blogging gobbledygook and such

English Quiz

Despite my rather unpleasant working experience, I learnt a lot from my 2 months there. I mean, for someone who’s always prided herself for having a respectable proficiency in the English language, I have been proven wrong many times with my assumptions by the dictionary. In my line of work, the dictionary is my bible. And I don’t mean difficult words – these are simple, everyday words!

Well, why don’t you take the test and see if your English cuts the mustard? πŸ˜‰

Exercise 1
Choose the words with the correct spelling and punctuation (if applicable).

1. fun-fair or funfair?
2. air-conditioner or air conditioner?
3. air-conditioned or air conditioned?
4. air-conditioning or air conditioning?
5. second-hand or secondhand?
6. fire-engine or fire engine?
7. table-tennis or table tennis?
8. never-ending or neverending?
9. ice-cream or ice cream?
10. make-up or makeup?

If you’re feeling smart today, try some more with the next exercise. πŸ˜‰

Exercise 2
Choose the words with the correct spelling and punctuation (if applicable).

11. rainwater or rain water?
12. side-effects or side effects?
13. fund-raising or fund raising?
14. t-shirt or T-shirt?
15. mindmap or mind map?
16. mosquitoes or mosquitos?
17. queueing or queuing?
18. storeroom or store room?
19. onlooker or on-looker?
20. ongoing or on-going?

Answers are based on the Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary, 7th edition. Answers will be given in a few days’ time in an update of this post.

Leave your answers in your comments and I will give you your marks. Remember, no cheating! πŸ˜‰

ps. You can check if your English cuts the mustard with this Blogthings quiz as well.

If you were doing this little exercise by yourself, πŸ˜‰ here are the answers:

1. funfair
2. air conditioner
3. air-conditioned
4. air conditioning
5. second-hand
6. fire engine
7. table tennis
8. never-ending
9. ice cream
10. make-up or makeup

11. rainwater
12. side effects
13. fund-raising
14. T-shirt
15. mind map
16. mosquitoes or mosquitos
17. queuing
18. storeroom
19. onlooker
20. ongoing

Comments on: "English Quiz" (10)

  1. My English skills are my greatest pride… *deep breath* Okey dokey, let’s try it!

    1. fun-fair or funfair?

    2. air-conditioner or air conditioner?

    3. air-conditioned or air conditioned?

    4. air-conditioning or air conditioning?

    5. second-hand or secondhand?

    6. fire-engine or fire engine?

    7. table-tennis or table tennis?

    8. never-ending or neverending?

    9. ice-cream or ice cream?

    10. make-up or makeup?

    I think a lot of hyphenating is just related to personal prefernce, though. I don’t think any of the above are grammatically incorrect, it’s just that one has been chosen as The Right One over the alternatives.

    11. rainwater or rain water?

    12. side-effects or side effects?

    13. fund-raising or fund raising?

    14. t-shirt or T-shirt?

    15. mindmap or mind map?

    16. mosquitoes or mosquitos?

    17. queueing or queuing?

    18. storeroom or store room?

    19. onlooker or on-looker?

    20. ongoing or on-going?

    There! Howzat?

    Suzy x

    sulz: you got… 14 correct! πŸ™‚ there are some words which both the hyphenated and non-hyphenated versions are accepted and are included in the dictionary, but there are some which do not have or do have hyphens to begin with, but the misuse (or lack of use) of hyphens became prevalent, which became a common mistake. but if more people keep using it, the ‘mistake’ will become a correct version in time, i suppose! i mean, blog wasn’t a word a few years back. πŸ˜‰

  2. gentledove said:

    Sulz how modern is your dictionary? I may have some baaad news for you, in 07 TEO dictionary decided to de-hyphenate as many words as possible. ps I’m too much of a coward to take the test. :0

    sulz: um, it’s not mine, but the office’s one. my former office, that is! it looked pretty new. anyway, i’ll double-check (damn, now i’ve got to check on the word ‘double-check’ to see if it’s correct!) with dictionary.com.

    well, look out for the answers in a few days’ time then. πŸ˜‰ l

  3. lovelyloey said:

    Gawd. I feel incapacitated.
    Are you sure it’s mosquitoes or mosquitos? Not mozzies? 😦
    I prefer queuing to queueing. It’s just me I suppose.

    sulz: cannot! you must try! πŸ™‚

  4. gentledove said:

    1. The fayre 2. vent or fan 3. vented or fanned 13. bumming…..

    sulz: eh, where’s the olde english quiz here??

  5. These would be my best attempts.

    1. funfair
    2. air conditioner
    3. air-conditioned
    4. air conditioning
    5. second-hand
    6. fire engine
    7. table tennis
    8. never-ending
    9. ice cream
    10. makeup
    11. rainwater
    12. side effects
    13. fund raising
    14. T-shirt
    15. mind map
    16. mosquitos
    17. queuing
    18. storeroom
    19. onlooker
    20. ongoing

    I’ve taken an A-level in English, so I’ll be interested to see if I’m up to standard!

    sulz: oh, you did? i thought you’re studying for a-levels now! you got… 18 correct! πŸ™‚

  6. Nooo! Am I spam now?

    sulz: haha, you were!

  7. Okay I tried this with no dictionary or anything. The questions are hard… I was like “whhhat?” all the time so I don’t expect much. I am mostly guessing. How do you call this sign anyway? (-)

    Exercise 1
    Choose the words with the correct spelling and punctuation.

    1. fun-fair (I have never even used this term hmm.)
    2. air conditioner
    3. air-conditioned
    4. air conditioning
    5. second-hand
    6. fire engine
    7. table-tennis (I say ping pong!)
    8. neverending
    9. ice cream?
    10. make-up

    11. rainwater
    12. side effects
    13. fund-raising
    14. T-shirt?
    15. mind map
    16. mosquitoes
    17. queueing
    18. store room
    19. onlooker
    20. ongoing

    HAHA OKay teacher! Go ahead!

    sulz: you got… 16 correct! i’m sure that’s the upper-half grade of ielts. πŸ˜‰

  8. Hyphen! Fuck, I hate hyphens.

    sulz: haha, don’t get hyphenated-stress, it’s not worth it!

  9. Must I even attempt this?! I wonder!;)

    sulz: only if you dare! πŸ˜‰

  10. Sulz to the rescue! πŸ™‚

    (Go sulz, go sulz, gooooooooo SULZ!!!)

    I’m studying most of my A-levels now, but English is my best subject by far. I finished that one last summer.

    sulz: ooh, bobby the cheerleader! nice skirt. πŸ˜€ awesome, no wonder the high score. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

