blogging gobbledygook and such

i’m not the only one

i’m cleaning up my blogroll list and the blog surfer feature in my dashboard. seems like i’m not the only one who’s quit blogging. about half of my blog friends have not updated their blogs for some time. the other half are either still going on blogging as frequently as before or less frequently but regularly enough. a few like me have moved on to twitter instead.

there’s this phrase about how some friends come and go, some stay for a season and go for a reason, or how some will be in your life forever blablabla. it is true. one day, you might feel so close to somebody that you know almost every aspect of that person’s everyday routine. the next, you’re like strangers.

but on the other side of the coin, there are always new friends to be made. and sometimes some old ones will stay with you, even if you don’t keep in touch.

yes, yes, i’m supposed to share with you what’s currently going on in my life but i still don’t quite know where to start. today i’m just observing that the blogging world is quite ephemeral. then again, so is life!

Comments on: "i’m not the only one" (12)

  1. I better still be on your blogroll….oh, I looked, I am! โ™ฅ I know what you mean. There are people who have slowed down or left altogether. You will tell us what you will when you are ready. I’m just glad you are back.
    {{{Rushes to update Bloggerdygook on Blogroll}}}

  2. Totally agree. I already took 3-4 breaks…and everytime i come back, a few in the blog roll would’ve quit (not just took a break, but actually quit); even though we say blogging is for oneself, and not for comments, comments play a good role — gives you much more to discuss, read and share: and that absence of those ‘blog friends’ you used to share a lot with, leaves you a little drained of blogging-enthusiasm. The solution I found, was to go into an active blogger’s page, blog hop from there onto many others’ and add them. The enthu is back, i say!

    I see that you’re back to stay. As for “where to start”, how about why you left the bookshop job? That’s where you’ve left us hanging!

    • you’re right. comments do motivate, and blogging is a form of communication after all. i’ve yet to get back to the blogging groove, but i don’t feel like not talking anymore, as i used to feel before i went on my hiatus.๐Ÿ™‚

      yes, i’m getting to my story soon!

  3. Sue Ling said:

    Wow, it feels as though it’s something I myself had said some time ago (though the exact length of time escapes me now). I feel as though you have spoken exactly what I feel about certain things as well. Glad to have you back๐Ÿ˜‰

    • thanks, glad to be back myself.๐Ÿ™‚ but it’s different now. not that that’s a bad thing, unless one is looking for the same old thing lah.

  4. Well, I don’t think you need to talk about your life updates. What you just wrote is a perfect example of a blog post, it’s about your thoughts.

    Also, I see I’m out of your blogroll. Hmm.

    • i wanted to explain my blogroll in the post but thought otherwise. please don’t take it the wrong way, i’m removing links to blogs that are inactive. i’ve subscribed to your other blog in my blog surfer, though!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. [thereโ€™s this phrase about how some friends come and go, some stay for a season and go for a reason, or how some will be in your life forever blablabla. it is true. one day, you might feel so close to somebody that you know almost every aspect of that personโ€™s everyday routine. the next, youโ€™re like strangers. ]

    Life is very much like that. Hovering around another person, is not necessarily caring. Sometimes lives can only intersect for brief moments of time. Sometimes it works out that lives run parallel for long periods of time. Life – don’t envy what could have been, enjoy it for what it is.

    Glad to see you blogging again.๐Ÿ™‚

    • that’s true. it takes a while to adjust from knowing someone so well at one time to not really knowing the person that well anymore. more often than not i find that i cannot handle that sort of adjustment. it feels awkward and sad.

  6. glad to see you back sulz..!๐Ÿ˜€
    a total new avatar!๐Ÿ˜›
    thats what i will call a “comeback”…….i just logged on to wordpress and was randomly scrolling down my blogroll and clicked to your blog’s link and found that you have just updated the blog with so many posts.
    hope you have a great “new “blogging journey! all the best !๐Ÿ™‚
    and twitter ain’t a bad option either. i too joined it but just didnt like it……..was too offtrack for me๐Ÿ™‚

    • hi arpit, it’s been a while.๐Ÿ™‚ good to see another familiar name like you still around. off to check out your blog now…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

