blogging gobbledygook and such

Quarter-life Crisis

I laughed out loud when I read this Wikipedia entry yesterday.

Emotional aspects
Characteristics of quarter-life crisis may include:

* feeling “not good enough” because one can’t find a job that is at one’s academic/intellectual level
* frustration with relationships, the working world, and finding a suitable job or career
* confusion of identity
* insecurity regarding the near future
* insecurity concerning long-term plans, life goals
* insecurity regarding present accomplishments
* re-evaluation of close interpersonal relationships
* disappointment with one’s job
* nostalgia for university, college, high school or elementary school life
* tendency to hold stronger opinions
* boredom with social interactions
* loss of closeness to high school and college friends
* financially-rooted stress (overwhelming college loans, unanticipatedly high cost of living, etc.)
* loneliness
* desire to have children
* a sense that everyone is, somehow, doing better than you

I experienced every single thing on that list, and I still do some of them occasionally. I’ve mentioned in some posts before that I was going through a quarter-life crisis, but I thought that wasn’t real… not real enough to warrant its own Wikipedia entry, at least.

Am I still suffering from quarter-life crisis? I think most of the anxiety has been wiped off by my recent career development. My energy and creativity are being channeled into something I’m truly passionate about, so I’m not feeling ‘not good enough’ anymore. The desire to find a significant other and even to the extent of having a little girl to call my daughter is there, though I’m definitely not mature enough to become a mother now. And maybe my desire to dye my hair blue has something to do with my going through this quarter-life crisis thing.

I’m thinking again… is it really a crisis that I was/am going through? Yes, it does feel alarming that I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life and all that. But isn’t that a good thing that I was aware of the lack of life goals I had? Maybe it should be termed as quarter-life awareness… the realisation that you need to set directions (or otherwise if that’s what you’re more inclined towards) in your life in order to lead a happy and fulfilling one.

*

My Bangkok trip is back on! The political situation in Thailand is getting better as we speak, I believe… I’m so totally stoked that I’m even looking forward to eating my in-flight meal!πŸ˜† My apologies to Lovelyloey as I cannot make it to Singapore this time… I have made a pinky finger promise with Angel, though, that we will visit Singapore during the Christmas season.πŸ˜›

Bangkok, here comes sulz!!!

Comments on: "Quarter-life Crisis" (10)

  1. Maybe it should be termed as quarter-life awareness

    Yup.

    Without wanting to be too cynical, I think it’s just the feeling of leaving academia/school/whatever bubble you grew up in, and realising that the pond is too big for you to make ripples in.
    Disillusionment?
    Theoretically (I have yet to succeed on this one, at least for more than a couple of days at a time) the idea is to reconnect to self and community enough to be able to actually have your own space and world again, and not just be a tiny brick in someone else’s. Maybe after that you can reach further out and make a real difference.

    We’ll get through. How could we not? What with all this thinking going on.

    sulz: that’s very true too. i found my niche so i suppose i’m making ripples now.πŸ™‚

  2. Yipeee… have a wonderful time at Bangkok and hope things go for a upswing political situation wise..

    1/4 life crisis… on going for moi!

    sulz: yes, cross fingers the situation won’t regress!

    i know… i wish you all the best in getting through it. *hugs*

  3. Oh, good! I should have read this first; I just expressed sympathy for you not going there on the other post. OK, I take it all back! Are you sure it’s safe now? We want our sulz safe and happy!
    I read the quarter-life crisis description, and it does sound like you!πŸ˜› I never knew there was such a thing, other than your invention of it. Well, you may have a couple years to sort through it all still, according to this, but you HAVE dealt with quite a few of its issues already! YAY!πŸ˜€

    sulz: hehe, it showed you’re a methodical person.πŸ˜› yes, the latest news about thailand is that the government have dealt with the protesters and the protesters have ended their three-week protest already. we’d be checking the news to make sure the situation doesn’t get worse and i’ve got the malaysian embassy number in thailand. also, i plan to call my thai friend to meet up then, the one i knew back in macau!

    i know, i was just giving what i went through a name, like when i go through blogging blocks! yup, and i’m mighty happy with the recent turn of events in regards to my career. i feel like life has turned around 180 degrees for me.

