blogging gobbledygook and such

Power to Choose

Yesterday was alright. Went grocery shopping. Had a nap. Proscrastinated as much as I could before I finally typed the first word to the article I have to write. Far from completing it! Thankfully, I am having my day off on the day of my deadline so I’m foreseeing a mad scramble and a oh-fuck-it-I’ll-just-write-crap-cos-I’m-sick-of-this-piece-of-shit type of writing…

So one might pretty much conclude the highlight of yesterday was not the anniversary of my birth but the interview for a freelance editor position! I’m not holding my breath on getting the position but this could be something for the future. I don’t know how well or bad I did in the test – it wasn’t that hard but I have the tendency to rush so I won’t be surprised if I made some silly mistakes, like missing out on a typo or something.

Anyway! What was interesting about the test was the last part, after the grammar, spelling, editing and writing parts. It proudly proclaimed itself as being a “FUN EXERCISE”. And it was, mostly. I’m replicating the question and my answers below. You should try answering it too!

Imagine or visualise yourself ten years from today. Don’t rush your answers and don’t put down the first thing that comes into your head. Really try to imagine yourself ten years down the track.

What is the date (ten years from now)?
3 July 2019.

What’s my address?
Somewhere in Kuala Lumpur.

My age?
34 (gahhh).

Occupation?
Freelance writer/editor.

What’s my income?
Enough to support my lifestyle!

Write a sentence or two describing the family.
A husband, two kids and a dog! (I know, how boring, right?)

Describe my social life.
Meeting my ex-schoolmates and ex-university mates once a month. Annual shopping spree in Thailand with shopping buddy. Mostly hanging out with family.

What have I achieved in the area of my mental life?
Learnt enough to converse adequately with natives in French, Portuguese or Italian.

What’s happened in my spiritual life over ten years?
Nothing. I’m an agnostic.

Describe my greatest achievement over the past ten years.
(Oh man I just realised I answered this wrongly – I said writing a book for a college assignment. Oh well.) This is my least favourite question – I don’t think anything I will achieve in the next ten years will be the ‘greatest’. If there is, it would probably be having my own family, but how common is that! So… lousy question for me, yeah.

How would you answer those questions?

Oh, to all my American friends, Happy 4th of July!πŸ˜€

Comments on: "Power to Choose" (7)

  1. Nice exercise but feeling lazy right now to type my answersπŸ™‚

    sulz: err, okay…

  2. Those questions make me nervous. I actually don’t know where I’ll be next month. I hope I’m still alive that’s all.

    sulz: not the sort to look beyond the next corner huh? i have days like that. you have to be alive… i still haven’t sent you the heath ledger biography!

  3. Blimey, those questions are difficult, but I’ll bite.

    I have no clue where I’ll be in ten years time, but I’d be 29 by then. No idea what job I’d have, if any, and I don’t really ‘get’ money, anyway. Family – eek! I’m too young to think about that! Social life: what do 29 year olds do? Probably still go out drinking, just make less of an idiot of myself. Of course I will be a genius and a a deeply spiritual philosopher, and the author of a best selling novel. Or not. But I’d like to have become a little wiser and have achieved something.

    Well, I tried. It looks like you’ve put a lot more thought into this; it’s not something I’ve ever really dwelt upon. Oh well.

    Hope the test went well for you!

    sulz: yay, you’re a sport!πŸ™‚ and witty! when you are 24 you start thinking a little more about life instead of living it more the way you are probably doing at your age. or maybe i’m doing too much thinking for my own age, haha!

    sigh, i don’t know but i’m not keeping my hopes up.

  4. that is some interview.. if i were asked these actually i won’t want to answer… i like surprises and change… (nice way to dodge the questions naa..? ;-))

    sulz: well, it was part of my test i couldn’t exactly dodge it the way you just did! anyway, it was fun to me, though i would have like to think it out further than the allocated five minutes they gave me.

  5. lovelyloey said:

    Eeyer. Don’t want to think 10 years from now. HAHA. I can’t even think 10 days from now. Psh.

    sulz: then how did you plan for your grad trip?? hah!

  6. There is this insane kind of fun in doing things at the last moment, isn’t it? That’s how I’ve always preferred it. Gah, who am I kidding? It’s not because I prefer it but simply because I keep putting it off till I can. Always have.πŸ˜›

    And hey, that looks like fun stuff indeed! Here:-

    What is the date (ten years from now)?
    5th July 2019 (Are we even gonna be there? I heard the world ends in 2012.:/ )

    What’s my address?
    I can’t say. If I’m able to find some rich, hot chick, then her house. Otherwise, the streets.πŸ˜›

    My age?
    29. Mentally I’ll still be about 5. Right now I’m around 2. I hope to age three years in the next 10 years. That’s maturity for you right there.πŸ˜›

    Occupation?
    Unemployed. Most definitely. Or maybe not. Will you hire me as a typist, sulz?πŸ˜€

    What’s my income?
    Uhm, this is like rubbing salt on the wounds now.:/

    Write a sentence or two describing the family.
    I have serious doubts if I’ll have one. My folks are gonna abandon me in another couple of years. But is sulz decides to hire me, then it’ll be me, sulz, her husband, two kids and dog.πŸ˜›

    Describe my social life.
    Um, how do you describe something which doesn’t exist? (Answer questions with counter-questions, that’s the way to do it.πŸ˜› )

    What have I achieved in the area of my mental life?
    I have aged 3 years. Major mental achievement, sir.

    What’s happened in my spiritual life over ten years?
    I doubt if anything will. Nothing has happened over the previous 20 years.:/

    Describe my greatest achievement over the past ten years.
    I got a job as sulz’s typist. That is like the greatest achievement not only in the past 10 years, but also the 20 years past those 10 years.πŸ˜›

    Uhm, looking at those answers, I don’t think I would’ve got that job.πŸ˜›

    sulz: your answers put a smile on my face after a long day at work!!πŸ™‚ gosh, i really missed your comments.

  7. It’s been a while since I’ve posted comments like that anywhere. When I saw you doing a blogging project to get back into the rhythm, I thought maybe I should also try to get back to posting comments like the other times to get back into the situation I was about a year back. It felt good then.πŸ™‚

    sulz: well, i’m glad you decided that.πŸ™‚ maybe it’ll make you want to blog regularly again!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

