blogging gobbledygook and such

Someone told me once: you shall have the best, you deserve nothing less than the best. I also have friends who want to have the best out of every thing, every situation; it is not the best if you cannot get more than one benefit out of it, you have to kill two birds with one stone for it to achieve its maximum potential, the best.

I think if you constantly think of how to get the best out of everything and anything, you’ll find that more often than not the best just doesn’t happen. You would be so preoccupied with planning and plotting the best, you will naturally feel disappointed when the hopes you built up with your plans does not happen in the end.

I don’t mean to suggest that planning and organising is trivial or rigid; rather, I’m saying that it’s okay if things do not go as planned, don’t put too much expectations into your plans, and don’t think it’s a failure when it went the opposite as you planned. Think, however, of the effort you put into the execution, not just in doing it but if you did it in the most positive way possible.

For instance, when I go on shopping trips with Angel, we naturally hope every time that we buy our money’s worth. Most of the time, it’s not in my case (factors and reasons aside). As I wrote about our last shopping trip, I said everything I bought were things that I wanted, but not needed. Yet, I also said at the end of the post that it was one of the more enjoyable trips with Angel. Did I get the best out of my shopping? No, and yes. No, because I wasted money which I could have used for things I need to bring for my summer course and I didn’t get to stay at the mall as long as I would have liked, and yes because I enjoyed it a lot more than I usually did than my other shopping trips. I do enjoy all my shopping trips with Angel, but this one felt more enjoyable for some reason (I think it’s because we took some photos, which we hadn’t done before, but that’s beside the point). Perhaps it’s because we didn’t expect to get the best, but we hope and tried to in a positive way. In this case, it was the best because we had fun doing it. It was the journey which counted, not the destination.

I think I contradicted myself somewhere in between, but my point is that you can get the ‘best’ out of something if you don’t focus on getting the best. Does that make sense? Don’t try to be the best, but be the best you can be. That may not be the best, but in trying to be your best, that’s a pretty great achievement in itself.

I don’t want to have or be the best. What I want, though, is to try to have and be the best I can get and be. And if it means getting less than the best, I could live with that. I just want to know that I’ve tried, or that people tried, and to me that is the best. For me.

(I hope this is something I remember when I go for my summer course, as I do have the tendency to expect to kill two birds with one stone. πŸ˜› )

*

Speaking of shopping, I am an incurable shopaholic. We were supposed to go for a movie then a Korean BBQ buffet dinner after, but I went around shopping by myself while Sesat and Angel watched the movie because I didn’t want to watch it. I ended up buying a pair of chocolate brown glittery sneakers/flats kind of shoes (they look like flats, but with a sneakers sole sort of thing going on, anyway, it’s really cute) for RM32 and a red hooded sweatshirt, which I needed for my summer course (actually, I don’t, but I decided I need it, just like my sneakers/flats shoes which I hope can double up as proper sneakers in the event I need to do lots of walking, haha), for RM80. So I totally blew what little money I have left, with barely enough money for dinner, AND I got another week off my part-time job. 😦 I hope I don’t get induced depression from staying cooped up at home. (I do have lots of books to read, though, hopefully I can keep myself occupied!) Turned out, we didn’t even have our Korean BBQ buffet because the movie ended pretty late and there was hardly enough time to enjoy a buffet dinner before the restaurant closed. We ended up at Carl’s Jr – chili cheese fries!!! I had a Western Bacon Cheeseburger, yum. πŸ˜€

In my shopaholic defense, the shoes and sweatshirt I bought were on discount!

Comments on: "The Best Is Just Overrated" (11)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    A shopping trip to buy what one NEEDS is hardly any fun at all. That’d be a purposely striding in and out of shops to look for a particular thing that takes the fun out of shopping.
    Carls Jr. πŸ˜€ I’d take that over Korean bbq anyday.

    sulz: but actually, what i said i needed is more like what i want to need. :mrgreen: but yeah, i don’t like shopping for necessities, doesn’t feel like i pampered myself! πŸ˜€

    hehe, on the sound of it, yes, i’d prefer carl’s jr too. i want to try all the burgers, from the cheapest onwards, lol.