  4. lovelyloey said:

    Your quarter life crisis dangerously equates to being an adult.πŸ˜›

    Yay! Bangkok! = I still get my bookmark! Woohoo!

    But just be careful and stay safe. Make sure you know the route to the Malaysian embassy in Bangkok!

    sulz: gah, so that’s what my fixation with dyeing my hair blue means – i refuse to grow up so fast!

    yeah, actually my friend’s sister is coming along with us to this trip too, so there is gonna be at least one real adult lah.πŸ˜† haven’t found out where is the embassy but i have the phone number in my cell phone already, heh.πŸ™‚

  5. Firerocket said:

    Make it an adventure instead of a “crisis.” That just seems like so much more fun. Anytime, you experience one of those symptoms, seek an adventure in anyway possible. Throw airplanes across the room when no one’s looking, pop a loud bubble. Just anything. There’s nothing like being a child again to cure something.

    Also, have fun in Bangkok!πŸ™‚
    Thailand is a beautiful place, though I’ve grown out of Bangkok now, I prefer Koh Tao or Koh Samui and just those little unknown islands.

    Sorry, I’ve been missing a lot of your posts. I’ve got exams and court dates coming up, all at once. >_<
    Also, have you any idea what happened to Posteret?

    Good luck!πŸ™‚

    sulz: i wish i have time to do that! but i think so far my quarter-life ‘crisis’ is well handled at the moment.πŸ™‚

    thanks! i’m gonna shop till i plop.πŸ˜† don’t worry, i’m just glad you still remember my little blog.πŸ™‚ i have no idea… just checked her blog out and it’s been deleted! that’s the perils of blogging… people you’ve emotionally invested in can leave you just like that.😦 i hope she’s alright, though.

  6. Yay! You get to go to both Bangkok and Singapore! I’m so glad to hear that.πŸ™‚

    I’d never heard of a quarter-life crisis before! The phrase sounds silly to me, but there’s nothing funny about that list. I must admit, one or two of those points hit home. But it’s too negative. “Quarter-life awareness” is a much more sensible phrase, I think.πŸ™‚

    sulz: yessss! singapore a wee bit later, though.πŸ˜‰ and that will be fulfilling my new year resolution of going overseas twice! even though they’re the two nearest countries to malaysia, haha…

    hope you won’t face this after college! though the possibility is higher now that you’re aware about it.πŸ˜› yeah, to be aware is better than to be in a crisis any day!

  7. I don’t have a quarter of life crisis, I have a premature midlife crisis.

    sulz: lol – aging too quickly, aren’t we dear?πŸ˜‰

  8. timethief said:

    @sulz
    Hi there little one who makes me smile. I’m so happy to hear that your trip is back on. YAY! I’m now going to sneak over to wikipedia and see if they have an entry for 1/2 of a century life crisis. Wishing you all the best in everything you do, I remain your friend and admirer, tt.

    sulz: the trip seems to be hitting a snag…😦 i’m crossing my fingers everything will go as planned though! i think they call that mid-life crisis.πŸ˜‰ thanks for dropping by – i didn’t expect you’d still be reading here!

  9. I think those are all things we feel from periodically in our life whenever we are at a crossroads and deciding which direction to take. You choose a path and see where it takes you on the road of life.

    sulz: true… i hope i won’t get into a ‘crisis’ like that every few years though. right now i’ve got this all sorted out, thankfully.πŸ™‚

  10. Maybe you should take this break to rejuvenate yourself. Sometimes such trips do wonders! And no, I don’t think you are going through any crisis. Its normal. I think words like “crisis” should be used in extreme conditions.πŸ™‚

    sulz: if my break happens! right now things in thailand are still uncertain, apparently.😦 *crossing fingers really hard* yeah, that’s the general term.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

