blogging gobbledygook and such

New Year, Old Resolutions

Well, not old like repeat resolutions, but rather that I do the same ritual every year since I started blogging. Which was on 1 January 2006, and so today makes it bloggerdygook‘s third birthday!

Happy 3rd Birthday,
bloggerdygook
!

Some out of this world blog stats (cumulative over the 3 years):

1. Received 2,355 virtual hugs. (More than twice the amount received last year.)
2. Blogged 575 posts.
3. Received 5,225 comments. (The amount of comments never fail to amaze me – it’s two times and a bit more than the previous two years’ amount of comments.)

Right, back to resolutions. But first, a review of last year’s resolutions:

1. Totally, totally tanked this resolution. I have no self-esteem whatsoever, especially after the eventful year I had. I’m not upset by this lack of achievement, though, because it’s not something I think I can do within a year. It takes years and many loving people to help me build my esteem!

2. Failed this resolution too, since I have not got a tattoo. YET! Yes, I still plan to, seeing as this is one of the things I want to do before I die. I’m also determined to get it because I know what I want as a tattoo, and it’s not some generic butterfly/rose/angel motif.

3. Now this, I think I achieved. I consider going to Macau as something accomplished because before that I have never been away from home for that far and that long. I learnt a lot from the experience. Not all good, but it could’ve been worse. And that on-off online relationship I was in taught me things too, despite the painful emotional experience.

Okay, Resolutions 2009 now:

1. Travel overseas… twice. You might think this is an easy resolution to achieve, but I foresee it a tough one to do. Travelling overseas once is no problem – Angel and I have been talking about going to Bangkok forever, we have to go already! The second one now… I wouldn’t mind Singapore or Bali.πŸ˜€ Angel??

2. Write… and get paid. I want to see if I can make a living by writing. I don’t care how I get this resolution accomplished – I could change my current job, I could do a freelance job, a one-off assignment… as long as I get paid for writing.

3. Make more friends. This is going to be hard to do too, as you know how antisocial I am and I don’t warm up to people easily. But I need to go out other than with Angel, Sushi and 9. Yes, these are the only three people I willingly go out with.

People mostly think new year resolutions are a joke, but I don’t. I really do take them quite seriously. As the year goes by, every now and then my mind goes back to what I have decided to be the year’s resolutions and how far am I from achieving them. I don’t beat myself up if I don’t achieve them, but they are always at the back of my mind.

What’s your take on new year resolutions?

Comments on: "New Year, Old Resolutions" (18)

  1. I remember commenting a year ago when you vowed to drop the ‘self’ in your blogposts and a lot’s changed since then.

    I don’t comment here or anywhere on blogs much any more, but I still read it and I think that you’ve changed a lot in the last year. Your posts are more direct and I think you’re more direct in general which is a good thing really and I do think that you’ve got more self esteem.

    I hope you have a very happy 2009!

    As for New Year Resolutions.. *shrugs* I never make them, but I wish you the best with yours!πŸ™‚

    sulz: am i?? i can’t really tell… but it’s always the case with the things closest to you, isn’t it? it’s people who are further away who notice any change, so i’ll take your word for it. thank you for telling me.πŸ™‚

    i hope that too! and for you likewise too!

    good, you wouldn’t need to worry about fulfilling them.πŸ˜‰

  2. nah. chipping in another comment to boost your stats. happy new year!

    sulz: sampat! happy new year to you too.πŸ™‚

  3. Happy New Year Sulz! And Happy Birthday, Bloggerdygook!πŸ˜€

    Well, you know my take on resolutions. Good luck with yours, and I wish you much happiness in 2009!

    sulz: thank you!πŸ˜€ hehe, good luck for the both of us with our resolutions really! yes, i do hope for much happiness…

  4. Good luck with your resolutions Sulz.πŸ™‚ I’m too lazy to even pen them down. But maybe I will! Your post is inspiring me.

    Btw, I have friends in Bangkok and I wouldn’t mind visiting them!

