blogging gobbledygook and such

1) Pick your favorite number between 1 and 9
2) Multiply by 3
3) Add 3, then again multiply by 3 again
4) You’ll get a 2 or 3 digit number
5) Add the digits together

Now with that number see who your role model is from the list below:

1. Einstein
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
2. Queen Elizabeth
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
3. Abraham Lincoln
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
4. Helen Keller
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
5. Bill Gates
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
6. Gandhi
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
7. Pope John Paul
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
8. Thomas Edison
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
9. sulz
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
10. Ronald Reagan

I know, I just have that effect on people. One day you too can be like me. (If you swipe this lame-ass post, that day can come quicker 😉 )

p.s. Stop picking different numbers. I am your idol, just deal with it!

My role model

Comments on: "Your Role Model Revealed…" (20)

  1. Grrr 😡

    sulz: what grr! i am your role model, tough!! :mrgreen:

  2. Hey everybody…look I found a megalomaniac at number 9!! Run!!

    sulz: muahaha, too late! you played the game and found me as your role model. :mrgreen:

  3. I did the maths wrong and ended up with Abraham Lincoln and got all grumpy before I realised what was going on. Should’ve seen it coming.

    Though I do like his beard and hat (and his abolition of slavery and all that jazz, obv…I was only angry because I’d never think of him as being a role model.)

    Anyway, yeah. I broke it by being a dumbass.

    sulz: rotfl! you sure you not drunk when you did the math? 😛 it’s okay, i forgive you… that’s what role models do. :mrgreen:

  4. LOL.. 🙂

    knew it was going somewhere… 😉

    sulz: yeah, you knew i’m your role model because i am, of course! 😀

  5. Ms. Johnny said:

    how did u do that!

    sulz: that’s why lah i’m your role model! 😀

  6. I am *going* to find out how this thing works!!!

    sulz: the magic of number 9? if you like interesting maths like this, i have a book that might interest you. 🙂

  7. HaHaHaHaHa—you got me! It started off just like any other of those quizzes we’re all constantly exposed to. I didn’t scroll down until I did all the math, but I saw #1 and said to myself “I’ll bet I get Einstein”! Then, when I ended up with #9, I wondered who THAT was…and discovered it was someone almost as inspiring!!! 😛 😉

    sulz: whaddaya mean, almost?? i yam who i yam… your role model!! :mrgreen:

  8. I was like “aggh I hope I don’t get some religious crazy person!”

    Now I’m too intrigued, I need to know how this works. I thought I got a 9 because I chose a 9 in the first place.

    sulz: rotfl! good thing i’m not a religious crazy person huh? 😉 if you figure it out let me know how it works too!

  9. Let me see.

    The equation is 3(3x + 3), which apparently just pushes the graphic of multiples of nine one step to the left.

    Multiples of nine: (9x)

    1 – 9, 2 – 18, 3 – 27, 4 – 36, 5- 45, 6 – 54, 7 – 63, 8 – 72, 9 – 81. Etc

    One of the cool things about the multiples of nine is the fact that the sum of the digits always is always 9. This is just a peculiarity of the number nine (that’s partly why I chose it as my favorite).

    I’m sure they wanted to avoid the boring results of just multiplying a number by nine and sum the digits, so they switched the scale to the lelft one bit.

    Now, pushing the scale to the left while keeping the multiples intact can be done by adding a nine. This would be the equation:

    9x + 9

    9x + 9 can be factorised into

    3 (3x + 3)

    to make it seem a little more “complicated”.

    The results of this equation are 1 – 18, 2 – 27, 3 – 36, 4 – 45, 5 – 54, 6 – 63, 7 – 72 8 – 81 and 9 – 90

    Sorry for the nerd comment, I just HAD to do it.

    sulz: oh you did tell me! gosh, it looks rather complicated to me. 😛 you should read this book – the man who counted by malba tahan. it tells about mathematical wonders like this in stories. you-know-who gave it to me.

