blogging gobbledygook and such

I think…

I’ve lost my passion for blogging.

I used to look forward to checking my blog for the latest comments. And the stats, of course. I couldn’t wait to read what blog buddies have to say about what I wrote. Now, I just immediately load my Facebook home page and feed reader.

It has been feeling like a chore to write here recently. My habit is to have the first two tabs opened; one for this blog and one for something else. It reminds me every day that it’s time I get back into the blogging habit. Somehow, the feeling has yet to return.

Is it because few comment in here anymore? Is it because I am facing difficulty being inspired to write? Is it because the time has come for me to quit blogging?

I’m not ready to give up this part of me that I have poured here for the past three years. I have started many diaries and none has lasted as long as this one.

And I also do not want to leave the friendships I have made through this platform. Though many have left me, I still think of them. And I miss them. I miss the people who encouraged my writing. And I care for the ones who are still hanging around, like you reading this.

I’m not sure what I want from bloggerdygook. I don’t think it could be the way it was before, when I had the knack of thinking of universal topics that anyone could engage in. I know that I don’t want this languishing feel the blog currently has. As if someone is half-heartedly keeping it up. Which is not as if because it is.

My life is balancing itself after the chapter of my previous workplace has been closed. I am happy working at the bookshop, even if not everything is to my satisfaction.

Now, I want to fall in love with blogging all over again. If you can help me, I would really appreciate that. If you can not, it’s okay. This is something I should rediscover by myself.

Comments on: "I think…" (15)

  1. to be honest, i’ve lost my passion a long time ago. haha… soo…. welcome to the club (?) haha.

    sulz: but you still have your photography skills to help you tell stories online. your blog quite recently updated with that.

  2. I like reading your posts and I would miss them, if you stop to blog here.

    sulz: wow, i didn’t know you are a reader here. i saw your link before but it was in german so i’m not sure what was said about my writing!😉 thanks for commenting.

  3. “If a man does not make new acquaintance as he advances through life, he will soon find himself left alone. A man, Sir, should keep his friendship in constant repair.”
    – Samuel Johnson

    Same goes for readers and friends in blogosphere. need to connect more. new people keep the passion alive.

    sulz: you’re right, i haven’t been out of my blogging circle of late. hopefully, that will soon change with my attempt to reconnect with myself again. i used to be quite friendly around the net!

  4. Wow, I haven’t blogged in so much time. I’ve been too busy. Plus I have someone now to talk about everything with.

    I miss the excercise of writing in english in a more structured way though. I fear my language skills are going to degenerate. Soon I’ll have more time and I’m going to try again.

    sulz: i’ve been missing you… happy to hear you’re productive and that you found a trustworthy confidante.🙂 when you find the time to blog again please let me know what you’ve been up to cos the last i heard from you is that you were graduating! or busy trying to tie things up in order to graduate.😛

  5. Blogging is nothing different from relationships. You have to constantly invent ways to keep them alive.🙂

    sulz: it is somewhat ironic, as blogging is pretty much a relationship with yourself!😆 of course the blog buddies come into it, but ultimately the reason to blog is for your own satisfaction and therefore blogging is a personal relationship with yourself. so even relationships with yourself have got to be constantly sparked. hmm.

  6. Hey sulz! I can so relate. Although right now I’m in a “back on” phase, I’ve had quite a few times when my magic blogging button was turned off. The last break I took was at the end of last year and I had actually decided to give up Work Coach Cafe totally. But I left the lights burning and one day felt the fire return (with some changes that made it more fun for me). But if it begins to flicker again and feels like an effort, then I will not hesitate to back off.

    Blogging should be fun. If it feels like a chore, I think we need to either find a way to spice things up or take a much-needed break. We would miss you, of course, but hopefully you’ll still pop by once in a while to say hello. Maybe other things are clamoring for your attention now and need to be born. Or maybe just a break for as long as it takes. Either way…I say listen to the voice within.

    Peace out and in, sulz.

    Ronnie Ann

    sulz: well, i’m glad your blogging button was switched back on because you have a great blog! i enjoy reading what you write since they make me reflect on my career and how i can improve on myself.

    i’ve never really taken a break from blogging before. if my mini one recently is any indication, i think taking one makes blogging hard to return to! it is a little tough getting back to the routine i once had before. i think the voice within is quite confused herself!😆

    i have just come up with a blogging project in order to rediscover my love for blogging. then we’ll see if this feeling is temporary or permanent. stay tuned!😉

  7. Cool! I’m all ears…er…eyes. I look forward to seeing what you’ve come up with. And…garsh pshaw…thanks for the kind words, sulz. Makes me feel good. Have fun!

    sulz: hehe, you could be all ears if i could do something audio! which i’m not cos the speakers on my computer are broken.😆 well it is true for me.

