blogging gobbledygook and such

It was International Women’s Day yesterday and I spent it with Angel and Sesat. We had our first ever Movie Night. I spent weeks arranging this night via e-mail with them and I was very excited about it. I had to work yesterday but I got the morning shift so our plan didn’t change, though I was probably quite tired during it all. I still enjoyed it nonetheless!

I rushed home straight after work, which ended a few minutes later than was supposed to because the boss went on and on about something we were chatting. As I was briskly walking towards the car park, of all days I bumped into a former college mate. Chatted for a bit, told her I had to rush off and could’ve sworn I heard my name uttered by someone else because the girl was there to have a reunion with her classmates from college.

Anyway, I got home, freshened up and got into Angel’s car when she arrived cos we were gonna get junky food at the pasar malam (night market)! I love going to the pasar malam cos that’s where you can get great junk food and buy pirated DVDs. Speaking of which, piracy is rampant in Malaysia. It’s not ethical, but everybody has bought a fake DVD at least once in their lives. Although that’s just generalisation on my part – I don’t think the Prime Minister ever did! In case you were wondering, we didn’t get any DVD yesterday cos there wasn’t a title we were interested to get among the selection.

What we did get were char kuey teow (fried flat noodles with bean sprouts, shellfish, egg and the like, a favourite local Chinese dish), lo bak (I have yet to discover what’s actually in it, and though the dish is translated as ‘carrot cake’ in English, there is absolutely no trace of carrot in it and neither is it cake-like – it looks and tastes a lot like char kuey teow so go figure), crisps, small mixed platter of fried fish, squid and chicken served with a dollop of mayo, peanut pancakes and Ramly burgers (local version of fast food burgers except these are sold in stalls and not proper restaurants but they taste so much better – and it’s cheaper!). We were on a diet for sure – a diet of delicious, unhealthy junk food! (Hey, we’re only young once – if we don’t enjoy these things now we never will.)

We spent about an hour and a half getting the food before reaching back to my house where we were going to watch a movie or two. I had them bring many titles so we could choose what we wanted to watch. I was gunning for Borat cos I borrowed it from another friend but Angel didn’t want stupid comedy. Hmph! So we settled for Night at the Museum, which I haven’t watched too so I didn’t mind. A pretty good choice for Movie Night cos you don’t want to watch something heavy on a night like this. I liked it. We started just a little after eight in the evening, so the movie ended while the evening was still early. We watched College Road Trip next, which starred Raven of Disney fame. Didn’t enjoy this as much as the first movie but it wasn’t too bad.

As for the food, we bought way too much and couldn’t finish. The char kuey teow was cold and congealed by the time we settled down for the first movie, so Angel and I didn’t finish it for the gross factor. It made me feel less guilty about eating it cos I didn’t eat the whole thing, at any rate.πŸ˜› I discovered lo bak is much more delicious than char kuey teow any day, or at least between the people who cooked these two dishes. The fried platter and peanut pancakes were cold too by the time we ate but it still tasted alright. I refrained from getting a Ramly burger over the guilt of getting char kuey teow but got a bite off Angel’s egg burger. The crisps were better than I excepted and ate a handful or two of it.

So that was our Movie Night premiere! It probably sounds more fun in writing but in actual fact we just did a lot of buying, eating and watching. But that is the best kind of thing to do with friends you’ve known for 7 years.πŸ™‚

I can’t wait for the next Movie Night! We need a theme – Pirates of the Caribbean movie marathon, perhaps?

ps. I have the most exciting news but I can’t spill it ‘cos it’s not confirmed. Don’t wanna jinx it, you know? (I couldn’t resist telling Angel, though.) Just telling you now so that you can keep your fingers crossed for me! I really want this to happen.

Another piece of exciting news

Comments on: "The Premiere of Movie Night" (14)

  1. lovelyloey said:

    Lo bak … in Singapore we call it chai tao kueh. Apparently made of radish and flour. Not sure how to translate it either, maybe we can call it “that fried plate of flour and egg”. HAHAHA.
    I LOVE RAMLY BURGER. That’s something insanely intriguing about it because you really don’t know besides beef what other meat go into the patty. And the sauce with the egg. Indulgence, hoho.
    Anyway movie night sounds fun esp. when you people drive. Over here, we’re always trying to catch the last bus/last train or risk taking a cab and pay midnight surcharge. No fun at all.

    sulz: i think it’s called that here also. doesn’t taste like radish leh! so sinfully yummy.πŸ˜›

    hear, hear! only gripe is that they pour way too much sauce that it oozes everywhere. part of the experience i guess.πŸ˜€

    yeah and we live near each other so it’s okay to go home a bit late if we wanted to. for your case you should have movie sleepover! perfect to watch lotr or potc trilogy marathon.πŸ˜†

  2. Good to see you having fun!πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks!πŸ™‚ you should try having one too with your frineds, since you’re quite the movie buff, aren’t you? hehe.

