blogging gobbledygook and such

I’ll spread some love on my blogging bread first (good morning! Even though I published it late at night at my time – I’m sure somebody must be reading this in the morning ๐Ÿ˜€ )

As if this needs scientific proof, but now skeptics can no longer deny of the benefits of blogging! (From a mental and emotional aspect, that is.) So when you’re stressed or blue, blog!

I think this is the most witful and hilarious post about blogging I’ve come across! But if you’re thinking of quitting blogging, this is probably more up to your taste.

As fun and beneficial blogging may be, it’s only enjoyable if your message comes across well to your readers, and for that, tone is very important. This post is a good read about that, and comes with a graphic of the hierarchy of arguments, interesting!

I’m also linking to this post about a notable Indian blogger in WordPress.com who had her photo used in a local daily without giving credit to her. Nita seems to think I have a wide readership – which is not true, I’m afraid, my stats is lucky to go past the number 200 – but I do hope that I have the right kind of readers to expose this kind of injustice happening in the world.

And finally, this post should be linked to because I’m featured at the sidebar of this blog, and your blog can be too by signing up for the blog’s shameless blog promotion!

I’m all out of love. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Give me some with a comment. ๐Ÿ˜›

*

Now, volunteering for a meme that Museditions found from some unknown spot in the blogosphere.

Please thoughtfully consider the following, and choose one item for each of the categories below. (Be sure to describe your reasons for choosing)

One religious work from a non-familiar tradition youโ€™ll read:
Does the Kama Sutra count? I’ll read that! ๐Ÿ˜€ Okay, be serious… I would like to read something about Buddhism – do they have like a bible or something? I only know something about nirvana and the 7 levels of hell. Or something.

One music videoโ€“that you likeโ€“from your โ€œleast likely to listen toโ€™ genre:
I don’t fancy dance music because it’s repetitive and the beats can be annoying, but I like this one: Yelle – Tristesse/Joie

A book from a genre you almost never read, that you have read, or you will read (promise!):
This is tough, I would read almost anything… except political and self-help books. And I really don’t want to read any of them… I promise I will read Rhonda Byrne’s The Secret if I come across it or if it’s lent to me, how about that?

Somewhere youโ€™d never thought to go on holiday/vacation, and why it might be fun to go there:
I never thought I’d go to the country I’m going to in July for my summer course, but now that I am going, I think it’s going to be fun. The course aside, I think the fact that I’m staying there for a month means I get to explore the state more thoroughly than a few-days-tour visitor, and I would probably go visiting in the other states too. It will be an experience to remember, for sure!

A specific food youโ€™ve never tried, but will because of this meme, honest!:
I will try escargots… only in France, though. That’s the only thing that comes to mind that is the least gross, though when the time comes, I’m sure the prospect of eating snails will make me feel grossed out yet fascinated at the same time. I hope it tastes like chicken… or that it will come with gravy to make it tastier. I’ll eat anything with delicious gravy, I think!

A sport or game you really hate, or havenโ€™t tried yet, but are willing to give one more go:
I will try skiing! The question did say a sport I really hate or haven’t tried yet, so I’m going to do the latter. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m going to look like Bridget Jones doing it, but at least I won’t be sweating like a pig and it’s an experience I’ll hardly ever get to do anytime soon after.

A style of dance you probably wonโ€™t try (we wonโ€™t make you promise on this one):
I won’t try any sort of dancing, period! Not even slow dancing; I’m too self-conscious, no body coordination at all, and I don’t have right feet for dancing, only two left ones.

A career job you donโ€™t feel youโ€™re suited for, and why:
I’m not suited for house chores – I can’t cook, I don’t think I iron very well, I’m really lazy about cleaning… so I would probably make a bad housewife or homemaker. I still wouldn’t mind being one, though. ๐Ÿ˜†

An item thatโ€™s โ€œthinking out of the boxโ€™ for this meme that hadnโ€™t been included:

What course in university or college or a private organisation (ie camp, seminar, convention etc) did you enjoy participating and why?
I really enjoyed my Professional Ethics class which I took in my final semester of college. I loved debating about morals and what’s right or wrong and why. Come to think of it, several English classes with comprehension exercises that touched on this subject were also the most interesting to me. Perhaps I should take a Philosophy course or something! Or go try and read Jostein Gaarder’s Sophie’s World again…

Disclaimer: I will try to do the things I have yet to do mentioned here, but no promises! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tagging (I hope my readers know by now that even though I tag people, it’s not obligatory to do it, only if you want to! And stealing memes is most welcomed): BobbyG, NightWriter, MysteryCreature, Amit, Poonam

Comments on: "The Expansionist Meme With Some Link Love" (20)

  1. Hi ho – haven’t quit blogging yet! Nice post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: i hope not! likewise with yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. No link love for me?! Even if my previous posts have been stupid but still? How could you?

    I’m so totally cross. Horny sweet dish doesn’t taste good when it’s angry. ๐Ÿ˜

    So is your summer course in France? Because you said you’ll try escargots..only in France. That means you are going to France right?

    sulz: well, you haven’t done my meme! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ *pouts*

    haha, i’ve always wanted to visit france. could i be so lucky as to be spending summer there? we’ll see. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. ninglun said:

    Glad you enjoyed my post. Thanks for the reference.

    sulz: the graphic did the trick. ๐Ÿ˜‰ you’re welcome.

  4. Eek! I think that’s the first time I’ve been tagged to do a meme! I hope I’m allowed to take my time over it, because this one’s going to require some thought…

    Buddhists have a lot of scriptures, but as far as I know (and I know very little) they don’t have any single book that’s directly equivalent to the Bible.

