blogging gobbledygook and such

Growing

It’s something we do every day but we don’t notice it. The daily growing is too minute in result to notice any difference at the end of each day. But give it some time and then one day you realise your baby’s growing so fast, or your parents are greying quicker than you think, or your body is growing sideways and downwards just a little too much for your liking…

We can’t stop growth. With each breath we take, every decision we make, we grow. Sometimes we regress, sometimes we progress. They are all growth nonetheless.

Growing… am I? But I just said we grow, whether we notice it or not. So I must be growing, even as I type these. I’m growing, even if I don’t feel as if I’m doing that. But why? Why don’t I feel my growth? If growth is taking place within me, surely I would be the first person to see what has grown?

Yet, it is often the people who don’t see you often who notice the growth in you. They are usually the ones who bring to attention of something about you that’s different from the last time they’ve seen you. Without them, you might not even have realised you’ve grown.

Grow… it is something I have no power to stop, and something I will not realise that I am doing until it has been done for a long time. Then I look back to the time the growth took place, and understand that during the time I most likely wished I didn’t have to go through (or that I wished it would never end, depending on how pleasurable that time was), I was growing.

Have I grown?

Yes… but I do not know what is growing within me right now. I shall have to look back at this time in the future, and then perhaps I might know what part of me is growing right now.

Comments on: "Growing" (10)

  1. and when we pass from this world to the next, we grow some moreπŸ™‚

    Interesting article. Me liked!

    sulz: i like to think so too. thanks for dropping by!πŸ™‚

  2. nice thought..

    i will be talking about physical growth only.. as, if we get into mental growth that will need more than a whole post..

    we grow and not notice ourselves. it is so gradual it takes time to show signs.

    and those whom we meet rarely remember us as when we met last and expect us to be the same and so any slight change is a noticable diffence for them but the once we live with every hour see us grow with the changes and do not notice it.

    children’s growth is very noticable and even who live with them detect it easily as it is loud. but after a certain age it does become subtle as growth is slower. thankfully..

    we all are growing.. degrading to be more precise.. moving towards senesence.. gradually ..

    sulz: true, degrading is part of growing… i like to think i am growing still, but i suppose one day i will stop and think, i rather not grow because i’m growing… old? i hope i will not be afraid to age. though i probably will be.

  3. You have got me thinking…
    Am I growing? Am I stagnating?
    These are tough questions to answer. I think we realize that we are growing only when we have already grown out of the last phase. This is what I feel and I may be wrong.
    But one of my favorite quotes is that stagnation is not my fate. So I try my level best to outgrow myself daily.πŸ˜‰

    sulz: no, that’s what i feel too! good that you try your best to outgrow yourself, though that phrase reminds me of a snake shedding its skin.πŸ˜›

  4. You call it growth, I call it change. It is constant, yet subtle. My classmates from school who hadn’t talked to me in a long while after we graduated say that the change in me is marked. And I, having seen your posts then and now, with a big gap between, can say that the change is visible (like posts titled by questions then and phrases now), though the heart has apparently remained the same.πŸ™‚

    It is the innermost self that is most resistant to change, and if we love us the way we are, changing this innermost self is what we must resist.

    sulz: a rose by any other name…πŸ˜‰ and you’re right. i feel the things i’ve gone through has made me somewhat different from before, and yet i still have the same hopes and dreams as i did for i have yet to fulfill them.

    changing the innermost self, though… i don’t know if i should resist to its change. maybe it could be for the better? though it could very well be for the worse to, depending on perspective. there’s always the hope we could change back to the way we were before if that’s the case.πŸ™‚

  5. How true!
    Growth be towards progress ya regression, we learn! And when we stop learning from our growth, we stop growing — not physically, but every other way.

    Lovely post!

    sulz: thanks! been a while since i heard from you, nice to do so today.πŸ™‚

  6. randomonia said:

    Perhaps you’re growing mentally, or spiritually. They way you look at life now, is it any different than how it was say a year ago? Or a month ago? Do you react differently to certain situations now? There are many stages of growth.

    sulz: i would think so but i can’t be sure!πŸ™‚ and yes of course there are many stages of growth.

  7. thebeadden said:

    I read an article the other night and the last few lines were about growth. I thought, how interesting! If only I could remember it, I’d share.πŸ˜‰

    You have something growing in you? Sorry, Sulz. I couldn’t resist. Great post!

    sulz: haha, i wish i have a bun in the oven! but i’m not ready for that yet. thank you.πŸ™‚

  8. Growing, huh? What an unusual topic to muse about! It happens to everyone all the time. I don’t see getting taller as a good thing as such; it’s just what happens to everyone. I wonder if other, less physical kinds of growth are the same.

    You’ve reminded me of something that has bugged me a lot lately. You say that we don’t notice ourselves growing, until we look back. That makes me feel very uncomfortable, for some reason.

    But growth as a person comes with experience. The two go hand in hand. For example, if you don’t mind me saying, I think you’ve become stronger and more independent over the past couple of years, and you’ve had a lot of interesting experiences.

    Who can say what anyone will grow into? Perhaps it’s one of those things where you should just see what happens. Or perhaps it’s possible to take control of your own growth and become the person you want to be.

    sulz: well, it was an unusually good day at the office when i wrote this.πŸ˜€

    i think it’s okay to not realise we’re growing now until we look back and realise that we were. cos if we were to be aware of our own growth right now, we might probably be too obsessed about it and hinder the process somewhat?πŸ˜† thank you for saying that.πŸ™‚ have i? in some ways, i think i have – i could never have imagined myself living on my own for a month in macau, for instance – but in other ways, i still feel very much like the girl before macau. it’s like the experience has changed me somewhat, but not entirely. i suppose not every event changes you entirely in that aspect, which is good. only something big and rare should be life-changing.

    i think it’s possible for both to happen, yes!πŸ™‚

  9. oh i just remember that last year i think that i didnt have any beard ( just a light one) but today i have one ( visible enough) πŸ˜›
    ahhhh……..sigh………….growth
    why do we grow………cant we still be kids( i know what a mane excuse to escape from reality) πŸ˜›
    but really i think i am more particular about mental than physical growth
    in between are you feeling better now?

    sulz: i know, i sure wish i could go back to school or college again! but working isn’t all that bad after you get used to it… just don’t think about how you have to do it for nearly the rest of your coming life!πŸ˜†

    still coughing a little but almost fine now, thanks.πŸ™‚

  10. […] I grown? Am I different? I suppose I have, since I only recently posted something about growing. And I suppose I am different than I was. Then, I was sulz, a girl who’s reluctantly ending […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

