blogging gobbledygook and such

Reasons Why I Am Like Bridget Jones

1. I am pudgy. (like Bridge)

2. I swear. (like Bridge)

3. My parents embarrass me. (like Bridge)

4. I fear dying alone, only to be discovered half-eaten by Alsatians 3 weeks later. (like Bridge)

5. I am clumsy. (like Bridge)

6. I have few great friends who love me. (like Bridge)

7. I (occasionally) do the first-person-pronoun-avoidant bit in writing. (like Bridge)

8. I am gauche by nature. (like Bridget)

9. I am in love with someone who doesn’t love me like Daniel Cleaver. (like Bridge)

10. I’m going to work in the publishing industry. (like Bridge)

YES, THAT’S RIGHT. I GOT A FREAKING JOB.

As an editor of boring reference books. But everybody’s got to start somewhere, right?? It was all rather quick (I hope I don’t decide to get married this quickly), since I’m going off this weekend and the boss needs to know if I want it or not, so she can go continue the employee-searching if I declined. I was a bit hesitant to accept the job (see cons in list below), but in the end there are more pros. Here’s why I took the only job I applied for (oh god, that makes it sounds like I’m making a rash decision, doesn’t it?):

Pros & Cons of My First Job
Workplace is near home Pay less than expected
Less commuting time; save petrol May not like job
Semi-formal workplace; no need to makeup 6 months’ probation period
Free parking May be too soon to commit to a job
Seems like a job am interested in Not venturing out of comfort zone
Job possibly suited to self’s character
Don’t have to job search anymore

The last two Cons were the ones that worried me the most. (Actually, the first Con was a big issue too, but that was resolved.) I felt like I haven’t explored other jobs, that I should attend more job interviews to find something that I really want and at the same time with a good pay. And choosing a job near my home, for all its financial and time benefits, is not good because I’m not venturing out of my comfort zone. Most jobs, besides requiring you to be in a totally new environment, also places you in areas around your town you may not be as familiar with; it would be a good time to learn the streets. I only know the roads to shopping malls and train stations that lead to malls. πŸ˜› But I think there are more pros, and unlike a marriage, you are not committed to a job for life. (Though looking at my personality, I’d find it hard to believe if you were to predict I’d be changing jobs in less than 2 or 3 years.)

So, back to my Bridget Jones life… would I be meeting my Mark Darcy in Macau? Hmmph, I think more like Mak Tai Si.

(Tai Si = Big Shit in Cantonese)

Comments on: "I’m living the Bridget Jones life" (14)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    Don’t be silly. Your cons are not cons by Singaporean standards. Singapore grads grab at any job they can get even if it means it’s low pay and probation because all the good jobs require at least 2 years relevant experience. So, a job like this, we’ll fight tooth and nail for it.
    But alas, it’s always still up to you. I’d take it up if I were you. Sounds pretty good. Besides on the rising petrol cost (heard about it; am impressed you all actually get fuel subsidy! then again, Malaysia so big. Cannot NOT drive.)

    sulz: no, i took the job already. the thing is that my classmates are actually getting better pay than me, and i believe my results are better lor… at least should get the same amount mar. even though different industries, starting pay should be about the same. but i figured since it’s near my home and free parking, i save what extra money i could get from a higher-paying job elsewhere.

    yeah, and you haven’t tried taking public transportation here!

  2. lovelyloey said:

    See, I didn’t even finish my sentence before I drifted off.
    Anyway I meant the working near home prospect is good since fuel is getting more expensive. And not only that, it means no need to get up so early! πŸ˜€

    sulz: yeah, i guess i’m bound to learn the streets some day, doesn’t have to be now at my first job. well, i’m more of an early bird than a night owl, but i definitely don’t have to leave home so early. it’s only be about a half hour jam (if not jam it’ll only take 10 minutes).

  3. There is nothing wrong with your list. But when you need money it is never too soon to commit to a job. πŸ˜‰ You can always look for another. Besides new employers love it when they look at a resume and find experience!

