blogging gobbledygook and such

I once said that if there were any religion I would embrace, it would be Christianity simply because it’s the one I am most familiar with. If one were to also deduce, then one might come up with the question: if you’re familiar with Christianity, what had happened that you don’t want to embrace the religion now?

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Comments on: "Something I Wanted To Talk About A Long Time Ago" (14)

  1. in a mutshell, too much blood on its hands.

    <sulz: um, i don’t quite get your point?

  2. “if you’re familiar with Christianity, what had happened that you don’t want to embrace the religion now?”

    oo… a question i can’t help but to answer.

    mine had nothing to do with relationships. it was a matter of epistemological issues i found disturbing. going to university and engaging in debates made me see the light of how irrational and illogical religions are.

    to cut the story short, i ditched the ideology and ‘faith’ and embraced emancipation of thought.

    i still attend church if my mum’s around to appease her.

    sulz: well, even when i attended the youth group, i couldn’t commit because i wasn’t quite convinced. that’s why i left lor… haha, i can understand that. i think the only time i would ever attend a church voluntarily if it’s a funeral of someone very close to me… otherwise, i think i would be very reluctant. i know it’s stupid since going to a church does not mean anything; i guess i’m so obstinate to the point that i want to dissociate myself from something i feel strongly about as much as i can. i still celebrate xmas though. πŸ˜› (but xmas is proven to not to be a christian festival, and even a christian friend confirms this and had presented about this issue in class as an assignment.)

  3. lovelyloey said:

    Thanks for sharing your story.
    I was a Yes-and-Amen Christian a couple of years ago and I can understand when you said someone was close to you as a friend for evangelistic purposes. Sad to say, that happens, and I’ve seen it happen to many times.
    I think many Christians I know are fundamentally blinded by their faith; which I feel is the greatest thing that can happen to any Christian, to full truly accept their religion without doubt to the state whereby Christ is their life.
    But when they start to judge other people based on their Christian values, and to treat every single non-believer as a soul to save, that’s when I lose respect for them. Religion is fundamentally a social construct, nothing more.

    sulz: thanks for reading all through six pages! πŸ˜›

    yeah, faith is an awesome thing to have. if you have faith in someone and you know how good that feels, i think having faith in a power (believed to be) higher than us would be much more fulfilling. and yes, i don’t quite like the concept of evangelism because in most cases you’re just befriending people for the purpose of saving their souls.

    this one’s a pretty painful memory for me, i’m glad i finally got it out. hopefully i can move on. πŸ™‚

  4. Question: what had happened that you don’t want to embrace the religion now?

    IMHO the teachings of Jesus of Nazareth which include 57 “love one another and love and pray for your enemies as you love yourself” (I’m paraphrasing) commandment examples that can be found in the New Testament have integrity.

    IMHO all of the Christian religious institutions have tossed those teachings in the garbage. For 2 millenia the so-called followers of Jesus have ignored what he taught, manipulated the interpretation of scripture, used the Old Testament Judaic teachings as means to divide, conquer and even kill their own fellow believers, as well as other people they consider to be “enemies”.

    The irony and the SIN is that Jesus did not consider any man, woman or child to be enemies. I assure you that one does not have to belong to a “church” to be a follower of Jesus. And, I’m hopeful that you would be so naive as to be attracted to the idea of becoming one with the mammon worshippers, racists, bigots, hypocrites and child molesters that are found in leadership positions in the Christian churches these days.

    BTW I am a bible school graduate who chose to leave divinity school. So, if any zealot wants to play scripture tag – get ready for me to ROCK your world.

    sulz: “… I’m hopeful that you would be so naive…” knowing you the way i do and according to the tone of your comment, i think you left a ‘not’ there, right? πŸ˜‰

    well, i don’t think i know much about the bible or christianity, but what i do now always leaves me with questions and doubts that i cannot find answers to. maybe it’s the cynic in me picking, maybe it’s only logical to be questioning like that. maybe you’re right, that it’s the institution that’s the problem. i would definitely subscribe to the idea of being a follower without having to congregate (should i so be inclined in future), but i’ve heard that the bible encourages fellow christians to congregate, hence the need for church.

    be my guest, all zealots are for your dessert. πŸ˜›

  5. P.S. The correct interpretation of the text makes it clear that the “church” is the people and not a building or an institution.

  6. I know all to well about being befriended for the sake of “saving my soul”. My family used to consider themselves Roman Catholic, but we used to only go to church on Christmas and Easter. Recently my mom has started bible studies, we still don’t consider ourselves christians or catholics, but I do believe in god, and try to live a fair and honest life. I think when I was younger I rejected religion, of all kinds, for the same reason my mom did. She was afraid of being brain washed.

