blogging gobbledygook and such

In this post, I asked my wonderful readers to wish me luck because I was about to do something that could change my life. I said if I’m not getting it, you wouldn’t know what it was I went to. Well, I’m 99% sure I’m not getting it but I’ve decided I’ll tell you anyway…

This should be kinda long, so you better get yourself comfortable. Go get the popcorn, settle back, make yourself comfortable…

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Comments on: "In Which I Reveal How Embarrassing It Is To Be sulz…" (16)

  1. First, some critiquing:

    -It’s deer caught in the headlights.
    -It doesn’t seem like your heart was in it for this job. Maybe you wanted it, but because of the wrong reasons. Maybe it wouldn’t have worked out had you even gotten the job — you could’ve hated your coworkers and/or what you’d end up doing. Perhaps you’d look back on the job you have now and say, “Gee, maybe my old job was better though it paid less!” Even if none of these things would hold true — you still have no assurance that it would be a successful venture. The point is, you’ve gotta move on and look for other things to satisfy yourself. Better yet, you can use this supposed rejection to fuel your work ethic and try to move up the ranks at your current job or seek a better one.

    Now for the good:
    You should definitely stick to writing. This post was the best detailing of a failed job interview that I’ve ever read… I should give you more credit than that: it was very entertaining and a very good, smooth read, which are just about the best compliments I can give for a blog post.

    sulz: well, i had the same question thrown to me by a friend, on the day of the interview itself, which did not help at all. i don’t think i don’t want this – i know it’s something i want to try (because with my current job, it was something i wasn’t totally dying for but i was willing to give a try as well). whether it’s for the right or wrong reasons, i’m not sure. i don’t think i would’ve hated the people in the program – my friend is enjoying herself there. i may not be my friend, but i’m pretty sure i’ll get along fine. but you’re right, i won’t know for sure if getting the opportunity would be better than what i have now.

    thank you for the compliment. 🙂 i guess i should look for a writing job if i wanted to change jobs, huh?

  2. popcorn was delicious *burp*

    and nah… have a rubic cube! *passing rubic cube* !! wahaha..!! ok, that was cruel.. sorry!

    but yeah, you know what? although mr badminton player lost his gold, he’s still one of the best in the world. important thing is… never give up!

    sulz: sampat. no lah, where cruel? but i thought rubic cube for broken heart, not bruised ego?

    okay, wrong comparison. i’m definitely far from being one of the best in the world in anything! at least i’m almost over my embarrassment. 😳

  3. Okay first good luck with the change you are trying to make!

    With the olympics just concluded, I guess Olympics and sports are top of everyone’s mind?

    Well is winning the only thing? Well yes at the Olympics it is!

    Hey do you know what sport I can start today and have a fair chance at winning a medal (I am happy even with Bronze). I am 38, have a fairly active life, do some exercise, so I am average on fitness. Help me also make the change in my life!

    sulz: um, i don’t think you read my post properly?

  4. Oh, sulz! You know I won’t agree that you have put up “bad” things about yourself, but I do agree this was very well written. You share so much of yourself with us, and I’m glad it helps you too. I know you put a lot of work (and anxiety) into this interview, and I’m sorry you didn’t feel good about it. You will have other good opportunities, and it’s a great time to make a list of what you will do differently next time.
    Wishing you good luck on the NEXT interview!!!

    sulz: thank you! 🙂 at least i managed to turn my embarrassing moment into something positive!

  5. lovelyloey said:

    Well who hasn’t failed an interview/presentation before?
    We’re no people to judge you.
    And it’s time to bring out all the cliches about how Rome wasn’t built in a day, etc .etc. Gain life experience, etc. etc. You get what I mean, and I’m sure you’ve heard it all already.
    Anyway, thanks for sharing this with us, if not we would have been wondering about that life-changing experience.
    So, it wasn’t match-making (which might actually have you doing the same “mistakes” on the poor fellow! :P)

    sulz: i’m sure most people find presentations a little less panicking than me! yes, i’m definitely much too sheltered for my own good. should i start by joining toastmasters? 😆

    appreciate your comment! 🙂 maybe it was match-making leh? 😉 in a way lah, not literally.

  6. I certainly don’t pity you, but how can you expect me not to sympathise when I can imagine myself doing the exact same thing all too easily?

    Fine, no sympathy for sulz. You seem to have learnt from this experience, at any rate, which is admirable.

    sulz: you too?? so it’s not just me? *hopeful*

    well, i’m not sure what the lesson is exactly. i mean, if i were given a similar opportunity, i may not be so confident and maybe fret more about the presentation? i won’t be surprised if i make the same mistakes again. 😮

  7. You know, when JellyBean told me you had applied for this position, the first thing that came to mind was “WHY?!”

    That’s really not to say that you might have wanted to try something new or which challenges you but without sugar-coating it, you *did* say that you hate public speaking/presenting and I would have never expected you to have gone into something which required you to do it on a daily basis.

