blogging gobbledygook and such

Surprise!

So! Do you like my new skin? It’s called City Slicker, as it says at the header (and I think it’s so cute that the heart changes colour every second or so). I think it’s a huge change from Bus Full of Hippies. It’s a little childish, but I think it’s such a cheery theme, despite the black. Looking at it just makes me smile. πŸ™‚

My CSS upgrade this time is thanks to Juan (previously Mark gave me the upgrade), who’s also ported the skin to Sandbox for me. He was awesome in accommodating some creative changes I wanted to do to the skin – compare this to the original here. (Previously, I used a skin called The Hobbit, which he ported to Sandbox as well. And even more previously, I’ve used skins called Biology and Greenery.) What I really like is my snazzy new admin bar. I don’t know, it just looks really good to me. Thank you so much, Juan!!! πŸ˜€ *hugs*

Now, you’re probably wondering why is he so generous with me. I mean, USD$15 is a lot of money to spend on someone you only know online; it’s about RM50 and that could buy you… 5 McDonald’s McValue Meals? A good, branded t-shirt? A couple of paperback novels? Well, anyway, you get the idea. The reason he is so generous with me is because…

We’re going to do a little blogging project together! However, as we’re both busy at the moment, we have yet to start on it. But yes, this is a blogging project he came up with, and I agreed to create the content, while he does the programming bit. Trust me, this is awesome… this is better than my previous blogging projects, I dare say. So watch this space. πŸ˜‰

So, again, do you like my new skin? You can be honest, don’t worry. I think it’s a sort of theme that you will either love or hate it at first sight. If you love it, awesome, I’m glad to make your visiting experience a little more colourful than the other wp.com blogs. If you don’t, well… you could subscribe to my feed to avoid hurting your eyes with all the colour, which is just awesome too! πŸ˜€

ps. Poonam, you were right. πŸ˜‰

Comments on: "Surprise!" (26)

  1. It looks awesome!

    Thanks for the link to me blog, it wasn’t necessary, but it’s very much appreciated. πŸ˜€

    sulz: that’s the least i could do since you ported such an awesome skin for me! πŸ™‚

  2. I love it! Bravo to Juan…and use it in good health, sulz.

    sulz: i’m glad you love it! πŸ˜€ yeah, he did a fantastic job. i’m feeling much better now, though not totally healthy, thanks. πŸ™‚

  3. Wow it is bright….maybe it will work as my fix of sunshine for the day so I don’t have to go outside at all until after dark. Waiting to hear about the project impatiently.

    sulz: it is, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ it just makes me feel cheery looking at it. i’m sorry, but the project will take some time, since i have my exams in april! it would only be out in may or june, i should think. patience! πŸ™‚

  4. I love it! I’m not one for bright colors so that means a lot… what is this fascinating new project, I must know more….. you know how impatient I am. πŸ™‚

    sulz: glad it meets your standard. πŸ˜‰ oh you’ll love it… you’ll probably participate in it again and again because it’s fun like that! that’s all i’m going to say. πŸ˜› patience, as i told magik quilter, it would only be out in may or june.

  5. I like your new blog scheme much better than the last one. I think the black background is awesome. It makes the type stand out.

    sulz: hah, i thought you wouldn’t like it ‘cos of all the colours. yeah, i love the white text on black background! i made that change from the original theme. glad you like it. πŸ™‚

  6. OMG OMG OMG, it’s sexy, really very sexy. And the Admin bar is just beyond the earth.

    Makes me very happy to see sulz back in her dresses(not literally, I would have preferred you nude if it was like that πŸ˜› ) . And nobody creates infections like you do. Now I wanna know what the new project is all about! πŸ˜€

    sulz: haha, i thought it was cheery than sexy! but hey, whatever works. πŸ˜‰ i know, i freaking love the admin bar.

    oi. *slaps your head* πŸ˜€ yeah, great dress this is. hehe… you’ll love our project, i know. πŸ˜‰

  7. Back in October I had the black and orange scheme WP was offering. It had kind of a Halloween look to it. πŸ˜‰ I like this new look. I ain’t exactly crazy about the rainbow but I like the overall look really well!

    sulz: well this has the halloween colours, but i don’t think it feels like it! πŸ™‚ actually, it’s the rainbow that got to me. πŸ˜›

  8. Juan is a genius and a sweetheart as well. Is “blogging project” a euphemism???

    I think this looks awesome, and very, very sulz. You might want to get a button or badge instead of the One banner, though, because without walls to anchor it, it looks kinda funny just hanging there.

    sulz: he is! euphemism for what? we are doing a blogging project. and you’ll freaking love it.

    i know, so me! πŸ™‚ i’m leaving the one.org banner there because i like that it twirls. πŸ˜›

  9. now I really want to know more…. but i guess I can wait, either that or I’ll explode with excitement. πŸ˜€

    sulz: haha, don’t! i need you to participate in it. πŸ™‚

  10. okay, i’ll try not to. by the way, i didn’t know if i should send you a trackback or something but you won the Your Life In Letters contest for March. check out my new post for the screen shots of your prize!

    sulz: wow, awesome! thank you! well, you don’t have to, since this works like a trackback anyway. πŸ™‚

  11. Yes, the changes you requested for the original theme are certainly better. And I knew I was right when you chose not to answer that part of the comment. That was not like you at all. πŸ™‚

    Well, congratulations for the new upgrade. πŸ™‚

    sulz: thanks! haha, yeah i’m kinda predictable.

