blogging gobbledygook and such

Pork Heaven

Last Friday I finally got to watch a certain shopaholic movie with my shopping buddy Angel. I liked the movie, a good fluffy watch. Angel seemed rather distracted, though. On top of that, she had the bad luck of sitting next to someone who was coughing like he’s suffering from tuberculosis, yet was munching on his popcorn loudly – the kind of open-mouthed eating which I find so horribly repulsive – and slurping his drink just as noisily and irritatingly. He dropped his unfinished popcorn halfway through the movie, much to my delight. But less to my delight, that just only gave him more time to blurt out unnecessary remarks throughout the movie. Gah, I’m really more irritated by him than Angel was! I kept making snide remarks just loud enough for him to hear, but he must have a hide of an ox because not once did he glare at me. Or maybe I was too subtle. Which I think I was not.

Anyway!

After the movie, we were looking for a place for dinner. Angel took one look at Canton-i’s menu and she started salivating – big fan of pork, see. (In Malaysia, most restaurants do not serve pork to cater to the majority of Muslim customers here.) I don’t usually fancy Chinese cuisine but I didn’t mind trying ‘cos I heard it’s a good place.

The menu cover

the menu cover

it's called a piggy bun - sounds like a cheeky pet name to me :P (like honey bun, geddit?)

it's called a piggy bun - sounds like a cheeky pet name to meπŸ˜›

that packet contains a wet towel that cost RM1... felt a bit ripped off!

that packet contains a wet towel that cost RM1... felt a bit ripped off!

angel's jasmine tea with a very weird-looking plant growing in it!

angel's jasmine tea with a very weird-looking plant growing in it!

Usually, I’m the one who has a hard time deciding what to eat, but this time Angel was agonising over the many pork dishes she could try. She kept flipping the menu over and over, looking at all the pork dishes and moaning about the many choices for pork but could only choose two dishes. I’ve never seen her like that before with food. It’s like a whole different Angel I don’t recognise! Pork is her kryptonite, I now know…πŸ˜†

angel ordered this pork dish as a starter

angel ordered this pork dish as a starter

it arrived looking like this

it arrived looking like this

this is my dish - <i>lo bak</i> or fried turnip cake, according to the menu

this is my dish - lo bak or fried turnip cake, according to the menu

angel's wonton noodles

angel's wonton noodles

Our little Chinese spread

Our little Chinese spread

I won’t be going back there anytime soon, I think. Chinese food is not quite up my alley. Weird, huh? But I wouldn’t mind trying a similar restaurant by the name of Dragon-i. What’s up with the i’s??

Comments on: "Pork Heaven" (15)

  1. MMM! I love pork dishes. Just about any kind. You cannot beat a slab of slow roasted BBQ pork ribs coated with your favorite BBQ spices or BBQ sauces. I also love Pork and Onion Dumplings, a little greasy by very tasty! But my favorite pork dish has to be Polynesian styles Sweet and Sour Pork dishes. It is hard to find in restaurants so I make it at home. My sister makes it every year when we celebrate my 29th birthday! Here is a link to my favorite recipe for it. Though I usually add extra bell peppers.πŸ™‚

    http://www.bettycrocker.com/Recipes/recipe.aspx?recipeId=35176

    I would have added more links to the other items but when I do your blog tosses me into the spam bin and then I πŸ˜₯

    sulz: i don’t fancy pork that much, actually. or maybe i have just not tried really good pork dishes.πŸ™‚ every year when you celebrate your 29th? time must stand still in your part of the world.πŸ˜‰ hehe… my blog’s pretty tough!

  2. being a pure vegetarian this is not my kinda post, but time with friends is anyone’s kinda post.. and those cute piglets in the first snap were very sweet to see..πŸ™‚

    sulz: i didn’t know you are vegetarian!😳 and the cute piggy buns have red bean paste in them so you could eat them, hehe.

  3. lovelyloey said:

    The tea looks expensive. I recall I saw flower-wrapped tea like these that cost about 1 USD per flower. Or more. Don’t really remember.

    Angel will have a swell time eating in Singapore then! We have a lot of pork. Hahaha.

    sulz: it was! well, for me, any drink is expensive because i seriously enjoy drinking plain water. cold, preferably.πŸ™‚ yeah she would’ve loved it in macau too… for me, macau was awesome except for the pork! i don’t fancy it all that much.

    • lovelyloey said:

      Oh. Then you probably have to be prepared to pay for plain water in Singapore. SOME food places charge like 30cents or 50cents for iced water. Don’t ask me why.

      sulz: i know, here too.😦 i shamelessly drink my own water at such places, though!:mrgreen:

  4. Pork is fine but I am a bigger fan of Duck and Turkey!πŸ™‚

    sulz: i’m boring – chicken, fish and egg are my first loves!

  5. I am also a pork fanatic. In India too, its not an easy task finding those good pork places.. unless you visit a high end place😦

    sulz: you will enjoy visiting chinese places like macau and hong kong then. pork everywhere! but food is very expensive there. :?

  6. this aint a gourmets delight …..at least for the vegetariansπŸ˜›
    but doesnt matter…….it was good for a change……..in between what is that on top of the wonton noodles ?

    sulz: haha, cheeky. i think it’s prawn wrapped in wonton skin, or something like that.

  7. The piggy buns look absolutely… edible! Saya nak satu, boleh beli tak, Sulz?

    sulz: hehe course they are. haha, takut nak masuk tempat tak halal ya?πŸ˜‰

  8. Solution: I’ll choose, buy, pay and duck quickly towards the exitπŸ˜›

    sulz: or plastic surgery. then you don’t have to duck.:mrgreen:

  9. I was thinking more on the lines of costuming. A strange, neon-coloured, furry animal should do the job!πŸ™‚

    sulz: they might not serve you – you sound kinda scary!πŸ˜›

  10. Okay, okay, maybe not the kid-scaring neon coloured Monster from the Closet type drag, but if I get one or two more people, I’ll stick to dressing up as a Kancil. How does that sound?πŸ˜€

    sulz: haha, you’re just gila, you!πŸ˜€

  11. I know, it runs in the family, like the song by Amanda Palmer called Runs in the Family, which is a good listen!πŸ˜€

    sulz: i really should widen my listening repertoire beyond american idol.πŸ˜›

  12. True. I don’t like how Idol manufactures talent rather than finding it; 90% is their unoriginality and the remaining 10% will be the singers’ stuff. Talk about sucky. You should try out songs by BjΓΆrk, Supreme Beings of Leisure and Goldfrapp, they might be your cup of teaπŸ˜€ There’s clips of music up in Youtube to make it easier to “try them out”.

    sulz: i have goldfrapp’s mp3! a&e… not bad. my musical tastes are really unhealthy – just what the radio station i listen to feeds me!😳 really doesn’t help that my speakers are broken too.😦 and recent events make replacing them an impossible option presently.

  13. I think the album Black Cherry by Goldfrapp or even Supernature, the album after that might be suitable. It’s more upbeat than Seventh Tree (where the track, A&E is from) and you can dance to it!πŸ˜€

    sulz: don’t you know sulz has two left feet? physical coordination is beyond me on the best of days!

  14. Don’t worry; I’ve walked into my fair share of walls and doors too, you know! Miraculously without permanent brain-damageπŸ™‚

    sulz: hmm, you sure about that?πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

