blogging gobbledygook and such

No tears.

Details tomorrow.

Okay, where to start?

Let’s start with from the most recent of events. Yesterday, I handed in my notice at my current job. Unlike the last time, when I handed in my notice before coming to work at my current workplace, I actually cried while handing in the resignation letter. You must think me a big baby, and I would even say you could be right, because that was really rather silly and unprofessional of me. If I could control the tears I would – crying in front of your still-new boss is certainly no ego trip – but I have problems controlling tears my whole life so I’m not going to give myself stick anymore for something that has happened over half a year ago already.

Anyway, yes! I handed in my notice yesterday, instead of today as I initially planned because I thought that might be a bit too cheeky. I also thought if the timing to hand in my notice yesterday wasn’t right, then it would give me more time to do so today. Also, the boss flits in and out of the office frequently so that was the best plan.

All morning yesterday, I was fretting and ansxious about handing my notice in. I didn’t have much work to do to distract me either. I chatted with a blog buddy online as something to do and in hopes of thinking about something else, but I kept coming back to that anyway, gah.

My boss usually comes in an hour or two after working hours begin. I was hoping he’d still be in during lunch hour and then I could slip in my letter away from my colleagues’ prying eyes. Thankfully, he did stay in during lunch and I rather sneakily went to his office to submit some work and hand in my letter at the same time.

I’m pretty sure he didn’t expect that, so he didn’t have much of a reaction. He just smiled and asked, “You found a job elsewhere?” I nodded. “Bored of this job already?” I shook my head and mumbled something while smiling weakly. He tried to probe about where I’m going to work next but I vaguely replied him. I rather not have anyone there know where exactly I’m going. Then I explained to him that I know my resignation couldn’t be at a worse time because a colleague is taking a long leave soon and I would’ve been the one taking up the workload of this colleague. So I offered him some options, as some of you might know what it is. He said he appreciated my offer and was about to say some more when he phone rang and I shot out of there.πŸ˜€

What an anti-climax, huh (for some of you expecting a bit more drama than that!)?πŸ˜†

The important thing is, come July, I’m definitely working at my new job! And what exactly is my new job?

Page: 1 2 3

Comments on: "I Did It. I Quit My Job!" (14)

  1. πŸ™‚

    Now to a fresh start!

    sulz: indeed!

  2. Yay! Proud of you! And you didn’t cry?πŸ™‚ Want details NOW. But will wait for tomorrow.πŸ˜‰

    sulz: there was no opportunity to.πŸ˜† wait no more!

  3. Oorah!πŸ˜€

    And a day early, I see.πŸ™‚

    sulz: yeah, i wanted to get it over and done with!

  4. oooo…. drama!~ >.<‘

    sulz: not as drama as you!

  5. good.. no (April) fooling around now..πŸ˜‰

    sulz: hehe… after today, no!πŸ™‚

  6. Heheh! Good on ya!πŸ™‚

    sulz: thanks nikhil!πŸ™‚

  7. Yay!πŸ˜€

    Good for you sulz! It sounds like the pros outweight the cons by a long way. Best of luck with the transition to the new job!

    sulz: exactly! thanks, bobby.πŸ™‚

  8. thebeadden said:

    Woohoo, Sulz!!! I am so proud of you! So excited for you! And a wee bit envious…BOOKS!!!

    sulz: thanks bead! *hugs* hehe… there are lots of craft books at the shop i work at.πŸ˜‰ come down here for a visit!

  9. Jelly Bean said:

    ‘Grats!

    sulz: ‘hanks.πŸ˜†

  10. Congraaaaaats!!

    People seem to be on a quitting spree these days! I know two others who did (and will do it) this week itself!πŸ˜€

    sulz: thanks! it’s the april fool bug, i think.πŸ˜€

  11. Awesome Sulz. I know, I know, long time no see, but it’s good to see you working some place where you’ll genuinely enjoy it and not get caught up in office politics.

    sulz: thanks, leap! indeed, long time but i still remember you, for what it’s worth.πŸ™‚ oh, there’s even more office politics here, i think, but i’m comfortable with the bosses at the moment and there are people there i think who are not into that, so i gravitate towards them.πŸ™‚ most of all, i’m really looking forward to accomplishing things there that i would be proud of!

  12. ah! great!πŸ˜›
    but for the last time , you should have blasted off that client of yours who ate your brain forn that stupid silly workπŸ˜›
    anyways , i am really happy that finally you got a job which you always wantedπŸ˜›
    and all the best for it tooπŸ˜›
    hope you touch the sky and realize all your dreamsπŸ˜›

    sulz: nah, i’m much too chicken to do that. i won’t want to put my boss in an awkward position! thanks.πŸ™‚ i hope to accomplish things i’m proud to say that i did!

  13. Oh!! I thought you would stick to the Apr 1st plan!!
    Proud of you!! All the best for the future…πŸ˜€ Books!…I envy you!πŸ™‚

    sulz: like i said, thought it might be too cheeky.πŸ™‚ though i’m sure my boss would’ve taken it just as seriously as any other day.

    hehe… don’t envy me just yet, i am sure not-so-good things are in store for me in this job. sounds pessimistic of me, but i don’t want to be too idealistic!

  14. Good! I hope things will be very bright and cheery from now onwards!

    sulz: oh but i don’t doubt some rain and storm will come! i hope i can manage it well when it comes, though.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

