blogging gobbledygook and such

About A Friend: Juan

Juan and I became friends because he offered to help me do some skins when I received my free CSS upgrade from Mark. I knew him from around the forums, but we weren’t that friendly until CSS became something we had in common. Of course I accepted his offer to do a skin for me, because I sure as hell don’t know how to and he seemed nice and genuine enough (ie. no hidden agenda).

While we exchanged e-mails back and forth discussing CSS and how I want my blog to look, I would pepper my e-mails with nosy questions about his life: what does he do, how old is he, where he lives, your typical nosy grandma questions. And from there, we got to know each other better.

What I admire about Juan is his passion for learning. His job as a developer requires him to learn all sorts of things because he has to constantly update his knowledge about the latest in his field, which means that no matter how much he knows, he still has to read up to be competitive and resourceful in what he does.

It made me realise that even though I’m going to graduate soon, I should always try to educate myself. While I have decided that I don’t want to do a Master’s degree (definitely not now, at least), I shouldn’t stop learning. I should study more of my favourite foreign languages. Or I could learn something totally new and alien to me, like cooking. 😮

Juan made me realise the importance of learning because the moment we stop learning, we become complacent. We take for granted that everything comes easily because we have learnt to be accustomed and navigate ourselves through our daily lives. When that happens, we become afraid of change, because change is hard, just like learning.

That’s why I would like to emulate Juan’s attitude towards learning. I don’t want to be afraid of change, to be afraid of learning or making mistakes. I don’t want to be a know-it-all, I want to be a want-to-know-it-all.

Of course, that isn’t just Juan’s good quality. He is a good friend, being a Particularist-inclined individual, and he’s very family-oriented. He is also kind, sweet, generous and silly!

It has been a privilege to be his friend. Thanks, Juan, for everything! *hugs* Love you. 😉

(I will not respond to comments made in this post, but if you want to say something about Juan, please do leave a comment. Thanks!) I couldn’t resist. 😦

Comments on: "About A Friend: Juan" (9)

  1. I respect and admire Juan very much. Although he was very busy and tired he made a point of generously providing voluntary support on the wp.com forum to those who purchased the css upgrade.

    I watched as blogger after blogger benefited from his expertise and I grew to know him quite well when I also answered questions on the forum too.

    Today I am honored to be among those that Juan calls “friend”.

    I’m also honored to be among those that sulz calls “friend” too and, I wish to thank her for providing me with this opportunity to indicate how much friends like Juan mean to me.

  2. I just want to know when you two are getting married, because I need to start shopping for a cheap airfare. And also chase him down because, like a fool, he’s offered to do yet more fancy custom design for me.

  3. damn you raincoaster for making me go back on my word not to comment!

    anyway, about what you said, well i’d like to know too! i sure didn’t get a memo on that, much less a romantic confession! 😆

    timethief: thank you for your wonderful words of our dear friend and of myself, that is really sweet. 🙂

  4. Tee hee, trust raincoaster to mess with your plans! Juan is a new friend for me. I’ve been reading his comments on your blog, sulz, for months, and he seemed like a fascinating fellow. A few weeks ago he had such a long comment to your relationship-style post, that he posted it on his own blog, and I hopped over to have a look. I found he had some profound and thoughtful ideas, and that our views of relationships have many similarities. He was very nice to me in his comments, then later tagged me with your meme, sulz, so now we are friends. Since then I’ve discovered how talented and knowledgeable he is, and I’ve bookmarked the comment where he offers to help me with CSS sometime. 😉 I like my very plain template for now, but it’s nice to know he is so generous with his help. The results of his work are obvious here on bloggerdygook, as its skin reflects its owner’s vibrant, sunny personality. 🙂

  5. Albaide said:

    I don’t know what to say, when all the good things it”s about my son, I wish you will see one day he is one of a kind. please this is only for you. Now you have my e mail.. write me if you want… thanks. By this time I think
    you know we some how have an oriental background, my father always said, a day without learning something it’s a wasted day, now you know where Juan it’s coming from….
    Have a wonderful day…this it”s only for you, please don”t mentionet to Juan,,,

  6. Oh!!! That’s so sweet of you. 🙂 I never thought that you can make friends out of blogging buddies. But it happens and its great. 🙂

  7. museditions: haha, fascinating? maybe i know him a bit better than you; i wouldn’t call him fascinating! :mrgreen: but doubtless he is a great friend to have. 🙂

    amit: thank you! 😀 oh yes, i can name 3 close ones, and of course everybody on my blogroll is my buddy. 🙂 hopefully buddies for years to come!

  8. I’m sure you know him MUCH better than I do, sulz, in fact, according to raincoaster…but, be that as it may, I can still think him fascinating if I want to. 😉 I base this upon reading lots of comments where he’s dropped in these little tidbits of fascination from time to time. So there. 🙂 BTW, I smile whenever I see your avatar now. I liked your lips, but this one is such a great combination of sulz-like qualities.

  9. don’t trust rain, they’re all outrageous lies! haha. oh, i don’t mean to suggest that you can’t think of him as fascinating – i’m sure he’ll agree wholeheartedly with you of his natural fascination – but rather i was implying that i think he’s boring. :mrgreen: you know i love to tease people.

    about my avatar, yeah i love it! aside from looking like me, i love the chocolate-ish colour scheme. 😛 and it does add a little oomph to all my comments, don’t you think? like everything i say is such an amazing utterance! 😆

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

