blogging gobbledygook and such

About A Friend: 9

I didn’t like 9 the moment I knew her. She looked sullen and unfriendly. I heard she complains a lot too. Fast forward to…

Actually, I cannot recall what actually brought us closer. I’m pretty sure it happened in the third semester though, because by the fourth I started joining Portuguese classes with her for fun. (The lecturer was fine with me joining the class without credit.)

I think we got much closer after college was over. At that point, she was having personal problems and I happened to be there to listen. Then when I was in Macau, 9 was my rock. I e-mailed her almost every day, telling her about my ups and downs during the month there.

The thing about 9 that draws me to her is that she reminds me of me. We’re quite different people when it comes to interests. Emotionally, though, it’s like seeing myself in another person. When she’s angry, she really lets go. People say when I’m pissed, I’m scary. I know what they mean because I see that same fire in 9 when she gets riled up – I’m scared too! ๐Ÿ˜†

She also values her friendships very much, to the point that she gets hurt over and over again because she keeps forgiving her friends and letting go of small things but sometimes people take her for granted. That desire to keep her friends means she actually takes the initiative to keep in touch with me (not that that I don’t with her!), even though we have not been able to meet up much. We text each other almost every day, it’s crazy. If you don’t know me well, you’d probably be thinking I’m texting my boyfriend, haha! It only costs a cent for each text, though, so no problems money-wise. ๐Ÿ˜€

One thing that 9 is unlike me is that she is very affectionate. I have to admit that I get drawn to people who are physically affectionate. Not the superficial hug-air-kiss sort of people, but the sort who actually comes physically close to me because they enjoy my company. I met a friend like that in Macau, and she helped a lot in making me feel… secure. And 9 makes me feel like that. I know that even though she may be talking to someone else or is distracted by her own thoughts, she still wants to be with me. That kind of feeling to get from someone is… really, really nice.

9 has done things for me nobody else has ever done, not even guys I used to like (or still like). 9 took me around her hometown, eating some of the best food I’ve ever tasted (sate celup! chicken rice balls!). 9 sent me to the airport when I left for Macau – my parents didn’t even want to send me (‘cos they don’t know the way to the airport). 9 wrote letters for me to read during my month in Macau, a la PS I Love You. She even guest posted in my blog. 9 bought me some pretty expensive presents for my birthday. 9 gives me personally-handmade cards and Roald Dahl bookmarks each time she goes to Singapore. 9 took care of my graduation robe stuff because I couldn’t do it when I returned from Macau (because I came home with fever and jet lag – I couldn’t go out for several days from fatigue).

The thing about 9 that makes me love her most is that she trusts me completely. She tells me everything, and if she doesn’t I can ask her anything. She doesn’t hold back with me. To have that kind of trust and faith from someone is… amazing. It feels really amazing now that I think about it.

Why am I telling you about 9? Because it’s her birthday today! Won’t you help me wish her a very happy birthday?

Dear 9.

Thank you for being my friend. Even though we haven’t been close for very long, you’re one of the few friends I hold close to my heart. This poem says how I feel about my friendship with you. (In essence, but not literally!)

Friends

I fear itโ€™s very wrong of me
And yet I must admit
When someone offers friendship
I want the whole of it.
I donโ€™t want everybody else
To share my friends with me.
At least I want one special one
Who indisputably,
Likes me much more than all the rest
Whoโ€™s always on my side,
Who never cares what others say
Who lets me come and hide
Within her shadow, in her house โ€“
It doesnโ€™t matter where โ€“
Who lets me simply be myself,
Whoโ€™s always, always, there.

Elizabeth Jennings

I hope you have a very happy birthday today, 9. Remember I love you very, very much!

xoxo
sulz

Comments on: "About A Friend: 9" (11)

  1. Oh, Sulz, are you being positive for once?

    Ha, even though I don’t know “9”, I’ll wish her a happy birthday anyways.

    sulz: actually, i’m quite cheery in general; recent circumstances has affected my general state of emotions, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

    thank you, i’m sure she appreciates that!

  2. Wow! sweet post! Happy birthday 9!!

    sulz: thank you for the compliment and birthday wish! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday 9! <:-P

    Wow man, trusting someone completely, can only guess what that feels like…………….

    sulz: thanks for wishing!

    i imagine it must feel a bit like being married. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. lovelyloey said:

    Happy Birthday 9!

    It’s very heartening to read about what she does for you Sulz ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s great to have a friend who stands by you all the time, and one who is thoughtful and holds you in her heart. ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: thanks for wishing! i know, i keep having to edit that post because i remembered what else she did for me. when you put things like that in writing, suddenly you feel like… overwhelmed. it didn’t feel like that much before!

    yes, it’s these kind of friends that makes your attempts at finding friends and getting hurt in the process, worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Happy Birthday 9!

    This is a really good post. She sounds like a wonderful friend.

    sulz: thank you for wishing!

    she is, to me! ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Wow nice, Happy Birthday 9! Thanks for being there for my mother..that way she’s not pissed at me and doesn’t spank me. Thank You. Big time. ๐Ÿ˜›

    sulz: haha, yeah, with you away from home, enjoying college and partying, thank goodness for 9 being around! ๐Ÿ˜€

    and i think you’re a bit too old for spanking. if i’m still spanking you, that’d be very, very wrong. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  7. Ms.Johnny said:

    Happy Birthday 9! Wish you many more years to come… 9 & Malaysia share the same happy day? wow! Happy birthday to Malaysia too…although i’m not in the mood to celebrate it now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    sulz: yup, merdeka baby… well, i think the whole country is not in the mood. budget for celebrations also slashed by half… you hardly see any cars flying the flag, even!

  8. Thank you everyone, for the warm wishes.. I truly appreciate it. It’s amazing to receive wishes from all over the world, even from friends of my person.. ^^ Most of all, thank you Sulz, thanks for this really really wonderful post. I’ve printed it out & it’ll be hung up on my wall-of-fame soon! I love you too sweetie, always.. *hugs for everyone*

  9. I was away for a couple of days and missed your birthday, but Happy Belated Birthday number 9! I’m glad you and sulz overcame dislike and found each other! (Amazing how that can happen).

    sulz: glad to have you back! ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the wish; yeah, i guess when you’re stuck for 3 years together, you can’t help liking the disliked eventually. ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Wowww thats so sweet!! Wish you a very happy birthday 9 ๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: thanks for the compliment and wishing! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. thebeadden said:

    Happy belated Birthday 9 and thank you for being such a good friend to sulz.

    sulz: wow, thanks very much for such a heartfelt wish! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

