blogging gobbledygook and such

Road Trip!!

So the road trip (when I first mentioned it, I thought we were going by car, but we ended up going by bus instead – the phrase stuck ‘cos it’s snappy! hehe) I’ve been hinting since forever at is actually an overnight trip to Malacca! The last time I went there has been over a year ago.

I made the trip with Sushi, who was craving for chicken rice balls. She sure loves her balls…:mrgreen: As for me, I remembered being hopelessly in love with Jonker Street – and the balls too, among the other glorious food I tasted in my last trip – so of course I jumped at the chance. As the night market on Jonker Street only opens during the weekend, we stayed a night at Heeren Inn on Saturday and returned Sunday afternoon.

We took the bus from Puduraya, a bus hub in the heart of Kuala Lumpur (nearby Chinatown, actually). It took us exactly two hours to reach Malacca. Sushi and I talked the entire bus trip there and pretty much annoyed the rest of the passengers who were all asleep. A guy who sat in front us every now and then irritably shushed us, even though we were speaking in undertones. Oh well, we can’t help it if everybody else was sleeping that we sounded quite loud in the silence!

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Comments on: "Road Trip!!" (11)

  1. aditigarg93 said:

    hey i found your blog damn interesting….keep me updated..

    sulz: um, thanks… drop by again sometime.

  2. Well, you know me…I *do* love me some balls and bananas!πŸ˜„

    And you’re most welcome about the $$$$$ (oops…too many?πŸ˜› ) I didn’t mind. After all, I’d rather burn a bit more cash than have my travelling buddy not enjoy themselves while I amπŸ˜€

    Have you read the ancient book yet? I’m waiting still!!

    sulz: you big perv!!

    sampat! aww… remind me to bring less cash when i have dinner with you next time.:mrgreen:

    nope, i borrowed some books from the private library so i need to finish those books first. i’m thinking that book is just gonna look good on my bookshelf, that’s all.πŸ˜› but i do plan to read it! one day.

  3. That sounds like a perfect weekend trip to make!

    The things you did and stuff you bought all sounds so cool! I love walking about the city always rather than taking a taxi. ( Unless I am all dressed up for the evening)

    sulz: it was! i was so broke as it was.πŸ˜€ the times we took taxi was only because we had to. buses aren’t exactly reliable in malaysia and we didn’t want to waste our time waiting for it when it’s only an overnight trip. walking in jonker street was nice, but it was a little far to get to the eye on malaysia. i just kept reminding that it was exercise!πŸ˜†

  4. wow.. what a nice trip.. and the details with snaps.. almost feels like i was there..

    great weekend..!

    sulz: it was, and i enjoyed the company i had.πŸ˜‰ now life seems so boring again… haha!

  5. Jonker Street sounds really nice! This sounds like it was an awesome weekend!πŸ™‚

    I really like the photos, too!

    You have “ghetto-looking” people in Kuala Lumpur? I suppose that shouldn’t be surprising, but I was surprised.

    Cheesy music is something to be enjoyed! Embraced! Don’t let silly things like good taste or a sense of dignity dissuade you from its irresistable beat!πŸ˜›

    sulz: it is! if you don’t like shopping there’s always the food.πŸ™‚ photos are thanks to sushi – i brought my own camera but i’m so darn lazy to use it.πŸ˜› oh, we are quite westernised here for the most part. people who can barely string a sentence in english could probably sing r&b songs flawlessly at karaoke sessions.πŸ˜† maybe when i visit malacca with angel she might persuade me to sit in those overpriced, embarrassing trishaws! we would have a laugh.πŸ˜†

  6. Nice travelogueπŸ™‚

    sulz: hehe, thanks!πŸ™‚

  7. btw, did I say I envy you…oh so wish to make such tripsπŸ˜‰

    sulz: i’m sure you’ll have the chance! besides, it was just a quick overnight trip, nothing too fun. otherwise i’ll need a bank loan.πŸ˜†

  8. thebeadden said:

    Great post, Sulz! The lights, the colours! No wonder you love the atmosphere. Thanks for sharing and the photographs! It is so nice to see other countries.

    I am so in love with your t-shirt. I would have bought one myself!

    Glad you had such a nice trip.

    sulz: thank you! i wish we had remembered to take more pictures but i think the pictures i put up were basically the important ones, hehe. i think i was a little too verbose for an overnight trip!πŸ˜›

    hehe, i love it too. as malaysian blogspeak goes, “so witty can die.”πŸ˜†

  9. Firerocket said:

    Damn, hahaha looks like you had an amazing time! I love the hub of Kuala Lumpur. I just love KL to be honest. A very nice city indeed. I went there for a wedding, it was gorgeous!
    Though, I must admit, I’ve never been to the Chinatown, however, you make me want to go there really badly!

    sulz: i did! oh, you’ve been to kl! i’m glad you liked it.πŸ™‚ well, in comparison to hong kong, i think hk would be better – even if i’ve never been there (except disneyland) before! you might prefer jonker walk instead.πŸ˜‰

  10. lucky youπŸ˜›
    i didnt read the entire post………..got so many pages but i will read the rest soon
    dont worry in india if we have to like go from north to south india by train the journey takes atleast 3 daysπŸ˜†

    sulz: i know i wrote too much for an overnight trip!πŸ˜†

  11. All your food sounds good. I want me some balls now, too! Remind me not to take a bus with you two on it;πŸ˜‰ I like to sleep on the bus, too, unless there is awesome scenery outside.
    I guess at tourist spots you’re meant to look at the architecture and mutter “My, how historical.” or “Ooo, Ahh, Pretty!”πŸ™‚
    Glad you had such a good time; nice break from work.

    sulz: hehe, make a trip down here then, some day.πŸ˜‰ hahaha! haha, yes! yes it was, but now life has no meaning to it anymore!! waaaahhh.πŸ˜₯

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

