blogging gobbledygook and such

Dinner with my girls

The beginning of a new month is something I look forward to not just because of my paycheck. As the end of the present month approaches, I would send a message on Facebook to my ex-college classmates to arrange for our monthly dinner.

When we do meet up, it’s not really something special every time. It’s not always stomach-bursting, cheek-hurting laughter. It’s not always value-for-money good food. Yet I always look forward to meeting up with them because I just can’t find anybody else who are on the same wavelength as me as well as these friends. We don’t necessarily have the same interests, but we come from similar backgrounds and have the same values. So I find it easy to relate to the topics we converse about during these dinners.

I also love to reminisce about our class days. We all thoroughly agree that college days were miles better than working life. We would talk about what other ex-classmates are doing now, from what we read on Facebook and stuff.

And then there are two other girls I try to meet up every month. Sometimes we go for a movie, sometimes it’s dinner or breakfast. I’m closer to one girl than the other, but we’ve been hanging out for so long as a trio. I like hanging out with them because of the familiarity.

The older I get, the more I realise the importance of old friends. Old in both senses of the word – friends who are wise in their years, and friends who have kept in touch with all through the years. Friendships like these have shown they pass the test of time. I hope to be friends with them for a long time more.

Comments on: "Dinner with my girls" (3)

  1. Old friends and old wine is the best🙂

    sulz: cheers to old friends! i don’t know much about wine but i’ll take your word for it.🙂

  2. */it’s not really something special every time. It’s not always stomach-bursting, cheek-hurting laughter. It’s not always value-for-money good food. Yet I always look forward to meeting up with them /*

    girl time is the best.. isn’t it..😀

    sulz: yup! i heartily agree.🙂

  3. And how we keep on talking about the same topic and never get bored!🙂

    sulz: hehe, yes! sometimes lah.🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

