blogging gobbledygook and such

10 Irritating Phrases

According to this article, below are the top ten most irritating phrases. Let’s review it, sulz-style.

1 At the end of the day
Pretty irritating, I would say. I use this occasionally.πŸ˜›

2 Fairly unique
I don’t use this, but I suppose it’s irritating ‘cos it sounds wishy-washy. Is it unique or is it not? Just make up your mind!πŸ˜†

3 I personally
I try not to use this phrase but I suspect I must have before. It sounds pompous, thus irritating.

4 At this moment in time
I don’t find this irritating. It’s just a phrase to remind the listener or reader the context of the utterance.

5 With all due respect
Hoho, this one can be quite irritating if used with the wrong effect. People most of the time do not have the respect mentioned in that phrase because what follows after it doesn’t sound respectful at all, almost always!

6 Absolutely
I don’t find this irritating, but I notice that Westerners tend to use this word in a verbal interview. Example:

Broadcast Journalist: Blablablablablablabla?
Interviewee celebrity/politician/etc: Absolutely! Blablablablablablabla…

And the “absolutely” always sounds a little smug and pseudo-intellectual to me when I hear it.

7 It’s a nightmare
Usually the person saying this would be frustrated with a situation. In which case, I’m more likely to sympathise than be annoyed by this often-used phrase. ‘Cos well, when things go way out of hand, it is kind of a nightmare, isn’t it? One that you’re living in, that is.

8 Shouldn’t of
I have never heard of this phrase and if I have I would be super, super irritated. It doesn’t even sound grammatical. Whoever started that??

9 24/7
Probably irritating ‘cos it’s too cliched.

10 It’s not rocket science
Like, DUH. Talk about pointing out the obvious!

So which of these phrases did you find irritating?

On a similar note, I notice that I use a lot of repeated phrases myself in my speech and writing. Which of my often-used phrases comes to your mind when you think of me?πŸ˜›

Comments on: "10 Irritating Phrases" (18)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    With all due respect, I personally think that the phrases I use 24/7 is absolutely fairly unique, plus it’s not rocket science, so at the end of the day it all boils down to the person I am speaking to at this moment in time – if they don’t get it, it’s a nightmare. Shouldn’t of it?

    Guffaws.

    sulz: rotflmao, that is the most creative and sampat thing!!πŸ˜€

    • Sheldon said:

      That is absolutely fantastic…dats probably da best creative mind i hv seen IN A WHILE…now dats another irritating phrase…

      sulz: agree about creative, not sure about that other irritating phrase…

  2. I personally found this post hilarious! They forgot a few, like the old: “Not to be a prude but…” Which always translated to: Im a prude and… Or (This ones very popular with young sophisticates: “Definely,” definitely spelled wrong because thats the way they pronounce it. Yeah, definely a goot post… definely

    sulz: haha, good ones there you pointed out! i haven’t heard of “definely” before and yes it’s absolu – oops – downright ridiculous.πŸ˜›

  3. Yes, I had read this list from BBC, they are part of common corporate lingo. After I read this list, I too find them irritating for I do get to hear them everyday.😦

    sulz: haha, i can understand why. personally, what irritates me is broken english in official business correspondence! oh well, at least i get to poke fun at the same people when they accuse me of doing a lousy job.πŸ‘Ώ

  4. Firerocket said:

    Oh, I despise the phrases: “With all do respect” and “at the end of the day!” It’s just… like you said, you clearly do not hold any respect if you say that first phrase, and you can’t damn well learn some random lesson by the end of the day. >_<
    Grr.

    sulz: haha, yeap!πŸ˜†

  5. “Shouldn’t of” deeply irritates me, and I read it everywhere! Argh! Learn to write!

    Something that irritates me too is “No offense, but” because it’s similar to “With all due respect”.

    – No offense, but you’re an idiot!
    *person gets angry*
    – Hey, but I said “no offense”!

    I tend to use “I personally” and “Absolutely” a lot. I also have used “At the end of the day”… don’t know why they would be irritant.

    sulz: haha! yup! errr! hehe, each to his own?πŸ™‚ i suppose context is important too. these phrases probably sound more irritating if spoken by someone you don’t know well.

