blogging gobbledygook and such

1. Check bookshop’s e-mail.
Reply queries, check on book availability, do book reservations.

2. Check my work e-mail.
Reply e-mails, send e-mails to boss/design agency/whoever in current correspondence.

3. Check bookshop’s Facebook.
Update status, add relevant links, will soon do contests and promotions.

4. Log into bookshop’s blog.
Draft out posts, show posts to boss for approval, revise drafts, take pictures for posts.

5. Help out in operations
Do sales transactions, replenish books at shelves, arranging display, designing/printing signages, assist customers, carry books, price books, change big notes to smaller denominations, bank in money from daily sales, daily accounting after closing of shop

6. Marketing initiatives
Brainstorm for ideas for upcoming promotions, identify terms and conditions, copywrite text for promotions, send e-mail to mailing list about promotions, execution of promotion in shop et cetera

7. Miscellaneous tasks
Write press releases, official letters, liaise with design agency people or anyone else working with us, participate in roadshows, et cetera

My job reminds me of a quilt. I have many little tasks that make up what I do in a day’s work. I have many things going on at once that I need to keep track of. At first I felt a bit lost because it doesn’t feel as if I’ve accomplished anything of importance at the end of the day, but now I’m becoming more adjusted to this. I’m kinda liking it because if I feel bored sitting down at the desk, I can go out, chat a bit with my colleagues and help them out. I get to interact with customers, know what’s it like to be a frontliner. Helping to put books on the shelves gives me the opportunity to familiarise with the books, and I also stumble upon books I want to read. We have a staff reservation shelf and I have over a dozen books waiting for me!

Today a local newspaper called me to interview for a position as a writer-cum-editor in a cookery magazine, which is under the newspaper’s publishing company.

Normally, I get very tempted with such calls. I get excited by new prospects and I’d just go for the interview even if I’m not totally keen, just to gain interviewing experience and hear what’s the position about. Truth is I thrive from the feeling of being wanted by these interviews.

This is the first time I politely declined an interview.

And mind you, this is my country’s bestselling English daily. An organisation I’ve sent my curriculum vitae multiple times in the past.

I really do like my job.

Comments on: "What I Really Do At Work" (5)

  1. good for u!!

    sulz: thanks reema!

  2. atta girl.πŸ˜€

    sulz: hehe. come visit me at the bookshop when you’re back yeah.

  3. I am happy to know that you are happy in your job. God bless you!πŸ™‚

    sulz: about time, right?πŸ˜‰ thanks poonam!

  4. It is good that you like your job. I always liked variety at work and my favorite jobs have always been places where I could wear many hats while on duty. It kills the monotony work can evolve into.

    sulz: yeah, i’m discovering that too! it’s just that one might think i’m not doing anything of real importance in the day because i have no tangible accomplishment. and sometimes i still get that feeling, meh.

  5. Interesting way to write about your job. It does seem like a quilt, and you are just the person to stitch all the pieces together!

    sulz: and now i’m a confirmed full-time stitcher!πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

