blogging gobbledygook and such

First, past friendships. Today, while bloghopping, I discovered blogs of some old friends. One of them was this guy I first got to know online in a chat room people from my school used to frequent, before I met them at a school event one day. He wasn’t physically as handsome as his personality. He was sweet, wise, mature, funny, and I enjoyed chatting with him. Of course I developed a crush on him, which lasted even after I met him, even though I didn’t think he was attractive.

Well, anyway, I drifted apart from these bunch of friends because when I was sixteen, I went through a self-imposed exile from people I used to be friends with; here‘s an example. Of the people I left behind, he was one of those who stuck in my mind, and I always wondered what happened to him. Now I’ve subscribed to his blog feed. I’m sort of tempted to get in touch with him, but I don’t know if he remembers me, and I’m very reluctant and wary of resurrecting old friendships (the link in this paragraph sort of explains why).

At the moment, I think the past should stay in the past, and so I shall move on to present friendships. Some time ago, I wrote a post about what would happen if my blog was found out by people who know me in real life. Well, that has happened now. I wrote that post because I had a feeling that someone I know personally is reading my blog because of my carelessness in revealing it. When my friend didn’t say anything, I thought my friend didn’t notice my gaffe and that my secret was still safe. Now she’s come out in the open (don’t know why she chose that name, don’t ask me!), none other than Angel, who you might have read of before in some of my posts.

If you don’t know who Angel is, let me tell you a bit about herself. She was my secondary school classmate, who came to my school the year before our final year. I don’t quite remember how we got close, but we did. We discovered in each other a love for shopping and a small little adventurous side (well, that’s me – she’s much more adventurous than me, and I feel safe going to strange, unknown places with her because she knows how to take care of herself, she’s very independent).

Unlike most of my secondary school friends, she is one of those who’s managed to stay in touch with me. It’s been six years since we left school, and we’re still friends. She’s definitely one of the few friends I cherish and am deeply grateful for.

There were several times when I was really tempted to tell Angel about my blog, because I haven’t told anyone before, and if I should do that, it would be to Angel I’d tell first. Anyway, through my own carelessness, she has discovered it, and I’m glad that it’s her.

So, this post is to welcome Angel, my first (real life) friend who knows of this very secret and private place of mine. Hi!! *waves* ๐Ÿ˜€ (Say hi to her too, friendly readers!)

Edit: those wanting to see how Angel looks like can now proceed to the protected post for a look! (If you want or have forgotten the password, let me know.)

Comments on: "Of Past & Present Friendships" (17)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    Hi Angel!
    my own blogging career is becoming precarious because my blog is linked via Facebook which is linked to my EL dept. group which equates to no more badmouthing profs and classmates overtly. ๐Ÿ˜›

    sulz: sounds like you need a private blog for that, a feature wp.com happens to have. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hey Angel!

    This is surprising, I thought you would never connect your blog life with your real life!

    I sort of did that a while ago, when I connected my blog to my Facebook. Pretty much anyone can read my stuff… except, it’s in English, so it’s at least language restricted… and most people I know can’t read it!

    sulz: well, it’s connected accidentally… but it’ll have to happen sooner or later anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

    haha, well, we all can’t be geniuses like you who’s so fluent in a second language! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Heyloo Angel! How are you doing?

    @Sulz: Now that I think about it, more than a couple of friends know about my blog. Some got to know accidentally. And I told two of them myself. But I never imagined that the blog would grow to such proportions like it has back then. But thankfully, none of them friends bother to read it. But I do have a sinking feeling that my dad somehow knows about the blog too. And it isn’t tough finding it. One Google Search on my name and there I am, on the very first page. :/

    sulz: yeah, i think there are a few other people who knows about my blog but just haven’t told me yet. or that’s just plain paranoia. anyway, you’ve got a great blog, and i don’t think your dad knows about it. if he does, he’d probably beat you up for the family stuff you talked about! ๐Ÿ˜› seriously, if my family knew, i think they’d do the same thing. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  4. Great post Sulz and hi Angel…boy you must have found it hard not to say anything when your friend Sulz was going through some issues at various times. Question I have for Sulz is looking back on those few posts where you were bemoaning friendships etc [as we all do] did Angel still keep it secret or did she get extra friendly to compensate for the way you were feeling?
    I am interested as we may feel quite devastated about something when we put it up but next day feel better about it and where does that leave our “friends who know”, should they refer to our posts that are less than happy or ignore them as it is semi private sotospeak being a blog?

    sulz: i didn’t meet angel during those times, but she might know what i was talking about, especially the post about why i don’t want to be a christian.

