blogging gobbledygook and such

Merlin Mann says so. He lists out 9 points that he thinks makes a good blog. I shall prove to you how he thought my blog is good!

1. Good blogs have a voice.
I have a voice! I definitely have a voice! It’s annoying for the most part, but hey it’s a voice!

2. Good blogs reflect focused obsessions.

I’m obsessed! You know who and what I’m obsessed with, don’t you? Me! See, I’m obsessed!! Obbbssseeesssssseeedddd!

3. Good blogs are the product of β€œAttention times Interest.”

Being obsessed shows where my attention is most of the time – me! Same goes for interest by default. πŸ˜€

4. Good blog posts are made of paragraphs.
I make paragraphs! My posts are never paragraph-less, right? Not only that, I number them, like this one! How’s that for readability?

5. Good β€œnon-post” blogs have style and curation.
I have style! I used to have the CSS upgrade and got loads of style back then, dammit. Nobody can say I ain’t go no style, okay! I don’t know what’s curation, but I’ve got curiosity. Same thing, right? Or not. Who cares?

6. Good blogs are weird.
I’m weird! When you’re obsessive you’re naturally weird!

7. Good blogs make you want to start your own blog.
Don’t I make you want to start your own blog?? What, you have one already? Don’t you need another blog then, because I make you want to start one? What? You don’t need one?? What about me? Don’t I make you want to start a blog?? SOB!

8. Good blogs try.
I try! I try damn hard, okay. Didn’t I just try to make you start a blog, or another one if you already have one? Don’t you dare say I don’t try!

9. Good blogs know when to break their own rules.

Hmm, I don’t have rules. I should make some… Okay, rule no. 1: be less obsessive and weird. Yay, I just broke the very first rule I made! πŸ˜€

Okay… I believe I’ve just decreased my reader count by the double digits.

*

Click for more random stuff about sulz:

This is my Twitter grade!

Hmm, look at my Tweet cloud. The words “my” and “trying” are the biggest. I’m possessive but determined!

*

Gentledove and Evelyn thought up some cute sulz poetry. πŸ™‚

Gentledove: Words that rhyme with Sulz

adultz
cultz-Sulz cultz
faultz-faulty Sulz
vinegar-Sulz ‘n’ vinegar
joltz
boltz
moultz-Sulz in winter
catapultz-ow or me-ow
insultz
voltz-eLECtric Sulz
waltz ah! the beautiful blue Sulz da da da da
haltz who goes there-Sulz on guard

‘Course if we change her name to Silz
we can have liltz singing Sulz
jiltz-ohno not again Sulz
kiltz-scottish Sulz
wiltz-sha sha sha…tired out Sulz
quiltz-beddybyes Sulz
stiltz-vertically challenged Sulz

Evelyn: (I stole gentledove’s rhymes…)

A truer tale is seldom toltz
Than of our lovely lippy Sulz.
When some can’t act like sane adultz,
she quickly jolts the silly dolts
with dread insults she catapults.

Gentledove: and on their ass she waltz-oops

Evelyn: Sulz is more gorgeous than Eva Longoria,
And Roald Dahl would envy her Bloggerdygook.
It’s a witty and fun-filled phantasmagoria –
If you don’t believe me then go take a look.

Even sulz couldn’t have done it as lovely as them! Thanks guys. πŸ™‚

Comments on: "bloggerdygook is a good, bimbotic blog (today)" (8)

  1. LOL πŸ˜€ I’m still smiling! Dont worry. U were one of those who inspired me to blog actively ( I already had one). I have been accused by someone of being obsessed with getting comments. Does that count? πŸ˜€

    sulz: heh, i’m glad i haven’t decreased your iq after that read! πŸ˜† aww, me? that’s such a compliment, thanks! hahaha, that’s a sign of a perfectly normal, healthy blogger. i’m more suspicious of those who claim comments doesn’t matter. it suggests an ego abnormally larger than a regular blogger’s, because she or he is only interested in her/his own voice. :mrgreen:

  2. I think a good blog also makes readers leave comments πŸ˜€

    sulz: hehe, i guess i’m pretty good huh, then? πŸ˜›

  3. I am weighing whether I am good blogger or not?! I am damn sure you are one…how else would u have so many readers?!?

    sulz: why wouldn’t you be? i read your blog! i don’t read bad blogs. πŸ˜‰ actually i don’t have many readers. but blog buddies, ah… i have more than i expect to have! πŸ˜€

  4. Well, you can’t argue with that. But then, we all knew that bloggerdygook was a good blog!

    You and your obsession! πŸ™‚

    sulz: haha, well, that’s what makes me good! πŸ˜› according to that article, that is.

  5. You sound soooo hyper in that list! It made me smile – like this: πŸ™‚

    So is it sulz pronounced sul-ts? Because I always thought it was sulzzzzz. Hm. I think you should change it to sulzzzzz, definitely. πŸ˜‰

    Suzy x

    sulz: haha, i was feeling especially manic and restless when i wrote that. who knew 3 days’ break could make me itchy to start work?? sulz is said like soolz. haha, that could be a nickname after my nickname! πŸ˜€

  6. Yeah! By those standards, all of us have good blogs!! πŸ™‚ Hahahaha!!!

    sulz: so we’re all good bloggers at heart, no matter how rubbish people tell us we might be! πŸ˜€

  7. gentledove said:

    You make people say dammit, everytime I use a double barrelled word now I think “dammit should that have a hyphen?”

    sulz: haha, i get paranoid about that myself now! i find this very therapeutic. πŸ˜‰

  8. Very, very funny. Merlin Mann is very readable, but sometimes he just damn scares me how focused he is.

    sulz: haha, really? i thought i sounded half-drunk. πŸ˜€ i thought it was a pretty good list, but it just may not apply to every blogger… (‘cos every other blogger likes to think he’s unique in some sense, eh?)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