  2. I can totally understand the wanting not needing yet buying thing as I’m a shopaholic myself!! But only for clothes :)I bought 2 cute pink sweaters once in the month of Feb (consider Feb in India) just cuz they were on discount.

    About the best thing…I also believe in what u have written..in giving one’s best efforts and to be content with what is achieved from that.

    sulz: same here, clothes and shoes (flats particularly) are my weakness, along with bookmarks and postcards as i collect them.

    the problem about my best is that sometimes i forget that i shouldn’t compare it with the best! easier said than done, to practise this mentality. oh well, at least i’m starting by putting it in writing. πŸ™‚

  3. Quite frankly, I don’t understand what you’re trying to say this time. I feel it’s like a conflict between being impulsive and being planned. I think being impulsive is fine sometimes. You can’t just always go around buying things that you need. It’s just like food. You can stay alive on normal food but once in a while, you do need good tasty junk food even if it’s super expensive and no value for money.

    sulz: haha, that’s why i said that i might be contradicting myself there. πŸ˜€ i’m just annoyed by society’s expectations of deserving nothing but the best; i think it’s okay to get less than the best, but at the same time, it doesn’t mean you should accept bad standards. it’s like, sex doesn’t have to be mind-blowing all the time, does it? sometimes you just want something nice and slow… or whatever rocks your boat. :mrgreen:

  4. Studies find that people who have or want everything are unhappy beings. Sure, I might buy something I would like to have, but in the end, all I desire is the company of another living being compared to something utterly materialistic.

    sulz: well, i don’t want everything, just some things. so i should be half-happy? and that’s why i want a boyfriend, dammit! πŸ˜€

  5. Yeah, I get what you mean now. And I agree with you. That example about sex says it all. Everything can’t be perfect and best all the time. Life would be only good that way. And it wouldn’t be fun like that. Sadness helps in personality development as much as happiness and satisfaction does.

    sulz: haha, trust a sex analogy to make you get my point! πŸ˜†

  6. “I don’t want to have or be the best. What I want, though, is to try to have and be the best I can get and be.”

    Sounds like a good philosophy to me!

    Not sure I’m qualified to comment on the shopping – I’m not a very shopping-y person… But if you enjoyed it, it can’t have been a bad thing.

    sulz: i think so too, but there’ll be those who may think i’m just not trying hard enough to be the best or something. πŸ˜‰

    well, it was a pretty bad thing to the pocketbook! πŸ˜› but i guess you can earn money back, but not time and happiness that has passed when it comes to shopping. πŸ™‚

  7. shop till u drop! Thats my philosophy in life… My paychecks never last more than a week! I shop and shop and am broke for 3 weeks in a month! πŸ˜€

    sulz: haha, never thought of you as the shopping type! πŸ˜€ you better hope you meet a richer significant other than you, ‘cos you’d probably be spending on dates lavishly in the first week and the 3 weeks after it’s your s/o’s turn. πŸ˜›

  8. That was a very interesting thought and a lucid way of expression! Way to go girl!

    sulz: thank you, thank you… *bows shamelessly* :mrgreen:

  9. Interesting analogy indeed! I think that at some points you seemed to be a little confused between what you want and what is the best you can get. I do agree with you that planning and organizing enables you to attain the best ..but as you mentioned sometimes we have to be satisfied even with a little less then the best. Well i think you have the power to play with words and thats quite evident from your posts. So cheers πŸ˜€

    sulz: i guess i am. i mean, i naturally want the best, but at the same time, i shouldn’t expect the best all the time because that’s just impossible. so to me, if this is the best i can get, sometimes i’ll take it. there isn’t an hard and fast rule for this approach, since it will differ in context and situation, at least in my case. πŸ™‚

    do you have a blog? your username doesn’t link to anywhere at the moment. (you can insert the url by editing your profile – that’s at the top right corner in your dashboard)

  10. yes i do have a blog and now i have inserted the url http://bitsnbytesoflife.wordpress.com/

    sulz: a pretty nice blog you have going. πŸ™‚

  11. well thanks for your visit and for dropping your comments . Though it has been just a month since i have started my blog ….. but now blogging seems to be fun πŸ˜€

    sulz: it is! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

