blogging gobbledygook and such

A lovely post from the most lovely friend!

What about a Sulz-centric post from another viewpoint?

(Okay, I am spoofing her style of passing off a question as a blog post title, but I guess I failed miserably.)

So, Sulz. I know this girl from what, 2 years ago? I remember that I approached her first, commenting something along the lines of writing a similar essay that she did for History of English (or something along those lines). And it all started from there. I became a regular reader, and have been starting to poke and prod this blogger ever since.

From my viewpoint, Sulz gives herself too little credit (and I assume everyone will agree on this.) But the good thing is, I think she’s grown over the years I know her, and she seems much more certain of herself now. Less self-battering, more fun stuff like wanting a boyfriend (heh) and taking pictures. And this trip to Macau; I might be bold to suggest that it’s almost a coming-of-age trip for her. First time so far from home, she’s got to have to leave her comfort zone, and explore the big world out there. Who knows, we might see a whole new Sulz after her trip. πŸ™‚

Here I leave her a quote (that’s on a postcard above my desk):
“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplisment.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson.

I hope that Sulz can truly find herself (if she hasn’t yet), and live for herself! While it may be socially polite to adhere to standards and rules set by others, but remember, you always hold the choice to make yourself happy. πŸ™‚

You didn’t fail spoofing, okay, that was something I would’ve written! And it was me who stumbled upon your blog first, you wrote something about backpacking around Europe. Hah, see my incredible memory! πŸ˜€ Hmm, you make a good point. Maybe I don’t have to find myself there, but rather nurture the hidden parts of me into blossoming! πŸ™‚

Visit Lovelyloey’s blog

Comments on: "Guest Post by Lovelyloey!" (5)

  1. lovely post by lovelyloey! I agree with everything you said, and you’ve known sulz longer than I have so you should know! I really like Emerson, and that quote is great; something to remember.
    And sulz! “nurture the hidden parts of me into blossoming” Very nice! I’m glad I read this today. I feel uplifted. πŸ™‚

    sulz: that quote is very apt; it describes what i’m experiencing in macau currently. i’m glad you feel good after reading today’s post. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this post, and I really agree with it.

    Lovelyloey’s right, sulz. I’ve noticed that your recent posts have been more self confident and less self deprecating, too, and I haven’t been a regular reader for anything like as long as 2 years!

    sulz: thank you (haha, i didn’t write this post but i still feel like i ought to say that πŸ˜› )! sigh, i hope i won’t disappoint my readers if i slip back into that self-deprecating mode. macau is great, but bad things have been happening. 😦

  3. Really sorry to hear that. Are you OK?

    sulz: i will be. πŸ™‚

  4. Experiences. I can’t wait until you come back and tell us all about it.

    I also agree with LL that you have become so much more confident! It’s the same sulz, but improved.

    Still, problems will arise, and your confidence might break sometime along your life, so don’t put yourself down or feel like you’re being dissapointing because it happens. And even your self deprecating posts are so honest. I like those too.

    After all, it’s best to have the self deprecating demons splattered across a post than trying to find a way out inside your mind.

    sulz: girl, i’ve got so much stories to tell and lessons i’ve learnt that i’ve decided to start a whole separate blog for it. you heard it here first. πŸ˜‰

    thanks, it really makes me feel better when i write about what bothers me, and if people actually like it then it makes me feel much much better! πŸ™‚

  5. I must say, sulz, you have a bevy of admirers who love you. πŸ™‚ That in itself is a great achievement. πŸ™‚

    sulz: and that’s why i’m so homesick – i have people who like me surrounding me there, unlike here in macau, sigh. that’s not to say people dislike or hate me here (some do, though) just that they can’t compare to how you guys feel about me and i you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