    I don’t think there is a lesson here to be taught or learned, simply because I think you are already smart enough to know what to do with this outcome. *hugs!*

    sulz: actually, i was kind of hurt when you asked that question, before the interview some more. (could’ve used a little moral support…) yeah, i know i don’t like presentations and all that, but i enjoy the thought of the element of sharing knowledge, that’s why i went for it. i thought that if i do it often enough, it’ll come naturally to me.

    thanks for the hug. 🙂

  8. I don’t know what to say to comfort u what the others already haven’t…
    I made a comment just to say that I know exactly how you feel, well maybe not exactly, but I’ve had MANY experiences like these related to presentations and public speaking…..
    All I can say is hang in there dude, u know u r the best

    sulz: hey, leaving a comment says it all, really. 🙂 well, i don’t know i’m the best (hardly) but it’s okay, i’ll just put this experience as another thing i go through for blogging material, haha.

  9. Hi! I’m glad you went for the interview and tried it out! At least you didn’t chicken out at the last minute! 😉 Btw, whatever you had said about your presentation, the almost exact thing happened to me too. Don’t take it personally, it’s just how the interviewers are during the interview. And what they said about calling you later, I am pretty sure they didn’t mean it in a bad way but rather just to tell you that there might not be an opening at the moment. I’m pretty sure it was about the opening… Anyway, you didn’t shame me. 😛 Don’t think that. It was a good experience.

    sulz: i’m too chicken to chicken out! (that would be more malu lah.) no way; your presentations in class are always good. well, i’ve pretty much given up hope, so that doesn’t really matter! 🙂 phew, that’s a relief, heh. yes, it was… like eating papaya! 👿

  10. Sounds horrible..and familiar. Bless you loads, obviously.

    Nerves and confidence are so hard to manage. I can think of times I’ve made it work and times I haven’t, and I can’t always work out the difference.

    The times it’s worked out, it’s normally meant I’ve been nervous right up to the last moment, then gone through the door and suddenly been relaxed and able to talk (mostly through preparedness…otherwise I’m confident but the talk is nonsense…that definitely happens).

    Anyway, I’ve got to go, as I’ve got a nerve-wracking experience of my own to contend with. Today I’m standing up in front of 16 or so people and training them for their new posts.

    I’m terrified.

    Anyway, don’t dwell on the past (except to enlighten us with your words and make us all think about it) and the missed possibilities, just look forward to whatever comes next.

    It’s all learning and growing et al.

    sulz: thank you for the bless! 🙂 hey, you sound like the boss, why should you be nervous? they’re probably nervous about being in their new posts too, so don’t be too jittery.

    yeah, i’ve decided that all my bad experiences, i will turn them into something good by writing about it! at least it’s blog fodder, even if i may not write very well about it every time. 😀

  11. The most venerable Sulz

    sulz: hah, i don’t think i’m venerable in my most mortifying moment!

    ps. i had to check up the dictionary to know exactly what venerable means. (do you know venerable also means ancient?) you primates are a much superior species to me in intelligence!

  12. thebeadden said:

    Sulz, I feel for you. I don’t like to be in the spotlight. I prefer to be in the background. My stomach would have been turning. But at least you have this one under your belt. Next time it won’t seem so terrible.

    Not to tell you what you should do in life, but you are a writer. You have a wonderful gift. Best of all, no matter what you choose to do in life, you will always have this. 🙂

    sulz: same here! but i figured if i were to do something that requires me to be more of a ‘people person’, i would eventually get used to it even if it may not be in my nature.

    i guess i am, huh? i mean, i’ve been blogging for two years plus already. there must be something i like about it, other than the narcissistic factor of making myself the star of my own blog! 😛

  13. We have all been there at one point in time, Sulz. In time, you will look back and laugh…especially when you land that job that allows you to shine as brightly, if not more, as you do here. Even if it just was not meant for you to be there, they will be sorry they did not see past the human blunders and see the real Sulz, and what she could have offered them. In the end, it will be their loss.

    Thank you for sharing!

    sulz: well, i don’t blame them for not seeing the real me, seeing that i didn’t give them that chance – not by choice, but by nerves! too bad malaysia doesn’t have a scouting system, like they do in america. i’ll probably be more appealling to possibly employers when i’m in my turf, so to speak. 😛

    thank you for the comment1 🙂

  14. Job interviews suck. Even the ones where you hit a homerun. I have whiffed on many that I should have aced. Of course my biggest problem is I am not a callback type person. I do not express enough interest by calling back after the interview and pressure the choice like you are supposed to. That is life. That is just not the type of person I am. The best applicant on paper does not always get the job. There are just to many variables. It also sounds like you crammed for the interview and overloaded your system. You were setting yourself up to freeze, just like cramming for tests in school.

    sulz: totally true about the variables. but then again, life is always like that, i guess. you don’t get the best, just the best at the moment.

    i just got affected when the people interrupted me – you know that’s a bad sign.

  15. […] Comment! Remember my embarrassing interview? […]

  16. tree service kyle tx said:

    loved the blog and your style

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

