blogging gobbledygook and such

The Show and Tell Tag

Random picture of 9’s Roald Dahl collection which I’m envious of because they’re all the same edition. (Mine’s a mish-mash of brand-new books and second-hand books of different editions.) I started her obsession by giving her Matilda for her birthday. πŸ˜€ (I got her the cow from Macau. It’s very soft!)

Amit tagged me “to fish out an old photo, preferably a decade old and taken when I was completely unaware.”

I’d do better, I’ll show two!

More baby photos here

That’s me, with Dee, as a newborn and a few months old later. Maybe a year old, I did look kinda big even then, hmph! I look like a boy. M has this little superstition that if a baby looks like a girl or a boy, regardless its sex, the next baby the mother gives birth will be the sex that her previous child resembles. So far, this theory works with all the babies I know and their siblings later on. Of course it’s just nonsense, like crossing fingers, but I sort of half-believe it anyway. Like the one about if you have a really huge forehead it’s because you have a big brain and therefore you’re smart. Which is discriminatory against small forehead people and suggesting that they’re stupid! Oh, M told me that one too.

Since that basically wraps up that tag – oh, speaking of which, I’m tagging Lovelyloey, Crazyasuka, BobbyG, Sushi and TheBeadDen – here are a few random stuff around the good ol’ ‘net:

Fairy Tales Can Come True
– Tips For a Loving, Lasting Relationship
Remember the Milk – So You Won’t Get A Tongue-Lashing From The Missus/Mother
Test Your Colour IQ – I Can’t Do This, So I Dare You (link found through schizo)
Church Sign Generator – In Case You Want To Start Your Own Religion… Or Something

Happy Monday, everybody! πŸ˜€

ps. Notice the plural in my church sign generated image. Gives it quite a different meaning than its otherwise religious connotation, does it not? πŸ˜‰

Comments on: "The Show and Tell Tag" (15)

  1. Awww cute!! Dee means your dad??
    LOL @ the superstitions πŸ™‚

    sulz: yup, the dee in daddy. πŸ™‚ well, we all have our little quirks! 😳

  2. Lovely pics. I love to see the age old pics!

    I am never too sure about superstitions and how much to believe in them. Somethings are more like seen through time and evolved into a rule, like your baby resemble rule.

    sulz: thank you. πŸ˜€ well, i guess the essence of superstition is that they have no scientific basis so technically we shouldn’t believe in it! but hey, seeing is believing, so i’m believing my baby ‘rule’ like people who have seen ghosts. πŸ˜›

  3. funny superstitions! lol!!
    Good one! yeah keep up your spirits and ours πŸ˜‰

    sulz: 😳 sigh, i’m feeling down again ‘cos in a few hours’ time i have to go to work. wahhhhh! πŸ˜₯

  4. thebeadden said:

    Awwwww, Sulz, weren’t you just a sweetie? A very cute baby. πŸ™‚

    I had packed most of my photographs away and it took about an hour or more just to find one. I don’t usually let my picture get taken if I can help it. Sorry it’s not quite a decade old. The next time I visit my Mom, I will grab one. Deal?

    I was going to ignore this one…..
    But I didn’t want to offend you. πŸ™‚

    I’ll pop the picture up in a bit.

    sulz: oh no, memes are never mandatory! sorry to have you gone through all that trouble. it was nice to have an idea how you look like, though, so thanks! πŸ™‚

  5. […] Show and Tell Tag October 6, 2008 — thebeadden I got tagged by the lovely, Sulz. I am to post a photo of myself, preferably a decade old and taken while I was […]

  6. thebeadden said:

    Just kidding with you, Sulz. I wouldn’t have done it if I didn’t want to. πŸ™‚

    It was kind of nice hunting for photo’s. Came across some old B&W ones in the process. πŸ™‚

    sulz: oh, okay! haha… b&w? my, i didn’t realise you’re that… mature. :mrgreen:

  7. I got a perfect score in the Hue test! yay! I knew it! πŸ˜€ I love eyesight.

    Oww baby sulz πŸ˜€

    sulz: hmph, i’m colour blind that’s why i couldn’t take it. 😦 haha.

    where’s baby nessa? πŸ™‚

  8. Aww. Such cute pictures. You must be daddy’s favorite gal πŸ˜‰
    There are many superstitions out there, it all matters only if one chooses to believe them.

    http://wescribble.blogspot.com

    sulz: heh, thanks. πŸ™‚ only girl, if i’m not the favourite i should be worried! πŸ˜† yeap, there are lots of things to believe out there.

  9. Hmph! I have a younger brother and no other siblings, so I’m not happy. My forehead isn’t unusually large, either!

    Guess I’d better start hunting around for pictures, but don’t hold your breath; I don’t have any old photos handy! I could be some time.

    (Truth be told, I’m a bit camera shy, and I don’t normally post images of myself).

    sulz: so this means that your masculinity has been established since birth, otherwise your brother would’ve been a sister according to the superstition. πŸ˜€ well, you don’t really want to look too alien-like, now do you? πŸ˜›

    you could make it blurry with photoshop a la thebeadden, though i don’t think she did that with photoshop than the photo happened to be grainy blurry like that. and well i don’t think i’d be able to recognise you in english streets with a picture of you as a baby or toddler! πŸ™‚ but you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to – memes are never mandatory!

  10. Thanks for doing the tag! πŸ™‚
    Very cute pics. In India we have our own set of superstitions. Have you heard this one – When a black cat crosses your path, its a bad omen. πŸ™‚

    sulz: sure – any tag to talk about myself i’d do. :mrgreen: oh yes, isn’t that a western superstition too? inherited from the indians, perhaps!

  11. lift our spirit high! you always do it sulz πŸ˜€
    yes sulz you do not look like a new born! ……but anyways this one is a nice tag as you rarely get to know ppl so closely and tat too blogosphere friends! πŸ˜€

    sulz: oh no, i was going to lift your spirits… not that i’m much of a drinker haha! but if i could lift your spirit that’ll be really nice too. πŸ˜€ feel free to do it if you want us to get closer to you! πŸ˜‰

  12. What a cute baby! (and a cute Dee. πŸ˜‰ )

    FWIW, people drove my parents crazy asking if I was a little boy. I wasn’t, and neither was my younger sister.

    (But it’s an interesting superstition.)

    The only superstition that I follow (that I’m aware of, anyway) is about spilling salt: I just can’t feel right about it unless I throw a pinch of the spilled salt over my left shoulder.
    (I usually arrange things so that my left shoulder is just in front of the sink. πŸ™‚ )

    sulz: hehe, baby says thank you. dee was a handsome man in his youth. i supposedly resemble him so definitely not pretty. πŸ˜†

    ooh, first person to disprove the superstition! 😦 i guess that’s why it’s called that, right? haha. wow, you really throw salt? i guess that’s good, you’ll take less in your food that way (if you cook it, that is). πŸ˜€

  13. Very cute pics! Whether you lift the spirit or spirits, we would be in HIGH in both the cases! πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks! hehe, good point! πŸ˜†

  14. Ah, that’s reassuring. I thought that meant I looked like a girl! But I’ve always been a very manly individual, though I say so myself!

    Ahem. And no, I wouldn’t want to look like an alien.

    I’ll see what I can do about the meme.

    sulz: oh, did you? hahaha… who would! πŸ˜‰

    sure. you don’t have to if you don’t want to, remember!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

