blogging gobbledygook and such

I found this song called Gobbledigook by Sigur Ros, an Icelandic band; it makes me want to fling my head, stamp my feet, jump all about and mumble gobbledygook. I really could make a blog soundtrack huh? 😀 (Remember this guitar solo Dave did for me?)

*

What is the significance of birthdays? Why do we celebrate birthdays? I’ve never really thought of my birthday as anything important. It’s a date I remember, of course, but I do not place much significance to it; it’s just another day to me, made special by the fact that I was born that day, and not made so special in the sense that I didn’t ask to be born on that day.

Which is why I do not indulge people my birth date. There really is nothing special about my birth date. Besides, everybody has one. What’s so special about it? Why do people have birthday parties? Why do we celebrate the people born on a certain day? I honestly don’t really get it. I get it on some level, but I also don’t quite get it. Do you get me?

So this year, my birthday has come and gone… wait, has it? 😉 I have received some birthday gifts – early or belated, you decide.

1. RM100 from Uncle PT which is half a birthday gift and half as a gift for my upcoming trip. That was very sweet of him, since I could use all the cold cash I can get, heh.
2. HKD$100 and some Australian dollars from Uncle PC, scrounged from his house, also half a birthday gift and half my Macau trip gift. The Australian dollars will add to the Macau fund when I go to the foreign exchange.
3. 9 (I haven’t spoke of 9 before – it’s a strange pseudonym to give a person, but it makes perfect sense if I told you why – long story short, I am 9’s person, as in Grey’s Anatomy “person” kind of person 🙂 ) gave me a VCD (Stardust! The first movie we watched together!), a metal bookmark which spells Love, and the sweetest and sincerest birthday card I’ve ever received.
4. The usual angpows from M & D, which will go to my Macau fund, of course.

Don’t really expect any more early or belated birthday gifts, because nobody else knows the date. 😛

No, wait, that’s wrong. There is someone who I know knows it, but I don’t think I’ll be getting an early or belated birthday wish, much less a gift. And that is possibly the one gift that I would have wanted…

Sigh, move on, move on. Wish me (early or belated) happy birthday, please? 🙂

Comments on: "The Significance of Birthdays" (16)

  1. Happy Bday 🙂

    sulz: thank you!

  2. lovelyloey said:

    OI. You refused to tell me when your birthday is. So I couldn’t send a present. And it’s too late for me to send now cos it won’t reach you before you fly. So the next option is for me to bring it to Macau and uh, send via Macau post or something. I’m sure your dorm will allow you to receive mail, right? 😀

    sulz: are you sure it’s too late? 😉 i don’t even know where i’m staying yet, haha! aiyah, wish me enough already, no need present lah. the thought that counts and all that, right! 🙂

  3. Great Gobbledigook video! Really upbeat song, nice attractive people having a really good time in a beautiful forest. It had a woman that even looked a bit like you! If that is what you wanted for your birthday, no wonder you are sad if you didn’t get that. Also it was good to revisit Dave’s guitar soundtrack. It’s really good, in fact I’d forgotten how good it is.
    What’s so important about birthdays? It’s YOUR life we’re celebrating, that’s what. I am glad you got yourself born, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.
    You get angpow for birthdays too, not just new year? Glad you got some money, that will come in handy. Very,very Happy Birthday, dear sulz! 😀

    sulz: haha, i didn’t get myself born. ask my parents why they got me. 😛 yeah, it’s customary of chinese people to give ang pows for birthdays; it’s very practical, really, since you don’t have to scratch your head wondering what gift to get! 😆

    thank you! for the lovely e-card too. 🙂 *hugs*

    heh, i have to confess i didn’t watch the video myself. 😛 i have the mp3, see! now i must go look for my lookalike…

  4. happy (belated) Bday (in advance).

    sulz: haha, now that sure covers all wishes! 😀 thanks!

