchestra from Hamburg! Hmmm. I wonder if Ian from Hamburg knows about them?

    sulz: yeah, it sounded like that! except that he played with music accompaniment. he played my heart will go on and some other songs, haha.

  12. Thanks for the pictures and the narrative they were both fascinating. I especially liked the picture of the fountain. I like the way they included architecture into the design of a drinking fountain. Sometimes we think of all the great places to visit around the world and forget that there are great places to visit within short distances of our very front doors. I seem to remember seeing episodes of Anthony Bourdain and Andrew Zimmerman visiting Kuala Lumpur on their TV shows. But this was nicer, like sort of a personal tour of the town.

    sulz: i’m glad you like it! πŸ™‚ yeah, i like the picture of the fountain, too bad i didn’t realise the people were caught in the photo, haha. i know, i can’t believe how many times i’ve been to the mall but it’s only the first time i’ve been to the park and i wish i went there sooner.

  13. Iono. I thought Auntie was a worldwide thing.

    sulz: is it? i haven’t called a caucasian woman auntie before. πŸ˜›

  14. I remembered that we were supposed to go to KLCC, but that fell to the side, leaving us to travel to the malls in J.B instead. I was quite surprised that we didn’t go to the mall of my childhood: Plaza Pelanggi.

    sulz: well, i’m sure you will get another chance to return to your kampung and hopefully you get to visit the skybridge then. πŸ™‚ i haven’t been to johor before, what’s there to visit if i ever go there?

  15. Neither have I. And I’ve not seen it happen in the movies either. Maybe they are different. Most of ’em call their parents by their names anyway. I can’t imagine that happening in Asia for one.

    sulz: you could start the trend with your own kids one day. πŸ˜‰

  16. kraftymiles said:

    It’s been AGES since I’ve been to KL and I’ve no excuse really. Friends in JB have now moved there, so I must get round to it again some time soon.

    TFS
    Nick

    sulz: tfs? i hope you can make time to visit kl soon, you won’t regret it! πŸ™‚

  17. I’m not really fond of that trend. I’d rather prefer them calling me dad. πŸ˜›

    sulz: haha, an old-fashioned at heart lah. πŸ˜‰

  18. Nice Post. And the pics are cool. Petronas towers are something everyone should visit once. And the Auto drivers are like this everwhere. I used to think that Delhi Autodrivers are the worst but after my experiences in Chennai, I think they are supercool. πŸ™‚
    I didn’t knew there was an “Eye of Malasia” too. I guess it was raining when you took the picture??

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚ i think taxi drivers are all the same around the world. the eye on malaysia will only run until 31st august this year though, or so it says (it said it would run until 31st december 2007 but extended the period now). it wasn’t raining, but i think it was before we arrived, heh.

  19. […] Trip Facts Author: Dinesh Babu Puri Trip Author: Reema Barcelona in Christmas 2007 Author: Shefaly Pelancong Sehari: Tourist for a Day Author: […]

  20. […] Author: Reema Barcelona in Christmas 2007 Author: Shefaly To Nepal and Back part 1 Author: Nomad Pelancong Sehari: Tourist for a Day Author: Sulz Cote-d’Azur: French Riviera Author: Nomad My Kumbakonam Trip Author: Arvind […]

  21. […] decided after a while that we’d go to Petrosains at Suria KLCC. I’ve said it before in my other KL trip and I’ll say it again, don’t get into a taxi if the driver refuses to use the meter! […]

  22. […] And yet another related post […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