  6. How about “Taking off from where you ended…” plane or what!?

    sulz: hmm, i don’t see how is that irritating. context?πŸ™‚

  7. absolutely!!! πŸ˜›πŸ˜›
    these are the most common phrases
    this article forgot one ……” and all that stuff ”πŸ˜›

    sulz: oh lord, i use that sometimes! i think.

  8. pinnythewu said:

    Shouldn’t of irritates me when I read it. It’s started as shouldn’t have, which makes sense. Somewhere accents or plain laziness changed it to shouldn’t ‘ave, then to shouldn’t’ve until people started thinking that it was shouldn’t of. Gah!

    sulz: ah, that makes sense, how it came about. except that the end product, as you say in other words, does not make sense!!

  9. oh we all use most oftenπŸ˜›
    and i remember one more “you know”

    hey i wrote another post…tell me how it is….kind of short poem (going experimentalπŸ˜› ….and also i changed the design…tell me how it is looking?

    sulz: oh yeah, but everybody uses “you know”! though i do remember being a bit irritated by one particular lecturer who uses that phrase way too often than most people.πŸ˜†

  10. I hate a lot of these (but also accidentally use them sometimes too!)
    My pet hate is the insertion of “like” into conversation when it is totally, like, surplus to requirements, like. You know what I mean? Grrr.

    I agree with crazyasuka too. “No offense, but…” generally means, “I am about to say something deeply offensive but no-one can challenge me because I started out with the “No offense” statement!”

    sulz: haha, i use way too many “like” for my liking myself.πŸ˜€ sort of makes you dumbed down somewhat. ‘cos like, it’s the easiest way to say something with “like” instead of rephrasing your sentence into a nicer, more intellectual-like one.:mrgreen:

    rotfl!

  11. I’m afraid I’ve probably used all of these phrases at least once!

    Most of them are fine. The two that irritate me are “fairly unique” and “shouldn’t of”, because they’re wrong. “Unique” means “one-of-a-kind” and doesn’t take qualifiers, and “shouldn’t of” is a silly misheard phrase.

    The rest are fine, providing you don’t overuse them or misuse them. Some of them can actually be pretty useful.

    sulz: oh, haven’t we all i’m sure. wow, qualifiers, is that teacher bobby speaking?πŸ˜› yeah, the reason they’re so often used is simply because they’re apt and succinct. until someone comes up with better phrase to replace them.πŸ˜€

  12. shafiabegum said:

    shouldnt OF? omg that gets to me coz i’d correct the person in my head and keep repeating (in my head) ‘shouldnt HAVE’ lol yeah the grammer thing gets to me, a girl i went to uni with said ‘so and so ‘learned’ me this’ but i think i was the only one who noticed and had a problem with it! shouldnt she have said so and so TAUGHT me this?? is it just me? she’s a uni student man and not only that, shes an Agrade uni student! wow haha ok i’m getting carried away with this. i graduated in english & creative writing, could you tell?πŸ™‚

    sulz: err, no, i couldn’t tell you majored in creative writing, but i don’t know you that well yet!πŸ™‚ i suppose even a-grade uni students have their weak spots in language!

  13. I hear them all the time and sometimes use them too!πŸ™‚ There is another word I have started hating – Challenges. The way managers use this word id revolting.

    sulz: yeah, everything difficult, unpleasant or impossible is called a “challenge”, to make it sound less negative and daring you to whine some more about the difficulties you face in your job, lest you be branded a wuss for not accepting “challenge”.πŸ˜€ why don’t they see us workers giving such feedback as a “challenge” itself? :lol

  14. The Totton linnet said:

    I don’t mean to be rude [nosey] but….
    I know I shouldn’t say this but…

    sulz: haha, for a moment i thought you wanted to say something about me! :lol:

  15. I love to use them all as often as I can work them into a conversation!πŸ˜›

    Although I used to have a biology teacher who could not complete a thought without saying “if you care”. Now that irritated me.

    sulz: rotflmao! so if you ever hear a rumour about how irritating you are, you now know why.πŸ˜‰

    hehe, yeah, how dare he insinuate that you might not care!!

  16. An irritating phrase for me (so widely used in India) is:

    “What is your good name?!”

    sulz: haha! as if you have a bad name on top of your good name.πŸ˜‰ it sounds rather quaint to me, but i’d probably be irritated if i hear it as much as you have!

  17. tree services kyle tx said:

    Thanks for the great post keep up the amazing work.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

