blogging gobbledygook and such

I just want to say thank you again to MusEditions, Magik Quilter, CJWriter and Nova for their thoughtful messages about my previous post. Sometimes I forget that even though I’m losing friends, I’m also still having friends elsewhere, even though we may not know each other in person or we may not see each other as often as we would like. *hugs*

*

Today I had the most wonderful stress-relieving day (which I totally need, given the sad tone of recent posts) – going shopping with my shopping Angel!

I really hate shopping karma / Murphy’s Law. I never seem to be able to buy what I want when I do want it. And when I have to buy something that I need, I find many many things that I want. And since I can never get what I want when I want it, I of course ended up buying those things that I want even though I don’t need because otherwise I will never be able to get what I want on the basis that it just doesn’t happen when I want it. Does that make sense?

So, I blew RM200 just like that, on things I don’t need but I want. On top of that, I owe Angel RM20. πŸ‘Ώ

RM30 for 2 t-shirts
RM30 for suspenders (just something I’ve always wanted to try)
RM32 for sling bag (I don’t like sling bags, but cannot resist the bookish print!!! I also have a pencil box in the same print which I bought some time back)
RM20 for KL cap (the KL version of the NY cap)
RM41 for a hairband, a bracelet and a hair clip filled with shiny bling-bling (that is freaking cheap okay, ‘cos we went to this wholesale place at Chinatown, wahaha)
RM45 for crazy sheep shoes (I’ve been wanting this when I saw the first purple pair but they sold out on my size… they’ve reproduced it again and this time in blue, woot! Yes, I know it’s childish and ugly but honestly, they just make me laugh when I look at them. And it matches the sheep cellphone keychain I got from the Yankee Swop game we played in the class farewell party.)

Keep checking back on this post; Angel took some pictures (one with me wearing the crazy sheep shoes and of a huge ass Spongebob Squarepants stuffed toy) with her cellphone which she will pass to me soon. Maybe if you pester her in the comments she would send it faster. πŸ˜›

*

Angel finally sent the pictures just before going outstation, woot! Pictures are in chronological order.


We had lunch at Kim Gary, a restaurant serving Hong Kong cuisine. Angel had the Hong Kong-style tea, while mine was the fresh lemon tea in the bottle-glass mug. Both tasted good! For our meals, Angel chose cream soup, some fish fillet with white sauce and spaghetti, while I chose something called borsch soup (which is more like tomato soup, sourish and so delicious!), hot and spicy chicken chop (which is just chicken fillet) with rice. Angel and I can barely speak Chinese (I can stutter in Cantonese and she in Mandarin) so when the waiter prattled off our orders, we just nodded and smiled like we knew what he said, haha!


That’s me trying on the sheep-ish (hoho, corny) shoes at the shoe shop. Sigh, fattie legs.


This is the kiosk where I always buy an aloe vera drink whenever we shop here. My little shopping ritual, haha.


Shopping burn! Red marks on my arm from carrying somewhat heavy shopping bags. πŸ˜›


The life-size Spongebob Squarepants stuffed toy! What do you do with something like this if someone gave it to you??


Chinatown entrance from behind. I love to go there, even though it’s quite sleazy. If you ever go there, remember to haggle! And be committed to your price, because they’d give in most of the time; but don’t give a low price and when he accepts it, then say no. Haggle only if you want to buy something. And if you’re a foreigner, best to bring a local to haggle with you or you’d be ripped off! I love to haggle. πŸ˜€


Trying on my purchases; I get very excited about new stuff. The first picture I was trying on my sling bag while waiting for the monorail to take us to Chinatown and Central Market; sigh, see the tummeh? I gained some weight from all good food I had at our class farewell party! The second was me trying on the headband I bought, at McDonald’s. We were starving and we saw McD’s, so… I had a chocolate sundae and Filet-O-Fish. πŸ˜€ Drinks and fries I stole from Angel.