  10. So really the whole thing consists on:

    1. Pick your favorite number between 1 and 9
    2. Multiply by 9 (the other steps are just distractions)
    3. Add the digits (you’ll always get 9 because nine is cool like that)

    *

    Slap me and I’ll stop.

    sulz: but i thought the other steps would make the magic of number 9 disappear!

  11. I didn’t even do the math, really. Seen a lot of this very trick when I was in school, I mean when I was very small indeed. Second or third grade I think. And now good ol’ Sulz is out to make monkeys of her own blog readers. Turns out she ain’t ol’ at all. 😆

    As for the 😡 it was ’cause people in my blogroll were either not posting, or posting blog fillers. 🙂

    sulz: i know, i’m so juvenile sometimes! :mrgreen:

  12. This is not crazy mathematics, it is not really that complicated. Look, the reason this works is that the sum of the digits of ANY multiple of 9 is also a multiple of 9.

    So they took advantage of this and asked for a random number. The objective of the “steps” is to get you a multiple of nine that of course will give you a 9 if their digits are added up.

    They made it slightly more complicated to hide the trick, but in essence is the same thing:

    * Any number multiplied by nine will obviously give you a “multiple of nine” (just like any number multiplied by two will give you a multiple of two, and so on).
    * The sum of the digits of any multiple of 9 is also a multiple of 9 (this only happens with this one integer).

    So the black box of this game is merely obtaining a multiple of nine.

    In this case (please don’t be scared by the x, it’s actually very simple),

    9x will obviously give you a multiple of nine. (x being the number you choose at the beggining of the game)
    9x + 9 will also give you a multiple of nine because you’re adding a nine.
    3(3x + 3) is exactly the same as 9x + 9 but factored by the common factor which is three.

    Don’t be scared by the expression “3(3x + 3)”. This is exactly like saying: “multiply by three, then add three then multiply by three again”. For example I chose the number 9, so,

    3(3x + 3)
    =3(3(9)+3)
    =3(27+3)
    =3(30)
    =90

    (90 this is a multiple of nine, which means that their digits will sum up to nine)

    9+0=9

    Notice how you all did this process either in your heads or with calculators. You did this correctly in order to obtain “Sulz” or nine. Except for Alabaster who was alledgely drunk. 😛 😉

    *

    Now try something else, what if your favorite number is something else outside (1 – 9)? Say… 14?

    14 * 3 = 42
    42 + 3 = 45
    45 * 3 = 135

    1 + 3 + 5 = uh oh! It’s Sulz again!

    sulz: that made a bit more sense now, i think. the power of 9… gosh! 🙂 what a great way to teach kids this method in class.

  13. thebeadden said:

    That was neat, Sulz. And Muse is right, you are inspiring to many of us! Even if you rigged the outcome. 😉

    sulz: hahahaha! that made me smile. feeling very stressed at the moment at work.

  14. I knew this trick, about answer always being 9. LOL 😉

    sulz: i don’t care, i’m still your role model! 😀

  15. hahahahaha…………my role model is sulz 😛
    look who’s playing games 😛

    @poonam : i didnt know about this trick ….after reading your comment i chose another number and got the same answer 9
    ahhhh………..sulz……….”new einstein in making” 😆

    and finally i am back…….couldnt resist it anymore with just one more paper to go…….i will be off with exams …..hurray 😛

    sulz: lol. good luck for the last paper! 🙂

  16. lolz….

    done this so many times during school days but its fun to do it again now 😉

    sulz: we didn’t do this in my school! is this a generation thing?

  17. thank you sulz
    and did i tell you that the new header looks like mesh of fragments of colored hair
    but its a nice and interesting contrast 😛
    better than the previous look 😛

    sulz: hmm, it does a little, doesn’t it? it’s supposed to reflect my chaotic mind. 🙂

  18. Hahaha! Darn sneaky. 😆

    sulz: nonsense! role models don’t do sneaky. 😀

  19. You wasted five minutes of my life. Anyways I had no intention of replacing you by someone else. Thank god it came out 9. 😛

    sulz: hahahaha! 😀

  20. beingmaisie said:

    Nice, whats it feel like to be such a role model. LOL

    sulz: feels all powerful! muahaha. 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

