blogging gobbledygook and such

My First Day At Work…

was mentally draining.

😦

So much things I don’t know. I hope I’m not expected to remember everything that was said to me. At one point, my brain died and I just nodded at whatever my colleagues told me even though I have no idea what they were talking about.

The boss was quite nice, though. He treated me and some colleagues to lunch because it was my first day. My colleagues seem nice. Some of them are friendly and helpful; some I haven’t had the chance to know yet. I observed some office politics even in this small company, though I don’t know what’s going on… yet.

This job has many perks that I like. I get free and easy parking. The workplace is near my home – it takes less than 20 minutes to reach the office and around 15 minutes to get home. Maybe it’s just the first day’s blues, but this job doesn’t seem like my cup of tea. It’s very rigid, and you have to be really careful and particular about the little details. I seem to be given a big responsibility, and I’m still on probation! Don’t know if I’m cut out for this…

I’m giving myself 3 months.

How was your first day at work like? Is what I’m feeling normal?

Comments on: "My First Day At Work…" (24)

  1. gentledove said:

    Good luck with that one,my firsts at anything are always disasterous which has the + that it can only get better

    sulz: i know what you mean, i felt like an idiot most of the time at work yesterday. i feel pressured that the company seems to expect a lot from me, when i’m not really sure if this is something i can do well at. maybe it will get better. *cross fingers*

  2. Can’t say anything really, cuz I have never had a first day at a job yet..
    I can just encourage you sulz, hang in there, maybe u’ll start liking it when u’ll start making friends…

    sulz: thank you, i appreciate your kind words!🙂 yeah, maybe if i bond with my colleagues better i may look forward to going to work (which i’m not, at the moment, bah).

  3. Some jobs are easier to learn than others. It is a culture shock at first but it all gets easier and more interesting as you progress. My very first job (excluding paperboy when I was 12)was when I was in high school at age fourteen. I was hired on by a local lumber yard as yardman and assistant delivery man (I was not old enough to drive but they just wanted me on the loads that required heavy lifting). It was a lot to learn as I had to familiarize myself with many construction products I had never been exposed to before. It turned out to be a lot of of work handling boards, plywoods, concrete blocks etc., but it was lot of fun to. It was a great learning experience for when I entered the big bad ugly world of working for a living. I think the worst job training experience actually happened with a company I was already working for. I was a supervisor at a hotel when they decided to change franchise connections. The new computer system was far more complicated than the old one. It made balancing the books at the end of the day a pain in the rear, but the reasons were not all the fault of the system. The new owners of the hotel were hyper-sensitive to what information could be accessed at each level. That made what should have been a five minute job into a two day job as you had to go through channels to get access to some information. I finally told them to stick the job where the sun does not shine! But most jobs are just look scary as the newness intimidates you. A decent trainer will get you over the humps and headed in the right direction.

    sulz: thanks for sharing your experience! yeah, definitely new and totally out of my comfort zone. my colleagues have been really helpful so far, i just feel bad that i have to ask so many questions, even though they assured me that i can ask anytime and i should make all the mistakes in the book while i’m still on probation.

  4. They sound like they are being fair and helpful. Take advantage of their help. I have trained many people and I always felt better when they were asking questions. I always felt it was a good sign that they wanted to learn. The one that did not ask questions seemed to learn slower and I had to watch closer. Most co-workers and especially trainers want you to succeed.

    sulz: i feel bad to be so dependent when they seem to expect me to be independent.😦 ah, i just feel pressured, is all. hopefully it will be better as days go by.

  5. thebeadden said:

    Oh, sulz! Any time I started a new job I would almost feel ill. I was so sure I would not be good enough, I’d mess up. After a few days, I’d be fine and have always enjoyed being there.

    I wish you all the best and know that you will do well.🙂

    sulz: you too? i hope i’ll get to that stage! thank you, i don’t know about that myself… yet!

  6. JellyBean said:

    Whatchu working as? My first day was a whirl of activity as I was carted off from one place to another being introduced over and over again… I didn’t know what was going on most of the time!

    sulz: that job i told you before i went macau lah. you introduced only mer, and some more there are many who are new like you. my company so small introductions finished in 15 minutes, then briefing about 2 hours, then spent the afternoon fumbling, sigh.

