blogging gobbledygook and such

Why I want to write

People disappear when they die. Their voice, their laughter, the warmth of their breath. Their flesh. Eventually their bones. All living memory of them ceases. This is both dreadful and natural. Yet for some there is an exception to this annihilation. For in the books they write they continue to exist. We can rediscover them. Their humour, their tone of voice, their moods. Through the written word they can anger you or make you happy. They can comfort you. They can perplex you. They can alter you. All this, even though they are dead. Like flies in amber, like corpses frozen in ice, that which according to the laws of nature should pass away is, by miracle of ink on paper, preserved. It is a kind of magic.

– The Thirteenth Tale, Diane Setterfield

I like the thought that I’m still around even when I’m really not.

I like knowing that the old me is still there for me to go back to when nostalgia hits me.

I like to be remembered.

Comments on: "Why I want to write" (8)

  1. First comment!🙂

    So that’s it? You want to write so people will remember you after you die? For how long – after all, you’re only going to be remembered as long as people who remember you live. And after they die, their memories are all gone.

    Personally, that kind of philosophy doesn’t jive with me. But that’s just me – I’d rather write because it helps me feel good and happy, not because I’m investing in other peoples’ memories of me. But seeing as I’m practically the only one who reads my work… I’m not surprised I feel that way.

    sulz: well, if i want to be remembered for a long, long time then i need to come up with something as timeless as a shakespeare masterpiece! which i don’t believe i’m capable of so whatever i can get i’ll take, with my simple writing.

    well, obviously writing has to give me pleasure in order to write. i’m not doing it for the mere sake of remembrance, but i do hope that people remember my writing because it was a part of me. it was me at one moment in time. it is like a photograph in words.

  2. i must say this is a great start to your month long journey..🙂

    write to be immortal.. in other people’s thoughts.. 🙂

    sulz: i like the idea of that, yes!🙂

  3. Congratulations on your first day of your project!
    I don’t necessarily agree with the author of your quote; that, “All living memory of them ceases…” but, you know me.
    I will look in on your project every day, and encourage you as much as I can! And I have an idea for a topic you will like🙂 but I’m not going to tell you for a week or so, after you’ve been at this for a while.😛
    Anyway, Jane Austen is still with us centuries after her physical demise; who says sulz won’t be? Can you imagine our great-great-grandchildren still reading our blogs?😮

    sulz: true, a person can die but others might still remember him or her.

    thanks much for supporting! gah, you sure like to tease me!

    haha, i am nowhere near austen! with today’s technology, though, my blog might be preserved for as long as austen’s works till today, so, hmm… i think if i have descendants they will think i’m quite lame.😆

  4. Oohh I wouldnt want my online footprints to remain after I am dead!!!

    sulz: too creepy? haha… the thought of my facebook still up after my death does sound a bit strange. but not my blog!

  5. Where’s today’s post?!?!?!?! Don’t tell me you’ve quit on me!

    sulz: today’s post is right here! published like 10 hours ago too.😆 and don’t worry about me quitting – when i’ve told the world i’m gonna do something i have to do it! but no promises on the quality, heh.

  6. You can also be a film star! People will always remember you then!🙂

    sulz: haha, no no… i hate immediate attention! that’s why i love writing… i do not feel it yet can be at the receiving end.🙂

  7. What a quote to start your project with! That’s certainly one reason to write!

    I quite like the idea that a person will live forever through their writing. It sounds very poetic.

    Even though I often cringe when I look at something a past “me” wrote!

    sulz: haha, spot on! but there are those which i am amazed came from me. those are the ones i want to be remembered for, of course.😛

  8. Ah, this is precisely why I started blogging too. This and so that I could just remain in touch with the real me, and see the changes I undergo as I grow up and situations change. Very apt beginning, this.

    sulz: thanks! it’s a bit of a cop-out, though, since the bulk of the post was a quote.😛 a quote i relate to though, mind you! haha.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