    Liking a job is important but you do not know if you will like any job until you perform it. If anyone has told me that I would enjoy working third-shift security at a hotel I would have told them they were nuts. Yet of all the jobs I have held to date that one was the most fun.

    Go with the flow if you do not like the job use it as a springboard to something else. It should make your trip more fun knowing that when you return you will have a steady source of income to replace the money you are spending!

    sulz: i don’t need money desperately, but yeah, i do need to get a job after my trip, so why not just take this?

    oh, definitely. it sounds like something i want to do, but i do hope my feelings are right!

    as always, you manage to put things into total perspective!! i totally overlook that bit.

  4. That doesn’t sound like a bad job at all! After all, there are definitely more pros than cons there. Congratulations!

    sulz: thanks! i do hope i’m right for the most part. it would be not very nice to find out i don’t like the job!

  5. Wow! That’s huge news! It sounds like a great job for now, because you are breaking into editing and publishing!!! You are such a bookie, that it’s right up your alley. Even your last con, the comfort-zone one, isn’t bad because it will be a whole new working environment and you can meet new people to explore with. Besides, when you get back from Macau you’ll be so worldly you won’t mind exploring your own country!
    You are full of surprises. A new job, a new country, and a new course all at once! Yay! Congratulations πŸ˜€

    sulz: i know. i’m scared. πŸ˜• i don’t mind boring, but i hope it won’t be too difficult.

    meh, i’m the most predictable person i know. πŸ˜› (though this is definitely a year of many changes.) thank you! πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations!!!!! πŸ˜€
    Every job is difficult to begin with. Work hard for sometime and you will be in a comfortable position. The only problem is that you should be interested in what you are doing. So, you would be doing this once you return from Macau?

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚ oh, of course i know that, referring to the part where after i’m supposed to be good at it but still find it difficult! i think i am. proofreading is fun, but i think it may be dull after the novelty wears off. once i graduate, because the week after i return is my convocation. πŸ™‚

  7. Congratulations! All the best to you… at least you’re not being paid in nuts are you? πŸ˜›

    Now I know that 10 years from now on we can see a Bloggerdygook Diaries hit the stores… book me a copy will ya? πŸ˜€

    sulz: thank you! πŸ™‚ well i’m not a squirrel, so that wasn’t my expected salary. πŸ˜€

    you think? my blog stats hardly even pass 200 nowadays! 😦

  8. Ohh I read Bridget Jones Diary, the 1st part and I really liked it. Apprehension before joining a new job is natural but the biggest benefit is you will get experience of this field and if u wanna jump to ur next job it will get u higher pay. As for comfort zone, I think u r doing a good thing by going to Macau. Its a novel n lifetime experience to live away from home. I lived in hostel while doing my engineering in another city and it made me learn so many things that I feel proud to be self-sufficient.

    sulz: you should read the second, even funnier and sillier! πŸ˜€ yeah, this trip to macau is to make me a bit more independent. and to have some fun too, of course. πŸ˜› as for my job, i’m that sort of person who could stay for a long, long time if i like the place, that’s why i’m worried if i made a hasty decision. but at the same time, it would be wrong not to give it a try on the misconception that your first interview usually doesn’t work out!

  9. And Congrats!!

    sulz: thank you!

  10. Congratulations Sulz, I think you’ll like that job since you believe you’re perfectly suited for it. And a positive thing is that you got the first job you applied for. That’s good, no? Means there’ll be much to follow, and one day you’ll be on the front page of Malaysia’s largest newspaper with your Mark Big Shit standing with you and beaming with pride. Hey wait, don’t forget to call me. I’m the son, remember?