  7. Technically, I don’t know if my first day counts or not, but really the first day is the toughest. [I was watching Gridiron gang yesterday…😛 ]

    I nearly nuked the LAN on my first day… if that helps. [Thankfully, I have no boss!😀 ]

    sulz: your first day of what, dear?🙂

  8. First day can be overwhelming. Don’t let it get to you. From what I have observed on your blog, I do not think attention to detail will be a problem for you. Maybe you don’t like the kinda of job you have taken up, but then you will find out in three months you have given yourself.🙂

    Best of luck!🙂

    sulz: yes, very very overwhelming.😦 i made so many mistakes at work. i know i’m supposed to, it’s only natural, but i still feel bad because i sometimes make the same mistakes or i forget something that was told to me… it’s really hard to keep track of so much and their friendly admonishing seem to hide an irritation inside.

    yeah, 3 months. like it or not! thanks.🙂

  9. I’ve had a few office jobs, and, every single time it felt like going into alien territory. The first week can be weird, and it does feel like you are expected to absorb everything at once. The people showing you things have been there for a while, so it is familiar to them. It does get easier day by day. It helps to take notes, but also it will start to “click” for you like with anything else you learn, like CSS or Portuguese! The perks sound good, and my advice would be to give it a few weeks until it begins to seem routine and familiar. I’m very glad you have nice people to work with. That’s very important!

    sulz: okay, so this is normal, i guess. but not very nice all the same!😦 actually i don’t know anything about css still – i used to copy and paste codes.🙂 yeah, i definitely have to give it a few months at least, even though i don’t feel like going to work… bah.

    well, people always start off nice… just afraid i may make some mistake and get the hairdryer treatment.😮 i’m quite careless and forgetful.

  10. You forgot confusing and scary, as well as hectic!🙂

    sulz: yes!! they tell me everything is urgent, then say don’t rush.😕

  11. lovelyloey said:

    I remember when I reported for work for my first part-time job. I already had the required training during the afternoons of the preceding week, so on the first monday I reported for work in the morning for the first time, I had the shock of my life cos their manager was giving some sort of pep talk, and I was lingering outside the office, wondering if it was rude to just walk in. Quite funny, really.

    Yeah, give yourself 3 months to see if you like your job. You never know, you might find some motivation!

    sulz: better than me. boss treated me to lunch and i didn’t say thank you because i was too shy. thought i’d say it the next time i see him. when was the next time? in the toilet. -_- yeah, i said thanks anyway because i didn’t want him to think i was ungrateful!

    what sort of motivation?

  12. You’re perfectly normal. I almost had a panic attack my first day teaching in Korea. They threw me in a classroom and told me to teach. Talk about heart stopping moments.

    sulz: gosh, can’t imagine that because i’m afraid of performing in front of people (teaching is a sort of performance to me). my friend just started working as a teacher and she had to do a mock class, in front of real students and the headmaster!

    i’m just worried because i’m being given a lot of responsibility when i hardly even know my way around.

  13. Err.. first you ask how was your first day of work and then when I tell you about mine, you say first day of what?😕

    sulz: as in what sort of job it was lah!

  14. Well done for sticking with it Sulz. It’s always worth keeping going because sometimes the most rigid looking places tend to be quite relaxed underneath. That said, if after a while you really don’t like it, it’s not worth putting yourself through it.

    My first day I can’t rememebr, and it was only a couple of weeks back! I think there was so muhc I was todl it just went in one ear out the other! I do remember the introductions thoughm and discovering that it is best to be honest and just admit to people that you can’t remember their name – they all understand!

    sulz: actually, i won’t dare to quit this early on because i’d be afraid of being too hasty and fickle.😳 i might do that if i feel the working environment is highly unsuitable for me!

    yeah i still don’t remember my bosses’ names, much less some colleagues.😛 i think if i ever have to brief a subordinate in future or my junior, i will remember my first day and go slow! sounds like you handled your first day far better than me, really!🙂

  15. Its perfectly normal to have butterflies in stomach on first day and do some goof ups initially. all the best for new job.

    sulz: it’s normal, yet i feel like it isn’t? maybe because i’m so terribly insecure, bah. thanks!