  12. This theme is SO sexy, I’m jealous… So Jealous.

    And curious! Blog projects! Girl, I love your blog more everyday.

    Also, the original skin is nowhere as good as it looks now, in your blog.

    And again, Jealous! I hate you Sulz. Why do you make me jealous?

    πŸ˜€

    sulz: hmm, i never thought of the theme as sexy, but cheery! but i guess cheery can be a kind of sexiness. πŸ˜› oh, you just love my blog? what about me then? 😦 haha, i’m kidding! πŸ˜€

    thank you for your jealousy! hahaha…

  13. Totally awesome. I love it. Juan rocks!

    And you’re right, it’s very cheery and happy. You see it, and you can’t help but smile.

    sulz: thanks! yesh, he rocksh. πŸ˜€

    good, that’s what i hope people will do when they think of me or me blog. πŸ™‚

  14. lovelyloey said:

    I LOVE YOUR NEW SKIN!!!!!!
    The orange goes very nicely with the black and the rainbow. πŸ˜€ (Your rainbow lacks blue hor.)

    sulz:γ€€THANK YOU!! haha… yeah, no blue, my favourite colour some more. my theme is the colour of traffic lights! πŸ˜€

  15. Its great. The colour combination looks cool. What is the project all about??

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚ well, you’ll just have to wait and see. πŸ˜‰

  16. I like it. Black also sets off your photos so much better. πŸ™‚

    sulz: thank you! πŸ™‚ i just like how even though it’s black, it doesn’t look gothic or dark or depressing. it’s the orange that offsets that, i guess!

  17. I’m really happy you have such a happy theme. For a few days after you “expired” I was actually a little surprised you didn’t do more with your new header. Had no idea all this gorgeousness was on the horizon. Hmmm. You and Juan working on a project? You’ve got us all a-buzz with anticipation. πŸ˜‰

    sulz: hehe, i chose that theme because i do like it and i also felt it’s very different from this skin, so the impact would be better when i unveiled this! πŸ˜€ oh, trust me, you’ll love it… it’s very fun, and you can do it over and over again!

  18. Yes, it really is a happy theme even though it’s got so much black. It’s kind of anti-Goth.

    sulz: yeah! i’m so not goth even though i love black.

  19. The skin is very bright, but not “tacky” bright ala a MySpace page of today’s color misguided youth with nice, curved edges. Very anti-MySpace thanks to the flair in design

    sulz: hey stranger, balik kampung ke? πŸ˜› yeah, i like this bright! i don’t visit any myspace pages so i wouldn’t know. i just fell in love with this the moment i saw it, even though the original is somewhat different than this version i had specially made by juan.

    nice to hear from you again! πŸ™‚

  20. Wow! I absolutely love this one – and it’s not too bright. The colours harmonized each other so no straining for the eyes (my eyes). Damn brilliant and yes, I’m so envious!

    I’m looking forward to the project you’re collaborating with Juan. Oh, kudos to Juan for the wonderful theme.

    Much love, hugs & kisses! πŸ™‚

    sulz: hey there, what’s up? how’s life now that you’ve got your spm results? πŸ˜‰ anyway, thanks for the lovely compliments; they all should go to juan for porting such an awesome skin for me. *hugs back* πŸ˜€

  21. Just wanted to say thanks to all of you who have complimented me for porting this theme. It’s nothing really, but your compliments are very much appreciated.

    Best!

    sulz: it’s not nothing. i don’t know who else would port skins for people like raincoaster and myself, for free. you’re like the css philanthropist or something!

  22. Hey… it IS a nice skin i should say… how’ve you been doing?

    sulz: hey there stranger. πŸ™‚ thanks for the compliment. i’m good, how are you, doctor?

  23. i have mixed feelings about your new skin. it puts me on a good mood. that’s what i like best about it.

    but white letters on a dark bg is a bit tough for my eyes. but i have solved that problem. before reading your posts, i now select the text. that makes the letters black on a light gray bg. easy on the eyes! πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks. πŸ™‚ and glad you have a simple but creative solution to that!

    hmm, many people don’t like the white on black…

  24. It’s not exactly a question of liking the white on black. I’ve used a black theme on WP too and this is the basic problem about them. Our eyes aren’t used to reading white on black. It’s a critical thing in web designing too..contrasts. How about making the post area white and the text on that black? I don’t think it’ll look bad. What do you think?

    sulz: that would change the entire look of the theme! sigh… maybe i should use a different skin, one that is more visually-pleasing. maybe that’s why some people haven’t been commenting regularly. they can’t read my blog. πŸ˜€

  25. Oh! I love it!!!!

    I am gonna ask Juan for something similar myself πŸ™‚

    sulz: thanks, and good luck. πŸ™‚ he’s a very, very busy man.

  26. […] The dresses. My mom wears wonderful dresses, you’ve got to agree. She’s got the best collection around on WordPress.com. In fact, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

