blogging gobbledygook and such

A Bookish Adventure Ahead

… ‘cos I just got a dream part-time job!!! Guess where.

(Before I tell you that, though, I have decided that you guys are right about my lament in having more online friends than offline. Truth is that I do prefer to make friends online. Despite the risk of wolves in sheeps’ clothing disguise, I find that people online are more genuine in their interaction than people in real life. I feel whoever reads and talks to me in my blog are people who actually like the real me and want to get to know me better. And likewise, when I comment in peoples’ blogs I only do so ‘cos I’d like the chance to get to know them. I don’t get that feeling with face-to-face interaction because sometimes people make small talk out of obligation and proximity. I’m always paranoid about whether they actually want to talk to me or they have to.)

Yes, that’s right, a bookshop!

I saw the job classifieds at work one day and sent in my cv for the heck of it, asking for a part-time position even though it doesn’t say they need one (which I’m assuming is a full-time worker that they’re looking for). But one day the boss called me up. Even then, I didn’t get my hopes up ‘cos I have my French class during the weekend, so chances are they’re not interested in hiring me when they know I can’t even work two days.

But surprise! The boss called me three days ago to talk some more, then two days ago he arranged for an interview with me, and yesterday I met him and his wife, who own the bookshop. I was hired then and there and I’m starting work today!

I’m trying not to get my hopes up but am failing miserably at that because I’ve always wanted to work in a bookshop and now I am! I had a good feeling just entering the stock room, surrounded by all those lovely, new books. Not the feeling that I was going to get the job (I thought they would think about it first, not hire me then and there), but a happy feeling just being around them books.

The husband and wife bosses basically gave me a crash course on their bookshop during the interview yesterday. Unlike popular chain bookstores in my country, this bookshop is a little different in that they sell brand new books at warehouse-sale prices. They source their books directly from publishers to get extra unsold copies and sell them. This means that they have to sell whatever the publishers give them – they can’t make orders because the publishers can’t confirm if there would be extra stock on a certain book.

They actually don’t need a part-timer but they could tell from my cv that I love to read and write and they believe they can tap into those skills. Having visited their bookshop whenever I drop by that mall, I’m sure I can give recommendations on certain books and I’m really eager to learn about the book retail business. They said they welcome feedback from the staff, as they’re interested to give customers a different experience from other bookshops, so if there’s something other bookshops haven’t tried, they are quite willing to give it a go!

As a customer, I already had ideas on what bookshops could do to improve. Now that I’m working there, I hope I can convince them of those ideas! This bookshop is truly different – I mean, they’re willing to hire a part-timer despite not needing one, just on the basis that the girl likes to read and write. They’re obviously on a different track than other bookshops who are just looking for full-timers to hold the fort. Problem with that is that most people who love to read books would never be satisfied with the sort of pay full-time workers in a bookshop get. It’s far too low for book lovers, who most of the time are more highly qualified than the qualifications needed for the job. And I believe the bosses realise that, hence the hiring of sulz!

I’m reporting for my first day of work there in a few hours’ time and I’m jumping inside. I’m not just going to learn about the book retail business; this job is going to make me brush up interpersonal skills, meet people and talk about something I love, learn more about books so I can talk about them with customers… everything there is to learn in this job, will be all about my favourite subject in the whole wide world! And being paid for doing that!!

Know what’s the icing on the cake? They’re paying me slightly more than the average rate for part-timers (on the basis of my ‘skillz’), the location is not too far from home (less than twenty minutes’ drive and since it’s on weekends, I won’t be stuck in a jam), parking fee is affordable and the hours are very suitable. It’s a tick on everything in my criteria for a part-time job!

First question I’m gonna ask (not literally, of course, but the first moment suitable to ask such a question) is that if staff gets a discount for buying books. :mrgreen:

I’ll write about my first day at work (again! haha) soon! I’ll try to take pictures too. πŸ˜€

Comments on: "A Bookish Adventure Ahead" (18)

  1. Hahaha… I know where this place is. πŸ˜› Oh and yeah the bosses are really lovely and helpful. They recommended this really good set of LOTR books that I am dying to get! Btw, can you update me if and when they get their new stock of “Catch 22”? Thanks.

    sulz: well, it is the only sort of bookshop around town! i can check the database but you need to remind me again, i’m sure i’ll forget.

