blogging gobbledygook and such

The Most TMI Post Ever

Today wasn’t a particularly unusual day, but it was a good one. Which is a rare occasion these days. I got to work a little bit late from a traffic jam that was worse than usual, but that didn’t affect my mood, strangely. I’m usually very annoyed when I am late to anywhere official. I like to reach 15 minutes earlier if possible. But when I’ve been leaving for work between 7.45 to 8.00 for a job that starts at 9.00, I refuse to sacrifice any more of my time beyond that. (At least not yet.)

So I got to my desk and relaxed a bit ‘cos I have no work at that moment. I thought it would be a relaxing day like yesterday (I don’t have much work right now) – I managed to finish reading a book. At about ten in the morning, the boss beckoned me and gave something to do. There goes my relaxing moments… Did my job non-stop, when my other boss called me. He asked me to join him for lunch with our clients whose magazine I was assigned to help my boss produce.

I still hadn’t managed to complete the job at hand when the other boss told me it was time to leave for lunch. I haven’t even gone to the toilet! Luckily I prepared my bag and the documents I wanted to bring along earlier, so I dashed off for lunch. It was worth it, since I had a very juicy charbroiled fish fillet with raw veggies and slightly salty fries. I drizzled lime over my fish and had the waiter put lots of pepper on it. Tasted awesome with the mayo – or is it tartar sauce? I polished my plate clean.

And yes, I had yet to relieve myself at the toilet until then because I was too shy to call attention to myself. Despite enjoying the meal, I felt quite nervous having lunch with my boss and the clients. Luckily, the clients and my boss are friends, so they managed the conversation quite well without me. I was quite quiet to begin with, but then I discovered the clients live in the same neighbourhood as me so I managed to open my mouth for quite a bit, discussing community news with them and my boss.

I held on to my pee for over two hours until I reached back to the office and whirlwinded to the toilet. Ahhh, bliss…:mrgreen: But once I got back to my table, it was filled with the work I was waiting for in the morning during my relaxing moments. And I still had yet to finish the work my boss gave. It’s always like this, isn’t it? When you want some work, you get none. And when you need a breather, the work piles up on your desk and you would have no peace of mind to relax until you get those papers out of your sight.

So I hurried to complete my work, which is obviously a bad thing but I never seem to learn that lesson because when you hurry you make mistakes. I missed out on simple typos which my boss pointed out when he checked them. That’s the thing about my job – I’m never really given a proper deadline except ASAP. And to me, those words are scary because it sounds as if I’m late, which is why I scurry to finish my work and hand in shoddy ones because of my anxiousness of doing it ASAP.

Anyway, they weren’t big mistakes and so I shrugged them off and passed to my colleague who is in charge of making the amendments, while I complete the rest of the work. Non-stop working till about after 5.00 when I finished all my work and passed over to colleagues. Managed to relaxed a bit and replied a Facebook message which reads more like what pen pals would write to each other (and that is another post entirely and an interesting one!). And then it was time to go home! Woo hoo…

Got stuck in the traffic as usual, but some parts of the journey which occasionally is jammed up but is not today, so it was not too bad a day, traffic-wise. Reached home, had dinner, walked to the shops near my home to post a postcard, then went back to take a bath.

Was in my room – my beautiful room *ahem* listening to the radio when the deejays were announcing that it was time to give them a call for some contest. For the most part I have been in a pretty good mood, and when I in that zone I do things I would normally not do. Like call the radio station, even though I know I won’t be the lucky seventh caller.

And hey, what do you know? I was the lucky seventh caller. I almost didn’t get the answer right but I did in the end and won RM100. About USD$30, maybe? Peanuts in the US, perhaps, but it’s enough for two people to have dinner in a place like TGI Friday’s here, which I mentioned in the call that I would treat a friend to dinner if I won the money.

After the call was over (in which I said a lot of rubbish), I frantically called Angel on her cell because I know she’d want to hear me on radio, especially since the friend I would treat to dinner as said on the radio was referring specifically to her because we are going out this Friday. (Before my road trip!) She was not answering her phone, dammit. I called like half a dozen times. I even called her house number but she wasn’t home and would I please call back in ten minutes. But by then I wouldn’t be heard on radio anymore!

I didn’t want to hear myself on radio because of all the rubbish I spewed, but since Angel couldn’t hear on my behalf, I listened to myself. Thank goodness they edited the nonsense, but I didn’t sound like myself at all! For one, I said things I would normally never say (“You’re the lucky seventh caller!” – “Yay! I’m jumping for joy!” That was supposed to be ironic but it didn’t come off like that!) and two, when I’m on the phone with strangers I usually lower my tone. But on the radio I sounded… I wouldn’t say squeakier, but it just didn’t sound like me, I felt. Maybe what I hear as my voice isn’t what people hear as my voice? I don’t know. Oh and for three, I was laughing and giggling at every other sentence. Sigh… witty you are not, sulz.

So after they aired me on the radio, of course Angel finally decided to call me back. I went, “Why didn’t you pick up your phone??” and she went, “Sorry lah, I went to the shop and forgot to take my phone. What’s up lah?” and I went, “I won RM100 from XX radio station! I was just on air and you missed it!” but she went, “I was in the car just now! I heard you! “Jumping for joy”, right??”

And how we laughed and laughed.