    Escargots are all right. I had some when I was little. I thought they looked revolting, but when I tried them, I quite liked them.

    sulz: first time?? about bloody time then, meme virgin! :mrgreen:

    hmm, hopefully i’ll like them then! i heard they’re kinda rubbery though. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. lovelyloey said:

    What’s this thing about the IRONING you keep mentioning! Haha.
    I’m going to steal this meme cos it seems fun. Yay.
    And I HATED Sophie’s World. So long and draggy and I don’t like Philosophy.

    sulz: i keep mentioning meh?? haha, i dunno, i don’t like my ironing, i prefer to send it to the laundry. ๐Ÿ˜€

    good! i’d tag you but i just only tag you before, so didn’t want to give too much homework, haha.

    i know, i couldn’t finish it! but it’s quite interesting… if only i could keep up with the story within story within story. ๐Ÿ˜•

  6. Hello sulz,

    Thanks for the link love… ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: you’re welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Wow, two links in one post, Ms. sulz! I’m humbly gratified. I read all your links, and I particularly liked the one about the benefits of blogging! I know you’ve posted about that before, but I read the part about how it improves our neurochemistry! Scientific evidence! Blog on, brothers and sisters!!!
    Thank you very much for completing the unknown blogger’s meme.
    Buddhist scriptures can be very interesting; I agree with B0bby, there’s really no “Bible” or “Qoran” or “Tao te Ching” or like that. You might google “Buddhist” stories, or “tales” to start out. A lot of the philosophy will be evident there.
    I’d be very interested to hear (or read) what you think of ‘The Secret’. I have several conflicting opinions about it.
    Yeeeehhhh! I’d rather try Haggis than escargot, but I’m a wussie.
    It’s been my experience that it’s perfectly possible to work up a sweat skiing, but it’s not the tropical-humid kind of sweat!
    Let’s all hire housecleaners! Maybe we can get a good deal if we do it in a group!
    I like your last question and answer about rofessional ethics.
    Nice combo/linky/memey post, sulz. Good weekend reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: did i post that before?? i thought that link is recent! haha, see, that shows how much i need to read up on buddhism. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    well, i did say i’d only read it if it was lent to me or maybe given? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sheep’s intestines does not sound any better than snails!

    yeah, i think i did sweat when i ice-skated, but since it’s cold it didn’t feel that icky!

    haha, rofessional. :mrgreen: gives another meaning to the phrase mind your p’s & q’s! ๐Ÿ˜€

    glad you enjoyed it!

  8. Ooops, My “P” fell off! (on the penultimate sentence of my comment) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  9. Expansionist meme… hmmm. Did you make up that last question or what? Because if we’re allowed to make up the last Q, I’m sure as hell doing this meme! ๐Ÿ˜›

    sulz: yes, the last question we make it up ourselves and answer it ourselves, weird! i’m sure yours will be something along the lines of emperorship. ๐Ÿ˜‰ yes, please steal it!!

  10. […] Anyway, stole this meme off Sulz. […]

  11. “did i post that before??” noooo, I meant that you had posted about the benefits of blogging before, not that you had shared that link. You’re not repeating yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ll still take my sheep’s innards over your snail’s outers…or something.
    Re: Secret, I’d give you mine…Maybe I can send it to your summer location, now, where is that??? ๐Ÿ˜€

    sulz: ah, okay. yes, and i shall continue to post such links. ๐Ÿ˜€

    haha, no thank you. i’m trying not to read it until it really shows up in front of my nose! ๐Ÿ˜†

  12. Nice links! U have got innovative memes going on.
    //Iโ€™m not suited for house chores – I canโ€™t cook, I donโ€™t think I iron very well, Iโ€™m really lazy about cleaningโ€ฆ so I would probably make a bad housewife or homemaker. I still wouldnโ€™t mind being one, though.// thats sweet!!

    sulz: it must be meme season around this time, i think! ๐Ÿ˜›

    haha, why not? i get to laze around the house, and i can get mad or cranky without getting fired! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. Alright alright, I didn’t do your meme. Fair enough. I’ll do it soon.

    sulz: hmph.

  14. […] but I can’t be doing revision all the time. Anyway, I’ve been tagged to do a meme by sulz. This is my first time, so I’m hoping it will be […]

  15. Great links and meme Sulz and noticed you deftly dodged the question on France…wonder if I should read something into that?

    Back at work yet?

    sulz: hi! nice to hear from you here again. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks, and hmm… ๐Ÿ˜‰ read into it what you will! i don’t believe the surprise has been spoiled. ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. Hey!!! Thanks for tagging me. Will read the post and comment and do the tag soon. Right now I am half dead with work. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    sulz: ooh, that sucks! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ take care of your health… the meme is waiting patiently. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Thanks for the tag… um… what does it mean?!

    I’m still a bit new to this whole blogging malarky!

    Oh, and don’t suppose you could change my link on ur blogroll (Thank you sooooo much!) to “A Typical Atypical” could you? Just mysterycreature was kind of an accident for my blog address!

    Hehe I’m an ignorant eejit, tis true!

    sulz: it just means you copy the questions and put your own answers. meme virgin huh? ๐Ÿ˜›

    changed. nah, not an eejit. not at all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. […] my (meme) virginity Well Sulz tagged me to do a meme (is “do a meme” the right phrase?), so I’m going to do my best. I’m […]

  19. […] Expansionist Meme Posted in Blabber, Journal, Tags/Memes by Poonam Sharma on June 12th, 2008 Sulz first tagged me for this meme. I got so late and then Nova tagged me today. Finally, here it […]

  20. elpollo said:

    what a great link to the blogging benefits

    sulz: thanks! i like knowing that i’m doing something emotionally healthy, hehe. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