  8. lovelyloey said:

    If you truly have been relying on comments to blog, *smack*.
    It shouldn’t be that way.
    Sure, unrequited love is an awful feeling, but loving JUST BECAUSE of feedback is unhealthy too.
    Maybe you ought to take a longer break, go immerse yourself in something else, and the blogging bug might come back again.
    Inspiration has this arcane knack of hiding when you seek it, but appearing when you are least prepared for it.

    sulz: wah, why kiss me so hard!

    i would be lying if i say comments don’t spur me on. that said, i don’t blog just for the comments. i do it for myself ultimately but they give me encouragement that is otherwise lacking in a normal journal-writing activity.

    anyway, i’ve been remarking on the quality of my posts of late, even when blog buddies are commenting. they are still commenting too, judging by this entry. so yeah, it’s not really about the lack of comments though it’s not exactly a reason to keep going at this rate.

    i have just come up with a blogging project to get me back in the blogging groove so look out for it. maybe you can give me a hand.🙂

  9. Ah, sulz, how you remind me of myself. I know, I’m one of those readers that doesn’t comment here anymore, so you’re probably one of the last people you’d think would respond to your post… But, nonetheless, I have been reading all the while.

    But, like I said, I went through the same exact things you are going through right now – the loss of passion for blogging. It’s certainly not uncommon for many bloggers. And I think this is where you need to step back and do two things:

    The first is to realize that no one’s forcing you to blog. You’ve probably lost your passion because you desire to post about something because you feel obliged to blog, but you have no idea what you’re going to post about. This (also known as writer’s block) killed me. I ran out of ideas, and was forced to step back. Remember: think first, then blog. Not the other way around. But no one here is forcing you to blog – it’s not obligatory. This, of course, reminds me of the “Blogging Without Obligation” badge that Muse has at MusEditions. You have to blog without feeling any obligation to do so.

    The second thing you should do is rediscover your purpose in blogging. I found that, when i would needlessly rant about politics, that it drained me and I wasn’t reaching an audience. My goals lay in getting other people to read my stuff and accept my thoughts as truth and tell all their friends and so on, but I ran into a huge problem. My blog’s success, and, by extension, my success, lay in the hands of other people; instead of thinking about content, I was thinking about readership. So I quit blogging, reassessed my priorities, came back, failed again, and here I am now, with a new blog up with one post and I have three total views on it, since I haven’t really spread the word about it to anyone, and I don’t comment that often on others’ blogs. But here’s the thing – I’m cool with that. When inspiration strikes, I draft my next post. And I don’t care about the readers… I’m writing to further my ideas, so I may live a better life (it IS about my ever-evolving philosophy on life).

    But you’ve got to find your own reason to blog. But let me tell you this: you will never be totally satisfied if you aren’t creating your own happiness. It cannot come from us. It has to come from within yourself. And, since I know you, you’re probably going to say you can’t do it. But you can, if you discover your purpose in blogging, and be passionate about it.

    In closing, take as long of a break as you need to get this sorted out – after all, your happiness is at stake, and that’s the most important thing.

    I wish you all the best!

    sulz: you’re right, i certainly didn’t expect you to pop your two bits here, though i’m happy that you did.🙂

    i admit that i feel obliged to blog but i don’t feel obliged to you or any reader, but to myself. i’m the sort of all-or-nothing kind of person – either i fully commit myself to do the best or i just won’t bother.

    as for my idea of blogging success, it’s not so much about whether think my writing is good rather than i think it’s good myself. in the past, there were some posts i was darn mighty proud of, but now i don’t feel that way and it sucks. do i think i’m a good writer? i’m not sure, but if i were capable of repeating that same feeling of pride again, then i would be really happy with my blogging again.

    well, i’m not going to say i can’t do it, but rather that i don’t know how. that is what i’m hoping my upcoming blogging project will help me discover. and perhaps you’d like to give me a hand then.🙂

  10. Hey, sulz, I can relate, too! I was going to refer to my “Blogging Without Obligation” badge, but leap already did, so I won’t.😉 I go in and out of love with my blog. I most definitely don’t blog for comments, but just when I have something to say that feels as if it would be all bottled up if I didn’t spew it in the blog. I LOVE comments, though—icing on the cake!
    That being said, it seems a couple of things have happened since first you and I met, two years ago. Not things to do with us personally, really, but effects of changes I’ve observed.
    The first is less action on the WordPress fora (or “ums” if one must). You and I are very different people, and we probably wouldn’t have met if I didn’t notice your great helpfulness and funny replies to games in the fora, and then came over to check you out!
    You backed off the fora a while ago for various and good reasons, and, while I never gave much advice there, feeling inadequate to do so, I did play the games for a long time. Now, I drift in there once in a while, but my heart isn’t in it. I am pleased to still see some blogging buddies helping out there—one, at least, who’s almost given up posting on his blog, but is still active in the fora.
    I’m sure many of your original readers first encountered you over there, as I did. You were a very strong presence, and I sure am glad I met you!🙂
    The other thing(s) is/are Facebook and Twitter. I know at least two bloggers I used to follow who have abandoned their blogs altogether and just Tweet now. You are on Facebook, as are many, and admit you go there first. This has to be taking some of the time/care/energy you put into blogging before. I was just commenting recently that even I, anti-social networking person that I am, have allowed Twitter to siphon off some of my blogging bling. So, I’m making an effort not to let it do that, because I really enjoy writing more than 140 characters at a time.
    Given that until recently you had two jobs and no time, it’s understandable that something had to give, at least for a while. You’ve been here a long time, though, and although I agree with leap that your happiness is paramount, I also want to scream “Don’t leave us!!!”
    Well, glad to see you have a new blogging project. That should keep you going a while!
    Love & Hugs.