  16. Awwww thank u for the award!

    sulz: no problem!🙂

  17. Your readers are giving you good advice, you are experiencing what almost everyone else goes through on a new job especially your first job. The training sounds better than some you will probably receive at other companies. I was once hired as a salesman at a local retail store for Montgomery Wards. Wards at that time was the seventh largest retailer in the United States. Despite that their training sucked! The training started out as a three day experience in the back of the store. The first day was fours hours of learning who Montgomery Wards was, basically company propaganda. The second day started with each of us watching three hours of video tapes talking about our respective departments. The afternoon consisted of three hours of cash register training. Their was one trainer for fifteen people. Plus the trainer only knew the basics of how to run the register and was unfamiliar with many of the cash register processes I would have to do as part of the salesforce. The next morning went spent a couple of hours filling out paperwork. That afternoon we were sent to the floor to start our jobs. If we had any further questions we were expected to seek the help of our coworkers on the floor. That was an insecure feeling. So you are not alone when you feel insecure. But it sounds like you have decent trainers that want you to succeed so you are one up on many people that will trod out to their first jobs. When it comes to mistakes good trainer expect them. And they are not surprised if you make the same mistake several times over. That is why you ask questions. It is a learning process where a lot of information is being pumped into your head in a short period. People will make mistakes. Ask questions and learn why you made the mistake. Do not take shortcuts you stumble on until you learn the process. One of the biggest mistake roads I have found lead to people trying to use shortcuts before they are familar with the system. Shortcuts make analyzing your mistakes more difficult for yourself and your trainer. Make friends with your coworkers, that always helps when you need guidance. And do not be afraid to ask what you are doing wrong, how to correct the problem, don’t be afraid of constructive criticism and thank whomever takes time from their schedule to assist you! That last part is important. Most people loved to be stroked with a simple thanks for doing a good deed. That is unless you get some curmudgeon, they just like to growl at you as their manner of acknowledgment. 😉

    Poor training has always been a pet peeve of mine since I worked for Wards. At one place I worked I was so flabbergasted at what they called a training manual (it was a one page semi-helpful set of instructions for a computer accounting job that took six to eight hours a night to perform), I rewrote the manual. It made all of our jobs easier the next time we had to train a new employee.

    sulz: can i have you as my trainer instead? haha… thank you for telling me this, i appreciate it! is that a good attempt at stroking your ego?😛

  18. First day is usually a brain buster, as you will get along you will know how to go around those little details🙂

    sulz: okay, so majority has confirm i’m normal, that’s a relief, haha. i want that day to come faster, where i actually know what i’m supposed to do next!

  19. I’m always terrified of doing anything new!

    Maybe it’s very tiring, but it sounds like quite a nice job all the same, if the boss is nice and your colleagues are friendly and helpful, and it’s convenient. I think it sounds encouraging if they trust you with a big responsibility at this stage – I’m sure you’ll get used to it, and then you’ll be glad.

    Good luck!🙂

    sulz: me too! not good.😦 no it’s not encouraging, it’s pressuring! i don’t like to take up jobs where i’m not confident of accomplishing. as in, i’d have preferred it if i began the job by assisting the current editor rather than telling me i’m supposed to be in charge but i can ask her for help and advice.

    thanks.🙂

  20. Dont worry… its perfectly normal to feel drained… I did too… But the good part is even the trainers dont expect u to remember everything… They will guide u every possible way🙂

    sulz: i feel like mine does, expecting me to remember, that is. i’m a careless person and that isn’t a good trait to have as an editor! they do guide, but i’m afraid they’ll get tired of doing it or something.😦

  21. Almost everybody would have felt the same way you did. In my opinion, your first job better be your toughest, that way every other job will just be a cake walk!

    Don’t we all perform better under pressure and especially if it is our first job we put in the max effort.

    I have been working for 6 years now and for the last 5 years, work has not been challenging for me coz i had all the challenges earlier on.

    All the best, you will do good, dont ya worry!!

    sulz: i guess i expected too much out of my first day, huh?😀 i don’t think it’s the toughest, though i’ve yet to work in other jobs so i can’t confirm that.

    i’m used to being good at what i do. i was a good student. lazy, but good. good enough. so being new, of course i’m not good at anything, even working the copier. that’s the feeling i dislike most, i guess. at least if i’m good at it, i might feel work has some meaning!

    thanks, i hope so.🙂

  22. David Levy said:

    Don’t panic! All you’ve described is perfectly normal stuff. First days are tough, but it will get better. I remember my first day in my current job – I didn’t have a clue what was going on!

    Keep on keepin’ on, man… you’ll be fine

    http://backandtothefuture.wordpress.com/

    sulz: guess i overreacted, huh?😛 thanks for the tip. speaking of which, your comment was caught in my spam, probably because of your url signature. you should put your url in your profile (top right corner in dashboard, click your name) so that whenever you leave comments around wp.com, your username will link back to your blog.🙂

  23. […] 15, 2008 So it’s supposed to be normal that I found my first day at work terrifically confusing and not fun at all. And I do admit, now that I’m one week into work, […]

  24. JellyBean said:

    Did they still give you the same salary?? Why didn’t wanna try where I worked?

    sulz: yeah, same salary. still got vacancy meh? i can still try, 6 months’ probation what.😛 i’m not sure if i can handle teaching college students, though, after hearing 9’s experience teaching bratty secondary kids!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