    Happy New YearπŸ˜€

    PS- Managed to type this after correcting 20 typos. Yes, I’m that drunk.

    sulz: thanks, i will need them!πŸ™‚ well, give it a try, who knows! but don’t be like half the population who make them then forget them on 2 january.:mrgreen:

    i have friends there too, which i made in my summer trip to macau. i will be visiting them when i get there, of course, and to bug them to take me and my friend around.πŸ˜†

    happy new year, ruhi! it’s nice to hear from you again.πŸ™‚

  5. I usually never make resolutions. This year though; am gonna get back to exercising that I gave up last year thanks to all the other stuff that happened. So, it is not a resolution per se, just a renewal!πŸ˜€

    All the best with your resolutions! We will take a year end tally in ’10πŸ™‚

    sulz: i need to exercise too, sigh.😦 why can’t i just rearrange the fat distribution in my body? i mean, my fingers and mouth move a whole damn lot every day, mind you!πŸ˜†

    thanks… yeap, i always review my resolutions, as you can see!

  6. Happy 3rd Birthday bloggerdygook! & Happy New Year
    Hopefully you’ll achieve all your resolutions for this year.

    sulz: welcome and thanks much! i hope that too.πŸ™‚

  7. lovelyloey said:

    Happy 3rd birthday!!
    Wah, so Ink. Inc. is ONLY slightly older than you areπŸ˜›
    Anyway, I plan for you: coach to Singapore, play, then budget airline from Singapore to Bangkok, then from Bangkok budget airline (should have?) back to KL. Good plan.πŸ˜›

    sulz: thank you! hmph, but i’m older than you! wait a minute, i rather not be older in that department… sob.

    wah, good plan, ‘cos near our homes there’s a bus straight to singapore, convenient… if only we got money for your plan!! and if we go by your plan, it would seem like we travel overseas once wor, even if we went to two places… (but the resolutions can be bended, i suppose! lol.)

  8. The Totton linnet said:

    All success 2 U 4 the new yearπŸ™‚ I know my ressies will work out cos I never make any. Take care.πŸ™‚

    sulz: thanks, and you too of course! well, there’s one way to look at ’em, lol. you take care too, is it freezing over there where you live?

  9. Everyone who reads Bloggerdygook should contribute to your travel fund! Happy Bloggerdygookiversary. Wow three years old! She is walking and talking better than ever.
    I don’t make resolutions because they involve too much will power, but I do write down what I would like to have/do/be.
    Your resolutions look really good and doable. I wish you luck with them.
    Very Happy, Happy, sulz.πŸ˜€
    BTW, I liked your shoe metaphor from your last post.

    sulz: haha, i should open a paypal account to accept donations, huh?πŸ˜€ gookiversary… sounds like we need slime as part of the celebration!πŸ˜† yeah, this first person pronoun seems to suit me quite well.πŸ˜‰

    what will power, i haven’t got my tattoo! haha. i will though, you’ll see! *crosses fingers*😳

    oh, so do you buy shoes like me? i recently discovered that i’m like that when buying furniture. annoys the mother to no end.πŸ˜•

  10. Happy New Year, Sulz!

    sulz: happy new year to you too, will!πŸ™‚

  11. lovelyloey said:

    Well then the second overseas trip you can go Bali/Phuket/Batam/Bintan, all the seaside places, heh.

    sulz: must start losing my flab then! lolπŸ˜€

  12. Happy New Year, sulz! Like Cat, I don’t make resolutions anymore — haven’t for ages — but I like yours and think they’re realistic.

    I rewatched Devil Wears Prada the other night and sent you a virtual hug!πŸ™‚

    sulz: couldn’t stand the disappointment of not losing weight and not being able to quit smoking, huh?πŸ˜† aww, thanks! i love the opening scene, with all the gorgeous girls in their lingerie, dressing up and getting ready to go to work.πŸ˜›

  13. Happy Birthday bloggerdygook! Sulz, you’ve achieved milestones with 3 years of blogging, way to go girl! Good luck in your resolutions and Happy 2009!

    sulz: thank you for the wish, kiran!πŸ™‚ happy new year to you too.

  14. Happy New Year! all the best for ur resolutions. I stopped making them long back.

    sulz: happy new year to you too! haha, i suppose you know when to quit best.πŸ˜‰

  15. and congrats to bloggerdygook!

    sulz: thank you!

  16. New year resolutions? I never made them!πŸ˜›
    But, I wish that all your resolutions come true!
    Happy New Year! And congrations for the Bolganiversary!

    sulz: thank you!πŸ˜€ i hope so too very much…

  17. […] in her country Singapore. But I have planned to visit Singapore by the end of this year to fulfill my New Year resolutions, so that’s one blog friend […]

  18. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant paragraph to obtain information concerning myy presentation topic, which i am going to delier in institution of higher education.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