    sulz: yes, i used to feel that if i didn’t blog i’d keep it all bottled up inside! but lately i feel as if there’s nothing in the bottle.

    you’re so right. i am so outdated in wp.com knowledge that when i do try to help i end up learning about my mistakes! *ruefully* and yes, facebook has taken over my life in both good and bad ways! i’m on twitter but i’ve not taken much of a liking.

    i hope you will support me in my blogging project! it’s gonna be kinda crazy for me, i think.

  11. It’s been a long time since I commented. I know I’m one of your friends who left you and I feel horrible about that. But I’m in the same phase as you are. At one point of time, the blog used to be one of the most important things in life. The day was always incomplete until I’d read everybody’s comments and replied. And then I don’t know why but the interest started falling. I can’t even say I got too busy with life. I used to manage school and blogging pretty efficiently and college surely isn’t as bad as school was, yet I feel lazy to write on my own blog and comment on other blogs. I became a lurker initially and then for sometime in between I stopped reading blogs too. I’ve been trying to get back into the habit of reading and commenting but it’s hard. I’m not the same anymore. I don’t have the things to say anymore. It sounds scary but I think I’ve grown up. And I’ve become boring and disinterested with everything in life. The internet as a whole doesn’t excite me anymore. My social life happens to be as non-existent as it always was but this online life and circle that I was proud of is getting lost somewhere too and I find myself trying to hang on to it. I know it sounds weird, or maybe it doesn’t because you seem to be going through the same. I wish I could help you in some way. If my comments help, I can do that. In fact, I will do that. I think it’s about time I stopped cribbing and started doing things. I don’t know if it’ll help you but I’m sure it will help me.

    So I’m sorry for not paying attention. I promise I’ll comment more. Don’t quit blogging, I’m sure you’ll make it. You always do.🙂

    sulz: hey, thanks for leaving a comment. and i understand your position – as you said, we’re in the same boat, though probably on the opposite ends of the ship!🙂 and growing up is scary and totally un-fun, right? i feel as if i lost so much of my youth in just a year of working.

    maybe you can help comment in my blogging project, which i will reveal soon.🙂 but don’t feel bad if you can’t comment. sometimes the heart is willing, but the mind is not!

    • I’m glad you understand. I would love to help you by commenting on your blogging project. Looking forward to it because you always come up with kick ass things which are SO fun. And well, I’ll convince the mind to agree with the heart for once. Least I can do!😀

  12. I’ll certainly stick around to aid you in your next project.

    But ish touched on an important point – the loss of enthusiasm for life. Maybe that’s what you’re going through right now, what with experiencing the “horrors” of growing up. Maybe life is becoming too routine, and you’re not enjoying it at all, hence your lack of enthusiasm.

    I think I’ve said this to you before, but I’ll say it again: do something that scares you every day. Keep life exciting and fresh. It doesn’t have to be something big, but conquering your fears and breaking away from the mundane is very empowering. And then, once you do that, you’ll have something to blog about, every day!

    sulz: thanks!🙂

    you certainly phrased it right, haha. horrors of life indeed. i don’t think i have a routine yet because i don’t even have my own desk.😦 my days off are irregular as i’m working retail hours so i’m still settling, in that sense.

    i’m much too chicken to do something that scares me because usually the fear is that there is a lot at stake! but maybe i can try that eel dish at the japanese restaurant we frequent at work.😛

  13. timethief said:

    My passion for blogging also waxed and wanes. Maybe this is the natural way of things and we all ought to remind ourselves that we blog without obligation. Although I rarely comment — I’m out here smiling back at you Sulz. That good care and know that your readers will wait until you are ready to share.🙂

    sulz: is it? it is not the same with my love for reading, that’s for sure. maybe it is because it’s easier to read than to write!

    nonetheless, i want to get back to my blogging habit and hopefully the blogging project will help me do that. thanks for commenting and reading all these years.🙂

  14. tree service kyle tx said:

    hope to learn more from your blog soon

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

