blogging gobbledygook and such

And I thought I just hate working in general.๐Ÿ™‚

(Sorry I took so long to write this up. Have actually started this post a few days ago! Yesterday I fell ill at the office so I hit the sack really early yesterday night. Had some good 9 hours’ sleep and woke up not feeling tired, for once! If only I could feel like this every day, but I’d miss out on a lot of good tv shows then.๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

Page: 1 2 3 4 5

Comments on: "It’s official… I found a job I like" (17)

  1. Yay!!I had a feeling you would like your part time job! Mainly because you would be surrounded by books and book lovers.๐Ÿ™‚
    About the bosses…well! guess you better wait and make your own judgements. They have been good to you so far but as you say, you can also be wary having heard your colleague’s views – but just wary. The ex-employee I would not give too much weightage to. I have known such disgruntled people who make a mountain of a molehill.
    Just enjoy the good parts of the job๐Ÿ˜€ I am happy for you!

    sulz: yeah, good point! i think i’ll ask my supervisor about that ex-employee, maybe he can tell me the other side of the story. and another good thing is that it seems the bosses aren’t around at the bookshop a lot, if my three days are an indication of that.๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Congratulations!!!
    To find a job that you like is a miracle. But to know what you like is “Hand Of God” Miracle. And you have witnessed both of them…
    Bizzarelly miraclious!!!
    Congrats again.

    sulz: haha, i wouldn’t call it a miracle just yet. i’ve been known to change my mind a lot.๐Ÿ˜‰ but i hope i wouldn’t on this, of course! thank you.

  3. So what do you mean? You’re getting paid for watching TV or something?

    sulz: um, maybe if you read the entire post you’d know it’s something… else.

  4. I am so happy for you to have found a job which you really like. I know people are at times difficult, and since we do not make choices about who is our boss or our colleague, there is bound to be some amount of dislike there!

    I too would like to work in a bookshop. Maybe even better, I would love to own a small cozy bookshop and a cafe outdoor! Ah… dreams!

    sulz: so true, sadly! oh well, maybe i might learn to like them better over time? owning a bookshop is nice but a heavy commitment!

  5. Congrats, buddy! May you find more and more happiness in your life.๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: thank you!๐Ÿ™‚ i wish that too, hehe.

  6. very happy that you like your job. and about the bosses, don’t go digging up bad things about them u’ll just feel bad. take things as they come. maybe the ex-employee did something wrong to be thrown out by the boss and now he’s spilling out his anger.

    don’t think too much about it.. just enjoy your work and new colleagues.๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: well, i don’t feel bad knowing what i know about them but i’m digesting those facts and preparing myself! i suppose everybody has their bad side and it’ll come out eventually, even me.

    yeah, i want to enjoy working there! otherwise i can’t work there because it’s very tiring for me.

  7. Congratulations on actually liking a job! You’ve done something I’ve rarely accomplished in my life. I too, sigh, don’t especially like most jobs. (Yes…I know I write a blog about work.) And I can so relate to your words: “Maybe itโ€™s not a big deal to do that for any other socially non-maladjusted person, but to me it felt incredibly weird!” You and I share this trait. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just want you to know I’m working on that “album”…my way. (One of the reasons I’ve never been keen on bosses, I guess, is I’m bad at following rules. But if bosses aren’t tooooo awful, you can usually find a way to get along.๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Good luck, sulz!

    Ronnie Ann

    sulz: haha, the irony, huh? i hope you are having a job you like now though. phew, glad to know someone’s in the same boat!๐Ÿ™‚

    so, does that mean you’re your own boss now? i like having bosses ‘cos i’m not a capable leader. thanks, i always need some of that.๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I’m ever so happy for you sulz! The part time job sounds great!๐Ÿ™‚

    Those bosses might sound a bit suspicious, but let’s hope they aren’t too bad. You can’t always trust what other people tell you about a person, because sometimes people just don’t get along.

    sulz: thank you, bobby!๐Ÿ˜€ let’s hope it gets better or stays as good, hehe. yeah, that’s true – like what happened to me at the office, huh? i hope i can get along with them, that would make life a lot easier!

  9. I have always dreamt of opening a book store after I retire!! Now I know where to find a supervisor for that!!๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: haha, cool! you’d have to pay for my hindi classes, though.๐Ÿ˜€

  10. thebeadden said:

    Good news, Sulz! It’s not often we get to do what we enjoy AND get paid for it. To have a customer ask for you already! Very cool! I’m happy for you.๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: thanks again! *hugs* hope this weekend will bring more bookish adventures.๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. lovelyloey said:

    Congrats on your new job!
    Your first sales customer is nice, it’s people like him that keep retail a bearable job.
    About the cash register; as far as I know, many places practise that. I do hope the rest of your colleagues are honest people because it feels like a downhill cycle; once people have to start forking out money, they think, I might as well take some too since the rest will share the “burden”. (the cynic in me strikes again).

    sulz: thanks!๐Ÿ˜€ yeah, so far the customers have been really good. maybe because we don’t harass them the way some clothes shop salespeople do.๐Ÿ˜›

    i guess i can understand that practice if the cashier was manned by one person, but when it’s not? they seemed honest enough. goodness, i didn’t think of it like that! you’re scaring me lah.๐Ÿ˜ฎ let’s see how it goes…

  12. Ms. Johnny said:

    I’m glad that you are happy with your new job.
    so i guess someone is going to have lotsa cash when we go to Thailand? wink wink๐Ÿ˜‰

    sulz: hehe, thanks! eh, why you don’t reply my sms one?๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    don’t count on it! my finances are always in a mess since i started working, sigh. but knowing me, i’ll dig the cash from somewhere!

  13. woohoo!!

    sulz:๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Hi again sulz! Just to answer your question…as a consultant I do essentially work for myself, but I still have to please the various people who hire me, each one a little different and with their own quirks. As for being a capable leader (although I’ve found people step up when they’re given the chance and good support), sometimes my job is to lead and sometimes just to get the work done. Nice thing about free-lancing is there is flexibility (assuming you can find the jobs, of course.) One day you may be doing this too since you seem to have some of my spirit. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Meanwhile…enjoy!

    Ronnie Ann

    sulz: even as bosses we can’t escape from having other ‘bosses’ to please, huh?๐Ÿ˜† being a freelancer, that seems like a far away dream to me right now! would love to freelance edit or write, though.๐Ÿ™‚

    ps. like your blog! i can probably pick up a few work tips myself from it.

  15. The Totton linnet said:

    Hope things are still going ok Sulzy babe, um Suzy smells something amiss [from a great distance mind ;)] Don’t they have “me” there? by which I mean don’t they have office Judys? Why do I say? because if each one who comes on to the cash register signs the till roll then it is very easy for the office clerk to check the sales and receipts and see who boo booed [unless someone is nicking it] that is if you do have office clerks, if you don’t something big is wrong on that side of the business i.e. accounts and auditing and who is keeping records for tax?-these kind of problems don’t appear at once but when they do-vengeance. Or maybe I am way off base.

    sulz: it’s an independent bookshop so they don’t really have much of a system actually.๐Ÿ˜ oh well, i’ll just take each day as it comes for now.

  16. The Totton linnet said:

    Aw I didn’t mean to pour cold water on your good news, let’s hope for the best.๐Ÿ™‚

    sulz: nah, you didn’t! it’s still early days at this job, i really shouldn’t get my hopes up too much too.

  17. lovelyloey said:

    Not scaring you, just a show of my little faith in people.๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    sulz: haha, still scary all the same.๐Ÿ˜› but i think having a good dose of cynicism is good. don’t be like me, so naive!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

