blogging gobbledygook and such

This or That

Juan‘s forum is up, so those of you who showed interest in it don’t forget to sign up!

*

I love to play this game at the Off-Topic section of the WordPress.com forums, because I think what you choose says something about you as a person. Whether it says little or a lot depends on the question, but to me the position of having to choose between two extremes tells something about you to yourself, if anything.

I found this article in the paper a few days ago, which shows proverbs that contradict each other in principle. Which do you subscribe to? I italicised the ones that I am more inclined towards. (There are a few I didn’t, though, because I am indifferent to them.)

Bric-a-brac

LOOK at these pairs of proverbs. Each per pair seems to say the opposite of the other. So, which do we believe?

All good things come to those who wait.
BUT
Time and tide wait for no man.

The pen is mightier than the sword.
BUT
Actions speak louder than words.

Wise men think alike.
BUT
Fools seldom differ.

Slow and steady wins the race.
BUT
Time and tide wait for no man.

Look before you leap.
BUT
Strike while the iron is hot.

Birds of a feather flock together.
BUT
Opposites attract.

Doubt is the beginning of wisdom.
BUT
Faith will move mountains.

Silence is golden.
BUT
The squeaky wheel gets the grease.

You’re never too old to learn.

BUT
You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder.
BUT
Out of sight, out of mind.

Too many cooks spoil the broth.
BUT
Many hands make light work.

Hold fast to the words of your ancestors.
BUT
Wise men make proverbs and fools repeat them. (Haha!)

Comments on: "This or That" (12)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    Heh, proverbs.
    It’s about citing the correct one at the correct moment and pray that your addressee doesn’t retort you. πŸ˜›

    sulz: haha, so i can use this post as a retort reference but hope they don’t use it back on me. πŸ˜€

  2. hmm… interesting. proverbs are unscientific and not universal. hence, we don’t follow them, yah? πŸ˜›

    sulz: well, you don’t necessarily have to follow them like science or religion or whatever. just which one fits your perspective.

  3. I think we should be careful about what to say and when. A right proverb and an ignorant listener can do wonders. πŸ˜€

    sulz: oh, that goes without saying! but often we have to be reminded of that. πŸ˜‰ not sure what you mean in your last sentence though?

  4. Time and tide wait for no man.
    The pen is mightier than the sword.
    Fools seldom differ.
    Time and tide wait for no man.
    Look before you leap.
    Birds of a feather flock together.
    Doubt is the beginning of wisdom.
    The squeaky wheel gets the grease.
    You’re never too old to learn.
    Out of sight, out of mind.
    Too many cooks spoil the broth.
    Wise men make proverbs and fools repeat them.

    That was my selection.

    BTW Have you noticed this “related posts” thingy? I hate it! Most of the times it’s not related at all!

    sulz: hmm, we’re the carpe diem sort of people eh, who knew? πŸ˜‰ and we chose many of the same proverbs!

    do you know you can switch that off? dashboard -> design -> extras, then check that option to disable it. as for me, i get to keep it and point only to related posts in my blog because i have the css upgrade to cancel out links to elsewhere. πŸ˜›

  5. These are me selections:

    All good things come to those who wait.
    The pen is mightier than the sword.
    Wise men think alike.
    Slow and steady wins the race.
    Look before you leap.
    The squeaky wheel gets the grease.
    You’re never too old to learn.
    Out of sight, out of mind.
    Many hands make light work.
    Hold fast to the words of your ancestors.

    sulz: we chose very differently! thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks for reminding me about the “Coke or Pepsi” game! πŸ™‚ I’d forgotten about that.

    I think I prefer mostly the proverbs as you do. Although I don’t think all the pairs contradict one another, because they’re sometimes intended for different circumstances.

    sulz: don’t forget to play it, it’s boring when it’s only muse and myself playing it. πŸ˜› hmm, i guess it’s all about context!

  7. Hi, thanks for answering my question, does that means theres nothing i can do , to make my blog earn? what bout directing it to a domain do you think that will work? thanks again.

    sulz: anything to do with earning money, you basically can’t do on wp.com. if you move to another blog host or self-host your own blog, then you could. check out the forums for more tips about this.

  8. These are quite interesting to read. I have thought about them so many times myself. But glad to have a compiled list, I sent it to few friends in email.

    sulz: yeah, it makes a good forward read, doesn’t it? πŸ˜€

  9. “Absence makes the heart grow fonder.
    BUT
    Out of sight, out of mind.”
    I’ve actually experienced these simultaneously. My mind is capable of that. It is fascinating, though how we’ll toss off one of these in the middle of a conversation as if it were ancient wisdom, and apt guidance for life. No wonder we’re sometimes confused. πŸ˜•
    re your response to B0bby’s comment: So, it’s boring playing that game with only me, huh? Well, humph, I know when I’ve been insulted! I mean, I may not be the most interesting person in the universe, but, really, saying it’s actually boring to be hanging out with *only* me in a forum game…well! :mrgreen: (OK, I’m over it now. It’s been a loooong weekend.) πŸ™‚

    sulz: i guess it depends on who is away from you? maybe if it’s a loved one, it would be much harder to get that person out of your mind, much as you want to.

    hahahaha, you know i don’t mean it like that! as they say, the more, the merrier, right? but then again, two is supposed to be company! :mrgreen:

  10. Let’s see. I’m with you on most of these, but being a student of military history I tend to be a “strike while the iron is hot” type of thinker – since having initiative in your corner and being able to dictate your actions rather than having circumstance dictate your reactions tends to be favorable.

    I also think you should listen wisely to the voice of your ancestors – and that absence does make the heart grow fonder. When I travel for work, I’m heartbroken to be away from my family. Perhaps it’s different when it’s not “family” involved and is rather focused on friends/family. In that respect I suppose it’s more “out of sight, out of mind.”

    sulz: i guess i can afford to be hesitant since most of my decisions don’t involve life or death! and from experience, the hasty decisions are the ones i usually regret (doesn’t mean they’re always the wrong ones, though).

    i think it’s sweet that you miss your family when you’re away for work. i get homesick very easily, and i don’t even like some of the people at home very much! :mrgreen: and like you, when it comes to friends, if we drift apart, i’ll learn to get over them.

  11. I prefer momisms like:

    1. Just because your friends jump off a bridge, Would You?
    2. Always put on clean underwear when you go out in case you get in an accident!
    3.Close the door were you born in a barn? (I always figured if she didn’t know this one who would?)
    4.Well people in Hell want ice water! (I am betting she is correct for sure on that one)
    5.You understand it when you are older. (Hmm maybe somethings, but not others.)

    πŸ˜‰

    sulz: haha, i totally agree with no. 2! instead of clean i’d say nice though since if you are in an accident nobody would care if they were clean but they’d see if they were nice or good ones. πŸ˜› the rest sounds sensible too in a funny way.

  12. I think the comic Bill Cosby put it best about moms around the world obsession with clean underwear and accidents.

    If you are in an accident it does not matter. First you say it , shit, then you do it. And then you are going to have soiled underwear.

    sulz: haha, so it means it’s pointless to have clean underwear! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

