blogging gobbledygook and such

I have this most awful habit of not letting things go. If I want to, I can keep a grudge forever, even though I know it’s wrong. Then, on the other extreme of things, I can go on fighting with someone because I’m so hung up about whatever issues I have with the other person. The verbal sparring would only end if the other person surrenders, or if the other person attacks me until I’m cornered, to which I will then storm away to my room, sob my heart out and replay the fight, highlighting the hurtful words hurled at me until I believe it and it usually ends up with me feeling like the fucking biggest failure in the world and I’ll cry myself to sleep.

Well, today I fought with someone, and basically the same thing happened, except that I couldn’t sob my heart out in my room because I had to go to class. So my gloominess spilled over in class, and I was a very sullen student. After class, I went for lunch with a couple of friends, but I was still a little hung up over my fight.

We had lunch at Finnegan’s, and damn, that was like the freaking best set lunch ever. One selected main dish, soup and salad, and freeflow drinks, for only RM13 nett. Which means including tax. R freaking M 13, that’s like around USD$5. Normally a set lunch in this sorta places you’ve got to pay about RM20. I ate grilled chicken chop, with mashed potatoes and vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower and carrots), and my friend had pork cutlet with rice and a bulls-eye egg. I don’t usually like pork, but damn, my friend’s pork cutlet was good! The soup was potato and leek, and damn that was good. For the salad I took some coleslaw, leafy veggies and potato salad, and damn, I don’t usually like potato salad but those were awesome! The potato didn’t have that not-quite-cooked taste potato salads usually have… damn, that was a freaking delicious and cheap lunch!!

After lunch, my friend and I was raving about our set lunch (my other friend had something else from the menu) all the way back to our next class. It was that point I realised I had totally forgotten about this morning’s fight and when I did recall that, I didn’t feel down at all, like the world would end, like I usually feel when I remember my latest fight. And it really wasn’t a big deal as I made it out to be, because the person was magnanimous enough to let things go even though I said some really awful words. (Another magnanimous person is Dee. I could say the rudest things to him, and he’d scold me back, and I’d scold him right back, and an hour later he could talk to me like we never fought. I’m bad, but I love my Dee for that.)

So yeah, I didn’t know a good meal could put things into perspective.

Comments on: "The Wonders of a Good Meal" (10)

  1. that is so true, food, especially when people gather together to eat, always puts things into perspective.

    sulz: personal experience, huh? πŸ™‚ i should eat out more often from now on, haha… if my purse can stand the abusing. πŸ˜›

  2. Damn, that was a good post, sulz πŸ˜‰ Seriously, I think you demonstrated Feel Good Principle #1: When something is distressing you, find something that gives you pleasure, and think about that instead. You are like me, I think good food is about the best thing there is. We just have to remember to stop eating before we get whale-sized, though. πŸ™‚
    You picked the right day. I’ll bet Finnegan’s was crowded on St. Patrick’s Day.

    sulz: haha! i don’t know why it took me this long to know this feel-good trick. well, since it was a set lunch, i couldn’t take more than i’d like πŸ˜› but it was filling enough, even though the portion is slightly smaller than your usual set lunch (because they’re pricier).

    oh, i think st patrick’s day was on tuesday? we had lunch yesterday, which was a wednesday. anyway, the place was not crowded, just some expats around. i think the crowd comes in at night after dinner, in for a pint o’ guinness… πŸ˜€

  3. That never works for me. When I’m in a bad mood everything turns to ash in my mouth. However, the one thing that always manages to lift my spirits is music. When I’m sad or angry I just listen to music. Always works. ;p

    And US$5? Damn, that’s cheap.

    sulz: i’m not a music person so that wouldn’t work for me. however, i’m very much a food person. πŸ˜›

    heh, told ja! i’m still excited about how good and cheap it was. :mrgreen:

  4. Actually eating food is a very common stressbuster for many. πŸ™‚

    And I have also tagged you here: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2008/03/20/movie-quirks-meme/

    sulz: i think the trick is to find good food and great value, with friends. somehow i doubt if i’ll feel as better than if i did all that by myself. but like museditions said, i should watch what i eat… or maybe i should try not to get stressed so easily! haha.

    i know. i’ve written the post already! i’m a bot. :mrgreen:

  5. museditions is right, no point getting stressed so easily. But who am I to say that to you, I get very stressed quarreling with some specific people. At that time, negativity rules my life. 😦

    You have already written the post. Must say you are FAST! πŸ™‚

    sulz: we’ve all gone through that, but it’s easier said than done, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰ hehe… i’m a bot, remember! πŸ˜› it’ll only be published a bit later though.

  6. yes, personal experience. I find a combination of food and music (i.e chocolate and the smiths) fixes most of my daily drama.

    sulz: i wonder why therapy doesn’t incorporate music and food. haha!

  7. Glad you found a way to play down all those intense feelings and calm down.

    I have to say I tend to be more like your Dee. I can be trashed down and hurt, and next thing I know my mind is somewhere else, and if the person in question is nice to me again, I will act like nothing has happened.

    It’s not always that good, because this has made people abuse my forgetting abilities and try to pass over me repeatedly. I’ve had to conciously, try to remember the offenses so I can stop them on time.

    sulz: even though i keep grudges, i occasionally have the same problem about remembering offenses. on one hand, maybe that’s good ‘cos you won’t be so calculating. on the other hand, as you’ve said, people will take for granted that you’re not mad just because you didn’t voice them out.

  8. You should keep chocolate close by. Nothing calms you down better than a fine grade of Belgian chocolate bar that you let slowly melt in your mouth.

    sulz: the problem with fine belgian chocolates is that they’re never close by when you really need them ‘cos they’re too irresistible when you don’t need them! πŸ˜› and i don’t have the money to buy such fine things all the time.

  9. You need a WalMart. I go into WalMart and buy the large generic WalMart/Sams Belgian Chocolate bar for less than $2 US dollars and that is enough chocolate for two or three people.

    sulz: haha, maybe it’s good i don’t have a wal-mart. i’d be a very fat pig eating all the good cheap chocolate! :mrgreen: i really can’t resist good chocolate, more so if it’s cheap.

  10. for me it depends on who the fight was with. If it was someone within my “circle of trust” – like a really good friend, family member, or loved one – than I’m much like you and can’t let it go. My biggest problem with that is that I can’t let things go UNTIL I win – even if I know I’m wrong.

    If it’s just some casual friend or acquaintance it doesn’t bother me.

    Glad to hear the food was good! πŸ™‚

    sulz: i think i’m like that, that’s not good, is it? 😦

    yes, it was! really hoping to go again this week, heh. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

