blogging gobbledygook and such

My Dream Job

I wrote this half-finished draft before I found my part-time job. Hilarious stuff, reading back at it now!

Previously, I asked some readers suggestions for a blog post because I was having a bit of a blogger’s block. There was one suggestion which I liked the thought of writing, but each time I attempt to write it or think about writing it I just couldn’t.

It’s all very nice to think about what sort of dream job you might like to have; a hazy, happy imagining of what life might be having a dream job. When you try to picture it a little clearer, as if it could possibly be achieved in reality, that’s when the hazy illusion dissipates.

There are many occupations I had dreamt to be. Teacher, writer, radio deejay (don’t laugh), subtitle editor, journalist… As a kid, I wanted to be a policewoman and a typist, among the other types of occupations I forgot.

I thought about that typical job interview question: where do you see yourself in five years’ time? I’d usually answer that question using the “I hope to freelance” card, which might be a bit naive of me, but it’s just because I never thought that far into the future.

So I tried to think what I really envision myself doing by then. Well, I certainly am not going to be in this job – I’m not even going to last a year if I can help that. I don’t think sub-editing is in my clumsy, careless nature. So, what job will I do next?

Becoming a teacher? Quite possible. I nearly became one, so I have to go back that path some day and see if I could be one. I don’t know if I will last in this job because it’s one thing to teach people who want to learn and another to teach children who may not appreciate your teaching.

Becoming a writer? I want to, but I don’t know if my writing cuts the mustard. I previously attended an interview for a magazine writer position but didn’t hear from them. I could see myself doing this for a longer time, since freelancing is easier with this job.

There is one job I see myself doing but have never considered it to be my dream job. I could see myself being a mother and homemaker in five years’ time.

Did I hear a snort of laughter? I don’t blame you. I, who can’t cook to save my life, who can’t iron my clothes properly that I rather send my nicer clothes to the occasional laundry trip, who don’t know much about caring for babies despite having been in close contact with them, want to be a stay-at-home mom.

And this was my half-written attempt to describe a day in my dream job.

MusEditions suggested that I do this. It’ll be good to put thoughts of my dream job in writing, to see it ‘happen’ with as much detail as I can put. Mind you, I’m not even sure if what I’ll write is my actual dream job, but I believe it could be!

Suspend reality here, please.

*

It’s half past ten Monday morning right now, and I feel awesome. I left home for work at nine a.m. and manage to comfortably arrive at the office before half past nine because it was past rush hour when I left. I’m also wearing a new top I bought on sale, which I think makes me look quite nice.

A little after half past nine, my publishing company had our weekly meeting among the editorial staff, which includes me. Our latest issue was released last week, and the boss is pleased with the write-up I did for my column.

After the meeting, my best mate at office comes over to my cubicle and with the help of my cubicle mate, who is also my good friend and part of the circle of friends I hang out with at work, ganged up to tease me, knowing that I get easily embarrassed by any sort of attention. We bullshitted a bit, our voices getting a notch louder every passing minute, before our editor-in-chief walks by with an extra loud clearing of his throat. We aren’t annoyed in the least because we know he isn’t either – he just acts fierce but he’s a real pussy at heart.

And to think, I never considered working in a bookshop, seeing how I love books. *facepalm*

Comments on: "My Dream Job" (11)

  1. Ha ha… I think its always fun to read drafts, don’t you think so?

    sulz: and archives! i can’t believe how different i was, and yet how similar i am still to that old sulz…

  2. Sounds like a nice place to work. Obviously parallel-universe-sulz is just too naive to notice the office backstabbing!!

    sulz: parallel universe sulz is at the top of the office politics food chain, i think!:mrgreen:

  3. Its always funny to go through the archives!

    sulz: and embarrassing!πŸ˜€

  4. i am back! i am back!πŸ˜›
    teacher…ah sulz than you need to have a lot of patience and need to be a little strict. i remember in my school on teacher’s day all the 12 grade students became teachers for one day and what mess we created…ah controlling kids is really difficult but it was enjoyable as wellπŸ˜› really kudos to all teachers out there….handling a class is equivalent to fighting on the war frontπŸ˜†
    and writer………….well i think we have got some similarities here……i want to become a journalist cum writerπŸ˜› ( i dont know whats with us the “great gemini”…its always “twin trouble ” )πŸ˜›

    sulz: i have little patience on the road!😳 but i am much better at it with people… i think?

    all the best with your journalistic cum writing dream!

  5. Awwww, sulz. You DID write about this! I liked your dream job story! I can totally see you doing this, and your book job may even lead to it. The ending was SO you!πŸ˜› I can see you wanting a boss like that.
    And, there’s nothing wrong with the previous one, either. You could do the “Mom” thing, too. Multitask, girl!πŸ˜‰ And teacher; writer; you do these! Yay!

    sulz: i did! but i couldn’t finish it to my liking.😳 hehe… maybe i might!

  6. Man, at least you HAVE thoughts of dream jobs! I graduated college in December and still have NO IDEA what I want to do for the next couple years, let alone for The Rest Of My Life.

    Let me know if you think of a good dream job for a girl who studied writing and communication, likes journalism, French, and humanitarian efforts…? (Oh, and that is not the Peace Corps. I’ve debated that one to death already!) Maybe sub-title editor could be in my future. How did that one pan out for you?πŸ™‚

    sulz: don’t worry, i’m pretty sure you’ll figure it out soon, what you want to do.πŸ™‚ if not, you’d definitely know what you don’t want to do!

    i was not a subtitle editor, just a normal, boring one.πŸ˜† i think any job that makes use of what you’re good at and what you enjoy doing would be worth a try. even if you’re not sure you’ll like it, just give it a go. the people working there might make up for it if you happen to not like some aspects of the job.πŸ™‚

  7. When I was little, I wanted to be an astronomer, a palaeontologist or a teacher. Funny thing is, the whole “intellectual job thing” is chasing me a couple of years later. Destiny or fate, perhaps?

    sulz: wow, talk about ambitious.πŸ˜‰ what do you mean? so what’s your occupation now?

  8. Occupation? Not yet, not after the 4th of May after my enrolment is done. Computer Assembly and Repair, Certificate II. The career opportunities of Computer Systems interest me the most. I’ve recently scored a new job working at a local vegetable and fruit market to get extra cash for the enrolment, since K. Rudd is slow, despite his believable promises.

    sulz: hmm, another it geek.πŸ˜› so will you be wearing an apron? haha.

  9. No aprons to appease your strange fetishes, unfortunately. But rolling melons around the shop and sniffing herbs in the attempt to get high off them is fun. I haven’t got my “uniform” yet eitherπŸ˜›

    sulz: how’s apron a fetish! i thought that’s part of the uniform in some groceries!

  10. I was joking, Sulz! I got my apron today; it was shiny! At least I didn’t go outside and blind everyone for life in the carparkπŸ˜›

    sulz: see, i was right! now make sure you don’t forget your pants when you don the apron or you will indeed blind everyone for life from the ‘full moons’.:mrgreen:

  11. Sulz is telling me to leave my hat- er, apron on, awww! How about an eclipse?πŸ˜›

    sulz: sampat!! i hate butt cracks too.πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