I always have fun shopping with Angel, but this time was especially fun. Thanks for a good time, Angel! πŸ™‚

Comments on: "All I Want, But None I Need" (10)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    Thank you so much for your birthday wish!
    Anyway, the crazy shoes! (Ripoffs of Birkenstock, but who cares.) I’ve seen cat ones and stuff. But on kids. Hoho.
    And the KL cap is just … never mind. Haha.
    Suspenders rock.

    sulz: ooh, i didn’t know birkenstock do that. i don’t even know where to get birkenstocks in malaysia. πŸ˜› i was thinking how nice if they made cow ones, but looking at how ugly the sheep is, they’d just make the cow really ugly, i don’t think i want ugly cows. ugly sheep is okay, they’re funny at least. πŸ˜†

    haha, i’m not very sporty lah, but i need a cap when i go my summer course for bad hair days, heh. wah, didn’t know you like suspenders? now i need to find stuff in my closet to go with it. suspenders are the new belts, hee.

  2. You’re welcome. Hope you are feeling better! I had to read your third paragraph three times before I (think I) understood it! Love the sheep shoes. πŸ™‚ You got quite a haul there, what fun. Angel seems a nice person. Go, Angel—send those pics, woman! {pester, pester} πŸ˜‰

    sulz: i feel somewhat better now, thank you. πŸ™‚ haha, sometimes my friends tell me they don’t get me either. πŸ˜› angel is a nice person! all me friends are nice, but angel is more so to me for some reason.

  3. Those flats look nice. Why didn’t you get ones with cow prints instead?

    sulz: those aren’t flats! those are… funny shoes. πŸ˜€ there wasn’t a pair of cow print ones.

  4. For some reason, the paragraph about the Murphy’s law made perfect sense to me. I am never able to explain this and it happens all the time!

    I also went for a therapeutic shopping spree… well not so much as I’m broke, but I got pretty nice clothes, I might take pictures sometime.

    o.O… suspenders… that’s something that had not occurred me to buy! What would you wear it with?

    sulz: maybe we’re just complicated people like that! πŸ˜€

    yeah, and don’t forget about my suggestion of a video of yourself. πŸ˜›

    uh, pants? i guess if it looks alright with what i wear then i’ll wear it, haha.

  5. Post pictures of it!

    sulz: haha, angel is working as we speak, but i will try to pester her (on top of the rest of the pestering here solicited by me, haha) before she makes an outstation trip soon.

  6. Those sheep shoes look kewl!

    sulz: haha, do you think so too? the expression on the sheep just makes me lol! πŸ˜†

  7. Ah, Murphy’s law, beloved of cynics, and the pessimist’s constant companion. First time I’ve seen it applied to shopping though – can’t honestly say I’ve ever experienced that! It sounds like the shopping did you some good, Murphy’s law or no Murphy’s law.

    I love the Kuala Lumpur baseball cap, it’s so cool! And the sheep shoes are so funny! Awesome.

    sulz: haha, just as long as it doesn’t happen with things that matter the most, like sex. :mrgreen:

    yeah, i really enjoyed shopping yesterday, but i always do with angel. πŸ™‚

    i like caps too, but i hate the way it gives you bad hair; this is for those days where i have bad hair to begin with, hah. and sheep shoes are for days where i don’t feel like dressing up but at the same time need to cheer myself up by wearing something funny. πŸ˜€

  8. πŸ™‚ I like the sheep shoes!! Though I think I would have preferred them in a dark purple. Suspenders rule! I quit with belts years ago. I was stacking merchandise above my head and the next thing I knew my hands were high above my head stacking a box and my pants were laying down around my ankles. The only good thing was I was in a back stock room by myself, though one person did walk in while I was adjusting my pants to their correct location. I have found it has an added bonus by leaving belts for suspenders. It is much more comfortable and creates less obstruction problems than a belt.

    sulz: haha, it’s the sheep’s eyes that got you, right! πŸ˜€ purple and me don’t go together, and the ones before were sold in light purple; they also have it in white, and a basset hound design (much uglier and not as funny as the sheep!).

    heh, my clothes are usually a tight fit due to my uh, generous proportions, so the suspenders are more of an accessory… sounds silly of me, but i just don’t know how to match belts with my outfits. πŸ˜› haha, funny belt story!

  9. Ms. Johnny said:

    For some unexplained reason, that was one of the best shopping time with you! the best part was, when I reach home I did not felt that tired at all. Thanks Sulz for the shopping time πŸ˜‰

    sulz: yeah, don’t know why it was particularly fun that day, haha! i think you weren’t tired ‘cos you seronok want to go clubbing that night lah, hehe. πŸ˜‰ i was super tired though! my stamina cannot compare with yours. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