    I’m sorry to hear about what your friends posted on their blogs, especially using your real name. I know you wont confront them about it, but perhaps if you explain your view of the situation to them in the same manner that you did to us the tension can be released.

    sulz: i guess what goes around comes around, eh? πŸ˜‰ those were written several years ago though, so i don’t want to resurrect past bads. i believe in the existence of god, and i have my own personal values and principles. as long as i am a good person, my conscience is clear and i am happy with myself, and i hope that god would be too.

  7. interesting perspective! religion/christianity always seem to be a controversial topic that never seems to have an end. i am a Christian myself, but perhaps one that understands both sides of the seperating line…

    thanks for the comment btw!

    sulz: you’re right, it never ends because everybody has their own opinion and there’s no right or wrong in this! thanks for not judging me for what i have written here. πŸ™‚

    you’re welcome; those pictures really are gorgeous!

  8. I think you’re not a Christian just because you’re not one! Think of the times even before you had problems with your friends, you still didn’t feel like embracing the whole thing. The rest just came along.

    I have one very devoted Christian friend who is also pretty open to different beliefs, he has not once tried to bring me into his church, never questioned my atheism, we make jokes about each other and it stays very… um, healthy, I guess. But he’s the only person I’m able to do that with. With the rest I’ve had problems, always.

    Most religions live on the basis that they own the absolute truth and everything outside it is wrong or lost. It’s hard for a person who lives inside that world to be open minded, at least when it comes to religion.

    If much is me who has acted irrationally to break those friendships many times. I just can’t stand the patronizing way some of them talk about atheists. “They’re just lost and must find their way back” and all that, using real weaknesess and associating them all with the lack of spirituality. When it happens, several veins pop on my forehead and I stop being nice and open on that moment.

    sulz: haha, i guess you’re right. in a way i’m sorta making these bad experiences to do with why i’m not a christian, but in a way they do contribute to the reason why i’m not. it’s like you hate pumpkin pie, but add some really horrible experiences with it, all the more you want to stay away from it, you know?

    but yeah, i really don’t like how religion is deemed the absolute truth and if you’re not christian, you’re like doomed or something. i remember asking in youth group what happens to people who don’t embrace christianity simply because they are not exposed to the religion? the answer i got was something along the lines of they’d go to heaven, but those who were given the chance to know about the religion (eg. approach by evangelising friends etc) but refused wouldn’t. absolute tosh!

  9. Sulz, how you make your posts do that! Splitting into pages?

    sulz: i use this tag [!–nextpage–] (replace the square brackets with the arrow-ish keys above the comma and full stop). πŸ™‚ don’t forget to put it in the editor in code mode, not visual mode.

  10. […] got inspired by this paragraph at Sulz’s referring to an old friend of […]

  11. Thank you!

    sulz: haha, you’re welcome. πŸ™‚

  12. Well, allow me to try and offset some of those experiences by being a good christian-friend. I do believe, and believe strongly, but converting people is not my calling. Especially not in a free-thinking society. Folks need to challenge themselves and come up with their own answers. Live and let live, all that good stuff.

    Taking monotheism to it’s absolute extreme is never a good idea and has been the basis of all sorts of violence and persecutions against the masses for as long as the idea has been around.

    My suspiciion is that all people can be equally intolerant, regardless of whether they are religious or not, but that this intolerance will only manifest itself with respect to religion amongst those that claim vestige in an established faith. Others will just find something else (age, sex, race, accent, nationality, neighborhood/town, etc) to judge about you.

    Hopefully that makes sense. It’s early here. My darn computer has been running a virus check for 5 hours!

    Hope your schoolwork goes okay. Reading your posts brings me back to the fears of my brief yet formative college years. I recall vividly staring in horror at blank pieces of paper mere hours before full reports were due.

    Overall my attitude was largely Jeffrey Lebowski like. “F-it, dude – let’s go bowling!”

    You only live once. : )

    I’ll stop now. I’m such a bad influence.

    sulz: oh my, are you always that thoughtful early in the morning? or maybe your 5-hour computer virus check made you philosophical about life, haha! but speaking from a non-christian point of view, i definitely don’t take to evangelism because a christian shouldn’t take it upon himself or herself the responsibility of my salvation – that’s a decision and a choice for me to make. and by encouraging me to attend church or pray with me feels like lame attempts of trying to get me to get to know god better.

    you describe my college work process perfectly! as well as my own college work ethic! i never turn down fun to finish college homework, never… as you said, you only live once, and once i start working i can’t afford to play hooky like that anymore. so, you aren’t a bad influence because i’ve been practicing it myself too! πŸ˜›

  13. […] when I was sixteen, I went through a self-imposed exile from people I used to be friends with; here’s an example. Of the people I left behind, he was one of those who stuck in my mind, and I […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