    for me, because i do read friends’ blog and meet them, what is said online stays online. if i have something to say, i’d comment in the blog or im my friend about it. if they posted something cryptic and if i happen to remember those, i might ask them in person, usually over lunch when we’re chatting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Angel, any friend of Susu’s is a friend of ours. She has spoken well of you, and we who love her online self are happy she has such a nice friend.
    Sulz, I know whatcha mean. I’ve had my own internal battles about whether to let my live people know about my blogginess. Of the two real-life people who do know, one says he feels like he’s invading my privacy reading, so doesn’t much, and the other reads a lot all at once, maybe monthly but never comments. It’s hard to be this careful though, and it’s easy to make a mistake like emailing as you did with Angel.
    As for that guy, why not just read his blog for a while, and then say hi from an old friend? Maybe he won’t want to stay in touch, but wouldn’t it be fun to see if he remembers you?

    sulz: angel’s really likeable. there’s nothing i don’t like about her! except maybe that we don’t meet often enough. but even i’m not that bothered about that actually, since when we do meet, it’s like we’ve just met last week anyway! haha.

    i rather those who do know me and are reading my blog secretly to leave a comment or let me know they’re reading it. i know it’s not an obligation, but it’d be nice since i’ve made it known that i would like to know about them. and yes, i will try not to repeat that mistake with any other friends. should be easier this time, because my other friends do not know about the e-mail that i use for my blogging purposes.

    as for the guy, i will read his blog, but i doubt i will contact him. i don’t know if he remembers me… but who knows, maybe when i’ve just graduated and am still jobless and need some excitement in my life, i just might. ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. we need pictures. nuff said. ๐Ÿ˜›

    sulz: wah, ask picture but didn’t even say hi!

    ms johnny, how? if you let i will put your photo in a protected post for some of my online buddies to see, hehe. got one nice picture from our recent trip lost in kl what. ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. Hi Angel! *waves with a ridiculously large smile* I agree with dave, pictures please!

    sulz: heh, at least you said hi first. ๐Ÿ˜‰ let’s hope angel will agree with our requests. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. ok ok. “hi angel!” was she the girl who participated in my questionnaire?

    aik? siapa johnny? and my pictures? you actually saved my pictures? wahahahaa!

    sulz: nope, but that girl is our friend. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ms johnny is angel lah, that’s what she wrote in her comment. eh, you perasan ape? i was talking to her lah in that comment… we went visiting around kl recently and took a photo of ourselves, that’s what i was talking about! hahaha…

  9. haha, well, we all canโ€™t be geniuses like you whoโ€™s so fluent in a second language!

    Oh, c’mon YOU can’t tell me that.

    The people I know are getting better at english, but still, they don’t care much about reading my blog so I’m fine.

    BTW; Ohh yeah pictures!!

    sulz: haha, but you are. well, i like to think so. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    i think angel didn’t know what she got herself into when she left that comment!

  10. Angel got shy… say hi back to us! ๐Ÿ™‚ we are sweet and mellow, and don’t bite… most of the times. Right, sulz?

    sulz: haha, when are the times that you do bite? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Ms. Johnny said:

    Hi everyone!

    Thanks for the warm welcome ๐Ÿ˜€
    Sulz is a wonderful person to be around, though we don’t meet quite often as we would like but when we get together it felt like it was just yesterday that we met. Our frequent activity besides shopping is having BREAKFAST. Yummy!
    When I first read her blog, I didn’t realise that she has so many unspoken trouble within herself. Its funny how things happen. You see, i used to be low at the self esteem department too, but Sulz was one of my aspiration! I learn that its ok to be fat and be brave to dress up yourself and love the way you are. I still remember what she said during one of our shopping trip to OneUtama, ‘Even if you are fat, doesn’t mean that you can’t dress up just because you are scared of how people will look at you’…it goes something like that lah. But that statement of hers really struck me and it made me want to change the way i look at myself. I never said this to you personaly, Thank You & I love you so much for being such a good friend (hugs) ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: aiyoh, but you’re not fat at all!! *hugs back* ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Ms. Johnny said:

    I used to be chubby ๐Ÿ˜›
    and I still need to lose a little bit more fat. hahaha! for health reason, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You want to publish my photo? erm…boleh lah, but put the one you and me together k?

    sulz: well, that’s in the past! now you’re so leng lui lah… you’ll see the comments when i post the picture in that private post. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (will e-mail you the password for that post later.)

  13. if angel, looks anything like you sulz then she’s beautiful!

    sulz: she’s much prettier, honestly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. now i simply must see a pic!

  15. Ms.Johnny said:

    OMG…what have i put myself into?! sulz…don’t lebih k, i am no leng lui ๐Ÿ˜›

    sulz: hahaha… you first day only know me meh! you see lah, the comments later. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. […] Blog is Hopeless! Hopeless at keeping itself secret from real life friends, that […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