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚ i wouldn’t say perfectly suited, but it does sound like something i want to do and could enjoy, but the only way to find out is to do it. πŸ˜‰ i don’t know, i keep thinking i shouldn’t be this lucky!

    hahahahaha, i wouldn’t marry a guy whose names means big shit in my life! but if i do find my mark darcy, he’ll be calling you ‘cos he wants to gets on the son’s good side, you know? πŸ˜‰

  11. Congrats on the new job! Even if you don’t end up liking it, it’ll still be good experience and there’s always something to be taken from any job, even the sucky ones πŸ™‚

    sulz: thank you! πŸ™‚ i know, but if you could get experience from both bad or good jobs, i think everybody would choose the good one, you know? πŸ˜‰ every cloud has a silver lining, it’s true in that sense.

  12. I think you are very fortunate to be offered this job, so many graduates cannot find work in their field of choice. I do not know what the employment situation is over there though…is it hard for English graduates to get work?

    If your dream place to go is Britain or America this could lead to that one day as well. The only thing that gives me pause is you were offered it so fast…maybe there are other companies out there looking as well…do you know if there is much competition for positions? BTW when is it you leave?

    sulz: yeah, i do want to try my hand in being an editor, but i won’t know if i really like it for sure until i’ve worked, so let’s hope i do! πŸ™‚ actually, my friends are getting higher paid jobs than me (lecturer, teacher, copywriter, event management etc). the irony is that many people would look down at our degree, as people has the misconception english graduates can do pretty much nothing except teachers. πŸ˜•

    i know, that’s what worried me too. not so much that i was offered the job so quick (because they wanted me, and i had to decide before leaving as i couldn’t leave them waiting for my decision) but more that i took the only job i applied for. there are other editor jobs but i don’t think i’d take those up because they’d either offer about the same pay or is very far away from home. i’d like to learn the streets, but the cost of petrol these days… not to mention commuting time!

    i’m leaving today! my flight is just after lunchtime. πŸ™‚

  13. Do you smoke? Do you drink? Do you show your butt on national camera? Sulz!

    I like your pro and con list. And I gotta say that the pro side weights more in my perspective.

    The first jobs usually pay bad, and they’re also kinda boring and repetitive. But this is a JOB! in soemthing related to your career choice, and it’s short term so if you decide you don’t like it, you might leave for better pastures with a nice experience in your resume and your brain.

    sulz: oh, i conveniently forgot that bit, heh. 😳

    you think so? i hope so too. the thing about everybody telling me that i could always leave if i didn’t like it, is that i sort of said to the boss that i’m looking to work there long-term, and was probably part of the reason i got the job. πŸ˜› that is my intention, but if i were felt i wasn’t treated fairly, i would definitely be searching for another job then. in my ethics class, i was really gung-ho about fairness towards employees by employers.

  14. Congratulations on your new job!!!

    Come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind doing your job as well πŸ˜› But you are right about one thing, that you may not be venturing out of your comfort zone. I think as you start your job there will be misc bits here and there of your job to require you to venture out of that comfort zone. Then again, I guess it depends on what you deem as your “comfort zone”, eh?

    Take mine for example, it’s not really venturing out of our field “comfort zone” either…you got the same stuff…language. But for me, getting out of my comfort zone is to do public speaking and in my job I’m forced to do it more than once daily (when teaching and NOT teaching) while still holding on to something familiar. I do think you’ll come to encounter these times when you start your job.

    If not, it’s only your first REAL REAL REAL job (I know, you’ve had other jobs before but they don’t count :P) and if you think you need to move on after 2 years or so, go find other greener pastures!

    Oh, and ENJOY your Macau trip!! Take pics ya πŸ˜›

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚ well, let’s see how the job really goes before i think i’m out of my comfort zone or otherwise, though i do suspect it’s the latter, heh. the thing is, i sort of told the boss i’m looking to stay long-term, as she went on and on about how she doesn’t want to hire someone who’s only going to work a couple of years and then she has to look for another grad to train again. but, you know me… as long as i feel i’m being treated fairly by my employer, i would not have any reason to leave.

    i am! don’t worry about me not taking pics, the others will, the camwhores. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