  5. Happy birthday!!!

    What is an angpow??
    //Which is why I do not indulge people my birth date. // I think u meant divulge not indulge??
    I think people celebrate birthdays to celebrate their special day and to celebrate being alive!! To celebrate life!!

    sulz: thank you!

    ang pow is the red packet containing money you receive during chinese new year, but among chinese people we also get it during birthdays or weddings, or any other special occasions. 🙂

    i do mean indulge, though divulge has the same idea too. i said indulge because if i do say it, it’s only because i’m giving face to the person, not because i really want to say it… unless i do say it on my own, which means that i want to tell it, heh.

    celebrate life, hmm… it doesn’t have that meaning to me for my birthday. i think it might if i experience a near-death event or am approaching old age. but yes, that’s a good reason to if any!

  6. Hey, belated happy birthday!

    sulz: thanks much! you sure it’s belated? 😉

  7. Happy Birthday (belated or in advance)!

    I have quite a different view of birthdays; I tend to think of everyone’s birthday as a special day just for them. So it’s the one time of the year when everyone can celebrate sulz!

    Thanks for linking to that song. They’re a really good band, aren’t they?

    sulz: thank you! 🙂

    maybe one day i could have a celebration like that… right now, i don’t feel right. yeah, i like that song. kooky and crazy!

  8. Happy Belated(maybe) Birthday!!!! 😀

    sulz: haha, thank you!!! 😀

  9. I think birthday’s are special. There’s no reason for it. I celebrate my birthday as my day..as if it’s only for me, dedicated to me like we have Mother’s day and all. Plus you get gifts and all. You get to see everyone’s creativity and sincerity. And then you get to meet up with friends. That’s always nice.

    So, I say, Happy Sulz day, Sulz!

    sulz: ah, the son’s perspective! i love that greeting! next year i shall use that. 🙂

  10. Happy Birthday! Is this the 23 to 24 birthday? or the 22 to 23? I can’t remember… or tell… hmm.

    My birthday is my favorite day of the year. It’s MY day. It’s a day when I can start over, it’s a day when I can do anything I want and indulge without feeling guilty, and I get presents and I get cake. And because it’s in November, it’s also the day when I start feeling like christmas is close, which has always felt like holidays and happiness to me. It’s a day I look forward to every year. I have the strange illusion that maybe after I turn a year older I’ll be less stupid and less unhappy.

  11. Birthdays are circular there is always one in the past and one that, God willing, will arrive in the future. It is a celebration of life. Treat it as such and you will enjoy it much much more. Embrace friends and family and let them celebrate the event along side you. Never slight its importance for you are never promised birthday-future. When you are young you feel bulletproof but the reality is the future is not promised to no one.

    sulz: it isn’t a matter of feeling bulletproof from youth, though i do admit i am feeling like that somewhat. i just don’t think i’m worth the fuss of a birthday celebration? to me, a good way to celebrate my birthday would be a day spent with someone i love, doing something fun and eating something good! that’s it. 🙂

  12. Well that is a good way to celebrate your birthday also. The thing to remember it usually makes people feel good (other than Grinches) when you allow them to fuss over you and treat you special. When I was a kid I used to love getting presents. As I grew older I got to the point where I found that I actually preferred to give presents than receive them. But allowing others to treat you special is also a way of letting them feel special. Always take the celebration but them remember to thank them in a way they will understand that you genuinely appreciate what they have done.

    sulz: why do you always put things in a perspective that i never considered before?? you have a damn good hammer, always hitting the nails right on the heads! 😀

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    sulz: thanks! 🙂

  14. Happy belatedly advanced birthday! 🙂

    sulz: haha, thank you! it’s very funny reading people who tried to cover the date range my birthday might possibly be in their greetings. 😀

  15. well i think birthday’s are just another way of reviving the happy moments of past. moreover when you are getting a chance for merry making then why to miss it :)after all life is a celebration

    well belated happy birthday ( oops if i missed the date) 🙂

    sulz: hmm, maybe you can tell there aren’t many happy moments of my past that i don’t want to celebrate my birthday? 😉 but i should change my mindset.

    thank you. maybe you did, maybe you didn’t. 😉

  16. well that would be really nice if i could change your mindset….after all happiness is all we crave for!:)

    sulz: can’t deny that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