  3. Sounds so amazing!

    Yesterday night, I went for a long walk, with fish sub and drink in hand. Then when that was one got a plain vanilla ice cream cone, then walked around with that a bit. Got back home and watched Ugly Betty new episodes.

    I think relaxing evenings are real fun!πŸ™‚

    PS: I am keeping my fingers crossed!

    sulz: sounds like something i’d have done during my month in macau last year!πŸ™‚ yay, thanks! it’s something i really want to tell you guys if it comes true.

  4. great night.. food and movies… satisfying..πŸ™‚

    *fingers crossed*

    sulz: indeed! and thanks!πŸ˜€

  5. Nice to know U enjoyed the day so much. U have been mentioned in my post on Women’s Day.
    http://opinionsandexpressions.wordpress.com/2009/03/08/feminism-and-womens-day/

    sulz: thanks! and thanks for telling me, i read the post but missed the video!

  6. Wow! sounds fun!! Yeah I love movie marathons…we had HP, LOTR, POTC and even Spiderman marathons!!! It is fun if you have right companyπŸ™‚

    btw, I like your header picπŸ™‚

    sulz: wow, who did you have those with? i’m definitely trying to arrange a movie marathon in the near future.πŸ™‚ hehe, thanks! it reflects my turbulent mind now – have a lot of things to worry about, sigh.

  7. Ms. Johnny said:

    I forgot to take our pics that nite!!!!! so geram!

    sulz: haha never mind lah, our kuey teow won’t look good in the photos also.πŸ˜› next time! must take picture of the pasar malam and the stalls we go to!

  8. The food sounded good until I got to the “congealed” part.😦 I didn’t see either of your movies, but I want to see the Museum one, looks good! It’s a great idea to have a movie night with friends; what fun. I don’t know if we can get lo bok, here, but I want some!πŸ™‚
    Exciting news? What exciting news? Want, want, want to know!!! Good luck with that!πŸ˜€

    sulz: haha yeah that wasn’t very nice! yes night in the museum makes for a good, fluffy movie. come down to malaysia for lo bak and sulz.πŸ˜‰

    i have so much to tell but i don’t have the time! i really ought to consider doing a podcast, huh? but i will try to write the post soon.

  9. sounds like a party to me !

    movie nights really are so much fun… great idea about the POC series…. maybe u can also do an LOTR series sumtimeπŸ˜€

    oh, n loved the insight into the street food too !!

    best of luck with that thing.

    sulz: nah, not like a party party but it was fun.πŸ™‚ i just did an lotr marathon by myself so that’s not gonna happen anytime soon, lol! thanks, i need it…

  10. Movie night does sound like fun! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself! Sometimes, just plain hanging out with friends is the best thing in the world.

    sulz: yeap, you should try it with your friends too.πŸ˜‰ i know! that’s what i miss most about college, just plain hanging out with friends. this is a luxury when you start working! that’s why i like working with people who want to be friends with me.

  11. The weather has sucked and I have not been going out much lately. I did make it out to watch “The Wrestler” a while back and I viewed the “Watchmen” yesterday. They are both very dark movies. Both had considerable extreme violence, dealt with adult themes and both contained gratuitous nudity. Still overall I like the movies. They did nothing to cure my current “Mr. Wilson” malady though.

    sulz: it really does sound like you have symptoms of the winter blues.😦 is it still winter where you are, by the way? spring is coming, i heard.πŸ˜‰

  12. I had my last movie night almost two years back and we started at 12 am and ended on 5.30 in the morning. And guess which movies we watched?
    Ring, Ring 2 and Gothika. You can imagine what kind of dreams I had!πŸ™‚

    sulz: haha… but it wouldn’t be a nightmare ‘cos you slept during the day after that, i suppose.πŸ˜‰ i wouldn’t mind doing a horror theme night except my other two friends don’t like the jeepers creepers. the last horror movie i watched was the descent. have you seen that? scary!!

    • I had a lot of daymares though.πŸ™‚
      Yes, I have seen that one. Nice timepass but not that great. Try “The grudge”.

      sulz: that one scared me! maybe i’m not watching enough horror movies. blame it on my other two friends.:mrgreen:

  13. Spring is officially still over a week away. Outside it is typical March – cold and windy some days – teasingly warm other days. We just a had a string of nice warm days and it has been followed up by several days of windy bitter cold (21 degrees Fahrenheit at 01:32 am, the time of this post). I live far enough away from the rivers it rarely effects me much but the local rivers have had some minimal flooding, however nothing really overly harsh yet in my area.

    sulz: well, that’s something to forward to then!πŸ˜‰ i think living in a four-seasons country must be very nice – being able to observe the changes of nature over the year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

