blogging gobbledygook and such

Why I Like Boys

This doesn’t mean I like girls any less. I need my girls, can’t live without my girls! I need girlfriends to shop with, to gossip with, to pour my heart out to, to moan about boys and their stupidity sometimes…

That said, I still like boys very much. I could never be like Katy Perry and kiss a girl just to try it. My lips will only touch another pair of lips that belongs to the opposite sex. (No, hermaphrodites don’t count.)

But I’m not talking about why I like boys in that way. I want to tell you why I like boys for being boys.

1. It’s fun to flirt with them, in a non-romantic way. I mean, if I do that with a girl I’d just get the shivers. Though maybe that’s because I haven’t found the right girl yet, hmm…

2. It’s even more fun to tease them, because they aren’t sensitive like some girls (or if they are, they pretend they aren’t). Therefore, I can push more buttons without worrying about offending. Most of the time, they’d tease me right back and probably even worse. And that’s how the flirty (non-romantic) banter starts! πŸ™‚ (Anyone remember Ish & I before we became ‘family’? LOL)

3. Boys are more forgiving than girls (in my experience). I don’t even need to say sorry to get back in their good books. Might have to treat them to a meal, though… Nah, not with the right guy. πŸ˜‰

4. Boys offer a different perspective. Obviously, since they are from a different sex and their brains are wired differently than girls for the most part. The male perspective usually focuses on the mechanics of a situation rather than the emotions, so it’s good to have a guy’s perspective to have a bigger picture of the same thing.

5. Boys don’t pretend. As to my limited experience with the opposite sex, I find that they say what they think most of the time, even if it offends. I’d get offended, naturally, but when I think about what he said, it does make sense. In most cases, I’ll even accept the criticism because I don’t believe boys have agendas when they tell you you’re shit. I mean, some girls do that because they’re playing the keep your friends close and your enemies closer game, and may tell you you’re shit to mindfuck you.

6. Boys are better at apologising. That’s ‘cos they know they’re doofuses by nature, so they have to make up for that by being easily apologetic. Which means if I have the right guy, I can pretend to be upset and he’ll be all apologetic for hurting my feelings, and then I can laugh at his face and said Fooled you! and do again the things I like in numbers 1 and 2.

7. Boys know about stuff that I don’t. With the right boy, I can get him to teach me about the stuff he knows about. Or even better, get him to do something I want with said knowledge. πŸ˜›

8. Boys make excellent creatures to probe. Since my nosiness is legendary, I can get away with asking pretty personal stuff sometimes. And guys tend to be more open about their personal details than girls. Which is a huge plus point for me because I love to hear people’s stories.

9. Boys have lovely voices. Like John Mayer. Or James Morrison. Or Chris Martin. Okay, they’re far from being boys but they were boys once and I’m sure their unbroken voices were just adorable if anything… Anyway, point is, a male’s voice can be quite nice on the ears. Some males, that is.

10. Sigh, what can I say, boys are… cute. 😳

Comments on: "Why I Like Boys" (11)

  1. i’m male. πŸ˜› hence, you think i’m cute? wahahaha!

    sulz: well, you weren’t who i was thinking of when i wrote that! :mrgreen: but i’m sure someone would say you’re cute. πŸ˜‰

  2. I totally agree with you, which is why I prob have more guy friends than girl. girls are too fussy, guys are a little simpler and easier to deal with friend wise.

    sulz: so am i one of the less fussy girls who fit the bill? πŸ˜‰ haha, just teasing, of course! yeah, it’s definitely easier to know where you stand with a guy, friendship-wise.

  3. Now I’m sad! I thought you liked me!

    *goes away crying*

    sulz: i do, i do! i have the girl’s version coming up soon! πŸ™‚

  4. Totally! – all men and women – realise the fact – Men are the best!

    sulz: hehe, of course you would heartily agree with me! πŸ˜‰

  5. Argh, the stereotyping! πŸ˜›

    So mock flirting with girls would be weird, huh? I know lots of people (male and female) who mock-flirt with friends of the same gender, but then the fact that most of those people have been subjected to at least 5 years of single-sex education might explain that…

    You make it sound like boys are generally simpler than girls! But then, you’re probably right. *shrugs*

    sulz: haha, i’m sure plenty of others do that did not receive same-sex education, but i just feel weird myself.

    well, i do think guys are a lot simpler than girls for the most part. and that is a good thing in my eyes; if you’re a guy and i find you more complicated than a girl, i don’t think it’s very complimentary. πŸ˜‰

  6. Their brains are wired differently than girls for the most part.

    Not really… “Masculine” and “feminine” brains can happen regardless of the genre. They were named like that because of the first cases that were studied. Like I said in your other post, most differences are probably socially imposed. It is true that there’s some evolutionary roots for different behaviour but I don’t think it goes that far.

    Boys know about stuff that I don’t.

    Like what?

    Boys don’t pretend.

    *laughs incontrollably*

    I’m sorry, these have been just a couple of posts I don’t really agree with. Complicated? Some people are complicated. Because of stereotypes, more males than females decide to hide this from everyone.

    sulz: true, there are gays who are more feminine than girls, and girls who are more masculine than guys.

    lots! i don’t know lots of things. doesn’t mean that i know what all girls know.

    i understand – it’s just what i personally think, i wouldn’t expect you to agree with everything. it’s just written as something fluffy – i didn’t mean it to be taken seriously, really!

  7. Boys don’t pretend?! Puhleaze!! πŸ™‚

    sulz: haha… maybe it’s just that i would like to think so? πŸ˜‰

  8. In my experience boys are less complicated than girls…so its easier to be friends with them….also I havent yet met any guy who is as scheming as a girl…U get to meet a nasty lot during hostel life.

    BTW u have been tagged. Check out my recent post.

    sulz: i know, i feel that way too. and you working in a largely-male environment would carry better weight than my words since i have limited experience with boys. πŸ˜€ that said, i’m sure there are scheming guys too, like in the corporate world probably.

    thanks for telling and tagging. very timely too, amit awarded me! πŸ˜›

  9. I really liked this post. πŸ™‚
    I never knew that we had such a good reputation.

    sulz: hahaha! that’s ‘cos i haven’t written a why i don’t like boys post. πŸ˜‰ thank you for the compliment, nonetheless!

  10. Boys have got willys

    sulz: is that why you like them? :mrgreen:

  11. Beat them off with a big stick that’s what πŸ™‚

    sulz: you’re scaring them boys away. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