  2. Congrats!!

    sulz: thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like a swell part time job! Congrats & best wishes!! πŸ™‚

    sulz: so far so good, i think! thank you apar. πŸ™‚

  4. wohoo!! happy for you sulz! being in a bookshop is just one of the most cozy feelings… and now uou’re being paid for it πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks mohit. πŸ™‚ yeah, it’s different being on the other side of the bookshop… but in a better way!

  5. Thats an awesome part – time job. Perfect for any book lover!

    What will be your working days? Just the weekends? Then what about the French classes?

    sulz: i know! πŸ˜€ i work straight after my class for 5 hours. but it’s okay, my classes will be over by april.

  6. oh how great.. surrounded by so many books.. very happy to hear that.. have a great time there..

    also here you might meet the like minded people. πŸ™‚

    sulz: yes it’s nice to be surrounded by them books! well, i just started so not hoping too much on meeting people like that. just as long as they are nice to me i’d be glad enough.

  7. Sounds lovely! Good luck. πŸ™‚

    sulz: it was tiring! but i didn’t dislike it. πŸ™‚

  8. lovelyloey said:

    woooooot!
    That’s a good job, really.
    I’ve always wanted to open my own little quaint bookstore that sells ONLY fiction books, heh.
    Now, I can foresee the part-time job pay going towards purchases at the workplace … hmmm heh

    sulz: yup, i couldn’t have found a more perfect job, honestly. well, maybe that book rental shop near my home but i doubt the pay would be as good. i’d like to open my own bookshop too! i’m thinking more of book rental, but that doesn’t seem to be very popular for some reason.

    best part is, staff discount is 25%! and this is a bookshop where most books are already at much cheaper prices than chain bookstores.

  9. Wow! I would love to work in a bookshop too. πŸ™‚ Congrats girl, way to go! Maybe you will also meet your prince in between those books πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    sulz: why don’t you drop your cv to the nearest bookshop to you? πŸ˜‰ haha, i doubt it – in between the pages is more likely! πŸ˜†

  10. awesome girl! πŸ˜› congrats.

    sulz: thanks. πŸ˜€ maybe when you’re back you can visit me there, haha.

  11. I am so jealous! I would love to work in a bookshop. In fact you have just made me think I should send my CV to some – just in case they need a part-time book lover to come work for them!
    Hope your first day is brilliant!
    x

    sulz: you should! though it can be quite burdensome on the paycheck after you found some books you just need to get. πŸ˜†

    it wasn’t brilliant, but i’m hopeful still!

  12. Sulz,
    All the best for the new ,weekend,job.You sound very excited and happy.Good luck.

    sulz: thank you! i was. πŸ™‚

  13. congrats! πŸ˜›
    working in a bookstore is just totally out of the box.
    hope you enjoy the work and please do post the snaps

    and thank god you got the point πŸ˜›
    well i think a genuine and happy blogger like you is hardly going to find a sheep cum wolf πŸ˜›

    ps – what if they give you books as pay cheque….AWESOME πŸ˜†

    sulz: thank you. πŸ™‚ will try to, but not so soon i think. hey, i met my fair share of people who didn’t turn out quite the way i expected, so i did meet some people like that!

    nah, they don’t… a 25% staff discount is almost making them pay me with books, though. πŸ˜†

  14. That’s awesome! Good luck!! πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks, i’ll need it! πŸ™‚

  15. great! so now you can have your own library πŸ˜›
    and besides , internet is surely is a vulnerable domain , so one always needs to be on guard

    sulz: i don’t have any space in my bookshelf now, that’s the problem! yeah, even the nicest of people have bad sides to them. i can attest to this claim, being one myself. πŸ˜†

  16. I was thinking about you all weekend. How marvelous that you could work amongst all those new-smelly books! πŸ˜‰ With your language class, and all, your life is getting crowded! I’ll bet you’ll meet some nice people in the store.
    Only think is…less time for blogging. 😦 πŸ˜€

    sulz: thank you for thinking of me. πŸ™‚ yeah i much prefer new to old books! the bookshop is clean and nice-looking. yeah, i don’t have any time for myself now, sigh. but at least i can settle my debts quicker. or shop more. πŸ˜•

    maybe i might blog less, i don’t know. i hope not though. this is the only true place of interaction for me.

  17. thebeadden said:

    Oh, Sulz! A book store! Will you get a discount?
    I would love to be surrounded by walls of books.
    Best of luck!

    sulz: if course – a pretty good one, let’s just say. πŸ˜‰ thanks, i hope i will like it more, otherwise there’s no point in having this job!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