If you’re wondering where is the TMI part, here it is: the entire time I was in my room and I called the radio station and won the RM100 and called Angel, I was stark naked.

Comments on: "The Most TMI Post Ever" (12)

  1. Hahahahaha! I didn’t see that last line coming! You DID say you went home to take a bath, but…I thought when you said all that about having to pee, THAT was the TMI.๐Ÿ˜‰
    I’m really glad you had a good day for a change. $30 is NOT peanuts in the US, at least not to me. Two people could eat a lot at TGIFriday’s here for that, too. Congratulations on winning the contest. That’s funny about how giddy you were on air! We just don’t know what we’ll do out of nervousness in new situations. Sounds like you were entertaining, though.๐Ÿ˜› I’m curious—Do they broadcast in English, there? Or do you translate for us?
    About hurrying at work, yes, I’ve fallen victim to that, too. Of course your employers want you to do it as fast as you can, and they want it perfect, too!๐Ÿ˜• I’ve found it helps me to change the last word in “ASAP”. Instead of “As Soon As Possible”, I do things “As Soon As Practical”. A small change, but it helps me focus. It sounds like you had a very successful lunch with your boss and clients! I’m happy for you; you are doing well in conversation, yay!

    sulz: sulz has tricks up her sleeves, don’t play play!๐Ÿ˜› (it’s an old catchphrase from a popular singaporean tv sitcom.)

    oh, i thought since the cost of living in the us is higher that amount may not amount to much. thinking about it now i wonder if it’s enough for me and Angel to have dinner in a nice restaurant. maybe if we hold the dessert? yeap, i could never earn a living doing any live performance whatsoever… give me pen and paper and i might have some hope yet.๐Ÿ˜‰

    oh yes, we have radio stations in english too. it is our second language here, so it’s very easy for tourists to get by here, even with broken english. in macau, however, that might be a bit tough.๐Ÿ˜€

    oh, good concept! i’ll try that the next time i feel flustered with completing work quickly. nah, i’m not sure if it’s a success, but i didn’t think i committed any major faux pas, which was good enough for me! and it was just lucky that the clients live in the same neighbourhood as me. the other times they were talking about politics and things i have absolutely no clue about. but well, i have to start somewhere i suppose.๐Ÿ™‚

    and i actually like this post, despite it being another one about me! gah.๐Ÿ˜€

  2. lovelyloey said:

    stark naked listening to the radio? Never knew you had a thing for the DJ. HA!

    sulz: oh lord, no way. i was about to go bathe!

  3. That sounds very funny… stark naked on Radio!

    sulz: oh lord, i never thought of it that way!๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  4. What does TMI stand for? I guess I am not-so-updated about lingo in vogue?

    sulz: too much information.:mrgreen: so there’s something learnt for the day!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Nice ending.

    NOW I get why you were so giggly and squeaky.๐Ÿ˜› Jumping for joy right? haha

    sulz: hahaha, no, i do not get high from nudity! at least, not mine.:mrgreen:

  6. Ms. Johnny said:

    hahahahahahaha….OMG! could that be the lucky charm for your winning? can’t wait for this friday!๐Ÿ˜€

    sulz: prosperity in nudity.:mrgreen: another blog post in the making, tonight!

  7. got the answer for tmi from poonam’s comment๐Ÿ˜›
    wooo….so you are again going for a gourmets delight post….bring it on and please take as many snaps of the delicacies you have as you can๐Ÿ˜†

    sulz: hehe, yup… hopefully the place we’ll choose tonight is good!

  8. Woo! Go you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That sounds like a very good day!

    On the radio, nobody can tell that you’re naked…

    sulz: haha, it was okay. the next day was bad though, karma at work?๐Ÿ˜ฆ hehe, yeap but it still sounds quite scandalous!:mrgreen:

  9. ๐Ÿ˜† Well, congratulations on the naked win!!

    sulz: haha… thanks, have celebrated and now am horribly broke!

  10. […] you had read my previous post, you’d know that I said I’d treat my friend to dinner for winning RM100, and I did just […]

  11. LOL. The value of $30 dollars in the US varies from state to state and city to city. It usually depends on the cost of living in the area. It also depends on whether you are eating breakfast, lunch or supper. The later the meal the more expensive the cost. I do not eat at Fridays but I imagine the price is similar everywhere since it is a large chain. However in some bigger cities where labor costs run more expensive, the prices might vary some. For thirty dollars i could feed two people well at most family style restaurants in this area. I usually figure $10 plus tip per person at most family style restaurants. Though mixed drinks would probably run the cost over the $30. That price estimation can also change quickly with themed/specialty restaurants like the Iowa Machine Shed (see link below), Red Lobster and/or Steak Houses. Slightly more upscale restaurants can run the cost up considerably. At a hotel I used to work at the least expensive thing on our menu was $8 and that was a hamburger and fries. But it was a nice fat hamburger!๐Ÿ˜‰

    http://www.machineshed.com/docs/All%20Shed%20Dinner%203-08.pdf

    sulz: trust you to turn usd$30 into a mini economics-cum-gastronomics lecture!:mrgreen: you sound like a good person to know if someone’s in town and is looking for a good meal.๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. LOL it comes with working and managing at a hotel. I spent five years working a one of our local hotels. You have to learn the hot spots and the financial requirements needed for your clientรจle to make use of the various establishments.

    sulz: so i suppose you have great pr skills too. i could learn some tips!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

